We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel. Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Really good hotel. Great location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I arranged this hotel my guests and the photographers of my wedding. I booked 3 rooms for them. In the end we needed an extra one. The reception desk arranged for everything my guests wanted for their rooms at no time and at a very good price. Our guests were really impressed and pleased with their stay.
They all spent 3 days at the hotel.
Location is just great for anyone that wants to spend a couple of days and walk around Nicosia.
Prices are great. You get more than what you pay for.
Unfortunately that is all i can write. I tried to get as much information as i could from my guests. They were very pleased, they walked around the streets of the old town and the shops of Nicosia and they were impressed with the cleanliness and the modern renovated rooms of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IasonasCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    161
    49
    13
    4
See reviews for
36
102
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at the Classic on recommendation this time last year, and enjoyed it so much I stayed there again this time round. My friend informed me of its perfect location in the heart of Nicosia, clean, modern, air-conditioned rooms, combined with unbelievably helpful staff, and his recommendation certainly didn't disappoint.

The breakfast is plentiful and very tasty (I am a particular fan of the warm pastries that compliment the full english/continental offering every morning!), and the room service food was again, top notch. In terms of location, there isn't really anywhere better, and the staff (all spoke perfect english) were very helpful in helping me with transport each day, as well as giving tips on where to visit etc. Together with the business centre, computers, free wi-fi, and adjacent wine bar, it made for a brilliant hotel experience

I read some reviews moaning about the hair dryer. I used it each day, pulled up a chair to the perfectly positioned mirror, and dried my hair - no issue! The only slight downside personally is the gym is perhaps a little basic, but by no means does this tarnish what is an otherwise fantastic hotel, in a fantastic city, in a fantastic country.

Thank you Classic and all the staff! Look forward to seeing you again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for business only for one night but it was enough :)
The Hotel is located on an old building bat not all the rooms were completely renovated . Some of the door crossbars are still the old one.. No business center, unless 2 com into the corridor..
the rooms are not in the same size and the 35 square meters that we were expected for, were much lesser. the mini-bar was empty and locked(!)
The rooms are built in labyrinth ways.
We had tried this time an alternative option for staying in Nicosia but we were wrong.
Nevertheless some good points:
- a good breakfast
- nice deco in the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

It is some years since I had to visit Cyprus and the Classic had been transformed since my last visit, in fact I hardly recoginsed the hotel it had changed so much. For the better I must add. The comfortable rooms now have a modern look and the rather drab bar at the front of the hotel has been transformed into the Blue Bar. I was tired after an all day meeting and had to be up early for another meeting before I returned to London in the afternoon so it was nice to be able to eat a well prepared meal in such pleasant surrounding and, as it was wednesday, enjoy an evening of live jazz music. I did not venture to the Gym and although there was a large choice on the breakfast buffet I just took a pastry and cup of teas to business centre as I had some emails to deal with. The Classic in centrally located so everything in Nicosia is nearby and as it is a city centre hotel there are no sea views, but it is a great place to stay if you are there on business and looking for good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertBellhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Classic Hotel twice now (on business) and I have to say that I can't rate the place highly enough and I will definately be returning for future trips. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and on my most recent trip I was presented with a plate of fruit and cheese in my room after I had checked in - a really lovely touch after a stressful journey!

The rooms are quite, clean and comfortable. They have been refurbished to a very high standard with high quality fixtures and fittings - the only negative here is the workmanship in the bathrooms which is sub-standard (unpainted wood on some surfaces that are almost 'out of sight', poor sealing on shower trays, low quality grouting etc) and this is a shame because the fixtures and fittings in the bathrooms are very high quality - it doesnt detract from the bathrooms, but it is at odds with the 100% quality feel of the bedrooms - different contractors perhaps? Still, its nothing that couldnt be remedied relatively easily if the hotel chose to.

The air conditioning in the rooms is quiet and effective, rooms are very clean, wifi works well and breakfast is plentiful with more than ample choice (fresh fruit, pastries, cakes, cold meats, cereals, hot dishes, yoghurts etc - what more do you need?!).

Location is perfect - on the edge of the old town and a very short walk to the modern shopping area in Nicosia.

So in summary, friendly, quiet, clean, comfortable, great food, great service and competitive price when compared to other hotels in this bracket on the island (although all hotels in this bracket are not exactly cheap) - what more do you want?! I will look forward to returning later this year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a weekend. Rooms nice and spacious, clean. Breakfast is good for a city hotel and staff all great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanosAngelaSmaragda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had a long bus ride up from Larnaca and were happy to find a non-smoking hotel with good AC and comfortable rooms. The reception crew was friendly, warm and welcoming. Some of the art is tacky but the place had a warm feeling of home to it. The deals they give you at the desk are amazing - so much that I will be doing more sight seeing from Nicosia if i can get a few more days off from work.

You have to be very very careful when booking a hotel in Nicosia - as they are very competitive and sometimes I dare say a bit boastful. When we found the Classic, our prayers were answered. If you are patient and wait a few minutes the staff will spend some time to show you were to go around town. Everything is nearby and withing safe walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren X M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
3.7 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
441 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
962 reviews
2.5 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
210 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
561 reviews
2.8 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Hotel

Property: The Classic Hotel
Address: 94 Rigenis Street, Nicosia 1513, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nicosia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#6 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something has changed within the walls of Nicosia City!The Classic hotel has now a brand new face! After a full renovation, the well known Nicosia hotel has now re-opened its doors and it is ready to satisfy even the most exquisite desires.Its modern exterior blends cordially with its historic surrounding environment, offering a new note of interest in the inner walls area of the capital.Its ideal location, just a few minutes distance from the archaeological museum, embassies, public services, the famous Ledra street and the City Hall, has made the Classic hotel very popular amongst the visitors of Nicosia.Our 57 hotel rooms have been specially transformed and are fully equipped to offer our guests a new, true comfort and pleasant experience.The newly renovated Classic hotel is now ready to welcome all guests and visitors for endless moments of pleasure.For a short tour, more information and reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us where our dedicated staff are ready to assist you at any moment.We appreciate your preference to our hotel and we assure you that we sincerely want to provide you with the quality service you deserve and expect from THE CLASSIC HOTEL.The Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing