We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Holiday Inn is in a good location but the service was awful. Receptionists couldn't be bothered giving any information, breakfast quality was poor and I sat in the bar area for 10mins without being served - even though the waitress walked past me. The hot water wasn't working in the hotel the first morning, and when I raised it with reception, there was no apology. It was working for my second morning but the shower gave out little more than a trickle of hot water. I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

For a quick business over-night stay, this hotel is fine. Near to the centre of Nicosia and within five minutes walking time of the border crossing should you wish to venture into the Turkish side of Nicosia.
Decor within the hotel is very dated and the rooms also look like a make-over wouldn't go a miss! No flat screen tv's here!
The IHG executive rooms are on the 1st floor. However it is very difficult to believe you are treated to anything other than the ordinary guests receive. View was.........well it wasn't; put it like that!!!
The hotel holds party nights on the 7th floor (top floor). These can go on until the early hours of the morning (5am), I could here the noise from my 1st floor room : (
Hotel bar is small too. On a brighter note, the breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear _forevergreen_Uk,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for leaving us a feedback. We are pleased that our breakfast lived up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced due to the noise from our other guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A typical city center business hotel - no one would ever choose it for it's service, friendliness or inspiriering interior design! But just to stay overnight - everything works!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the noisy main street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benno I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The room at the hotel was fine, but it just seemed as though various little things didn't work. You have to pay for internet and it is unreliable, cutting off often. My phone couldn't make internal calls and when I called reception to complain the receptionist hardly spoke English. Others I reached also hardly spoke English. The receptionists aren't always at the desk, so people calling me at the hotel often weren't able to get through to my room. There were only two electrical outlets in the room, so I couldn't have my computer plugged in the same time as my laptop. Saturday night the rooftop club blasts bass-inflected music until all hours, which I heard two floors below. I am sure you can find better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear T G,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the rooftop club noise had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel is OK and clean, internet connection is terrible

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here about 8 years ago and it was quite good. I booked this on the internet and got a good room rate, but I know the internet rates do not get you a nice room which proved the truth.

I was first surprised by the reception, the staff were not very informative or interested to tell me about parking (there is a council pay-for-parking opp the hotel, behind the bus stops). The room was not bad, but the TV was a shocker, old tube type with long service meaning the colours were all washed out and the picture all distorted. More like an old black and white with a bad antenna. Also there was advertised free wifi in public areas, but this was limited to one hour only. Then you have to pay. However, I stayed only from late evening to early morning, to do one day business in Nicosia, then it was thankfully back to Larnaca to fly home.

I like this part of Nicosia, and enjoy some of the restaurants in the area around the UN buffer zone.

Next time I might try the Castle next door or Cleopatra, which is a short walk to the Green Line.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear DRMB,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments. I am sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I paid about £79 per night here and stayed 3 nights. I had to pay for WiFi every day which always annoys me. But I felt a little misled because I thought that the roof bar would be open for lunch outside but intact there was nowhere to sit outside other than my balcony

I get so angry when the house keeping start banging on the door at 9am and this happened 2 mornings! The bar was expensive and so was room service, although the food was really nice and the lady in the cafe very helpful.

Reception staff were stuffy and I don't think I would stay again because the whole place is in need of a re vamp and a little depressing.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear ClarenceofKent,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.1 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#11 of 26 in Nicosia
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel
Cleopatra Hotel
#15 of 26 in Nicosia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel
Sky Hotel
#20 of 26 in Nicosia
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimi Hotel
Rimi Hotel
#19 of 26 in Nicosia
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Address: 70 Regeana Street, Nicosia 2121, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre hotel is located in the heart of Nicosia. Its excellent location is ideal for both business and leisure stays.The hotel is only 5 min. walking distance from the shopping area, the commercial area and historical sites of Nicosia. The hotel is fully air conditioned. All (140 Superior, Executive, non-smoking rooms) are equipped with wireless high speed internet accessAll Conference and Meeting roomsin this ideal Central Nicosia location are suitable for professional and social gatherings. The Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre features various dining options. Italian, Japanese and International. Seasonal operated Restaurant and Bar on the roof garden. A fully equipped health and leisure center is available with gym, an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and Roman baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing