We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business and holiday”
Review of Hilton Cyprus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cyprus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

very bad expirience to expensive hotel very bad service i think i so not a 5 star hotel . staff need training nobody smile something wrong in hilton cyprus . very bad breakfast i piad to much for a coffe closed to 5 euro . the room smell very bad . in 4th floor . im very disappointed for 5 star hotel . nothing for entertaiment and very high price for inernet .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petros p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback which is appreciated.

We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that our services/amenities were not to your satisfaction.

Had you advised the Front Desk, at the time that your room was not to your satisfaction, they would have been happy to relocate you.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible compared to the local market and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.


With reference to the guest room Internet, the prices (hourly and 2 hourly) have been lowered in favour of our guests, as of 1st April and this service is free of charge to all Hilton HHonors, Gold & Diamond members, worldwide. However, free WiFi Internet is available for both local and resident guests, in all our public areas, food & beverage outlets, outdoor pool area and Hiltonia Club.

Please be assured that the Management’s intention is to continue improving the product and to strive in attaining each guest’s complete satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Was excited to come to the no 1 hotel in Nicosia on tripadvisor, to find out all restaurants and pool bar are closed, breakfast is only continental, there are no housekeeping services and room service is non-existant.

The greeting to the hotel was "everyone is on strike, so we will have a few restrictions". Which seems to mean we get a room to sleep in, no F&B facilities, room not cleaned - and I've only been here 24hrs!

I understand that they are short staffed, and the handful of staff working are trying their best to keep the hotel running. But from a guest's point of view IT SHOULDN'T BE MY PROBLEM! I was not advised prior to arriving, was not offered any sort of compensation, or offered an alternate functional location (as stated they were doing on local news, just found out)

However, I am not blaming the floor staff, who are working very hard, but the management, for letting this happen. They seem to be fine with the fact that their prestigious hotel is run like a 2 star one.

I've stayed at Hilton hotels before and think their standard is excellent; however, this one has far from fulfilled my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yianis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, which is very much appreciated.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience the industrial dispute caused during your stay with us. Unfortunately, the strike was announced the moment it occurred. However, as you rightly point out this ‘should not have been your problem’ but regretfully, such occurrences are under ‘force majeure’ and beyond anyone’s control.

Alas, services and amenities had to be minimised, in order for the hotel to remain operational, with only a skeleton number of staff remaining in-house.

Should you feel that the Hilton Cyprus, deserves a second chance, then we are more than happy to extend a warm welcome and provide the usual Hilton services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was like stepping back into a decadent past, in an extremely good way. Their was an oldschool glamour exuding from the minute you pull up under the canopy.

The details were well thought out, from the Rolex clocks showing the time all over the world, to the beautiful lounge, to the ostentatious lifts. It's always a good sign when the lifts are that beautiful.

The staff were absolutely incredible, from the reception desk to the extremely thorough housekeeping.

The gym facilities looked great and had I been able to afford anything in the frankly awe inspiring boutiques housed on the hotels ground floor promenade, I would have gladly ventured inside.

I was lucky enough to stay at the hotel due to a business competition, at 216 euro a night I wouldn't yet be able to stretch to a stay there, being a student but I would definitely look to try to stay again in the future.

Timeless, elegant and in the best possible taste.

FYI The room wifi may say however many euro but it is now actually free :)

Amazing time, amazing service, beautiful pool and the weather was gorgeous. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hattiebofunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your most constructive and detailed review.

We were very pleased to see that your stay with us was such a pleasure for you and are happy to read that all our services and amenities, met and dare I say, surpassed your expectations.

With reference to the Internet service provided, please allow me to make a correction, so that there is no confusion. The guest room Internet is free of charge for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members only, however, the WIFI service in all our public areas (including the outdoor pool area), is available free of charge, to all our guests (both local and resident).

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had my wedding dinner and reception last week and everything was perfect, except from the air conditioning in the ball room. They said that there was a fault but my guests had to have their dinner in a room of around 29C with their suits on. Not ideal

Other than that, food was great, organisation of the event was perfect

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive review which is much appreciated. We were very sorry to hear that there was an issue with the airconditioning in the Ballroom and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do try to maintain all our technical equipment in tip-top condition and have a technician on-duty to assist when necessary.

Nevertheless, we were happy to see that all our other services were to your high satisfaction and that we met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice hotel with a nice outdoor pool, good breakfast and nice rooms. The old part is rather old fashioned and could do with some renovation. The hotel has many festivities and is where all the celebrities stay, e.g. Last year Real Madrid was there during my stay. Wifi is only free in the lounge, otherwise extemely expensive (15 Euro per day). Service is very friendly.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Gundwane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of our hotel, which is very much appreciated.

We were pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were satisfied generally with the services and amenities provided.

The hotel was upgraded in many key areas during the year 2010 and 2011, with the guest rooms undergoing a general refreshment and furnishings being put in plan for the future. Due to the detrimental financial climate that Cyprus, now find itself in after the Troika bail-in, all upgrades have been postponed further.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible and in line with other 5* hotels on the island. However, the guest room Internet prices (hourly and 2 hourly) have been lowered in favour of our guests, as of 1st April and this is a free service to all Hilton HHonors, Gold & Diamond members, worldwide. Free WIFI is available in all our public areas, food & beverage outlets, outdoor pool area and Hiltonia Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights and definitely enjoyed it. It is an old building but the rooms were recently renovated. The personnel is very helpful and friendly and the large swimming pool is a big plus. However the swimming pool gets rather crowded on the weekends and we had to wait for a sunbed to become free. In addition, wifi is free only in common places and costs 15 euro per day to have wifi in the room. I was expecting the hotel to cost less but I guess Cyprus is not as cheap as I thought.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IoannisGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your most constructive review.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amenities were to your overalll satisfaction, although the outdoor pool was somewhat busy.

With reference to the guest room Internet, the prices (hourly and 2 hourly) have been lowered in favour of our guests, as of 1st April and the Internet service is free to all Hilton HHonors, Gold & Diamond members, worldwide. Also, free WiFi Internet, is available in all our public areas, food & beverage outlets, outdoor pool area and Hiltonia Club.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible compared to the local market and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I drove to the hotel, and managed to find a space in the overflow carpark at the top behind a small petrol station and taxi rank despite the barriers being up and the carpark indicator explaining it was full. The very friendly check-in staff explained this was okay and the parking was free. It would have been useful for a small A4 prinout sign to be placed near the payment machines to explain this as I did walk around for five minutes to try and establish how and if I should may.

Check-in was swift, efficient and pleasant. The staff pointed out that my HHonours account number wasn't registered and would I like to join the scheme, as a member they swiftly added my number to the account, I guess it was protocol, but a useful heads up to ensure the points were added.

The room was of a similar Hilton standard to most properties I've stayed in with the same expectations of comfort of a Hilton, especially the bed and thread count. Some people on TA mentioned it was tired in the room, it was not a modern refurb; but more than perfectly acceptable for the chains standard rooms.

Breakfast was the standard Hilton fayre with the healthy option counter, again I really could not fault.

The drinks were slightly more expensive at the bar (9.50 euro for a cocktail); however I decided to explore down town. It is a 30 minute walk or a 6-7euro taxi fare into the old town. There is actually a taxi rank office just up the small slope in front of the hotel entrance where the overflow carpark is, I'm sure the Hilton staff would also call one for you, I'm just a little more independent.

I also had room service, at one point during my stay, again I couldn't fault, very nice food, good portions and excellent service.

Wireless was expensive at 15 euro; however as the hotel management keeps pointing out to TA members making the point, it is about the same for the island. The free reception wireless is very poor, speeds and coverage are not the same as the paid for wireless. It would be nice to get wireless around the pool area at a good speed, but I am just a bit of a geek and should be doing some more laps.

In my mind, a very much typical Hilton from experiences across Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_from_nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your most detailed and constructive review on Trip Advisor, which is truly appreciated.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the 'ease of parking'. Regretfully, the limited number of parking spaces available, does become congested when there are large banquet events, taking place within the hotel.

Nevertheless, we were very happy to see that the majority of our services and amenities met your high expectations and was to your overall satisfaction, thus making your stay with us an enjoyable one.

Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, however, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

With reference to the guest room Internet service provided as from 1st April, specifically the hourly and 2 hourly charges have been lowered in favour of our guests (excluding Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members who receive this as a benefit). The €15.00 charge mentioned is for 24 hour access. Free WiFi Internet is available in all our public areas, food & beverage outlets, Hiltonia Club and also includes the outdoor pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicosia
2.5 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
711 reviews
2 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
484 reviews
22 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#8 of 26 in Nicosia
225 reviews
1 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cyprus

Address: 98 Archbishop Makarios III Avenue | Agioi Omologitai, Nicosia 1077, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#3 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range: $221 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cyprus 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Cyprus is the only 5 star hotel in Nicosia and counts over 45 years of experience. Location: Just 45 km / 30 minutes from Larnaca International Airport and only 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre, shopping and entertainment areas; conveniently located next to the business district. Accommodation & Room Types: There are 294 rooms available out of which 19 are suites and 76 Executive rooms. Hilton Guest Rooms: All Hilton guest rooms are non – smoking and feature a working desk, direct-dial telephone line, Internet and wireless connection, TV and Pay-TV, hairdryer, mini bar, electronic lock system, individually controlled air-conditioning, smoke detectors, sprinklers, private balcony, safe deposit boxes, bathrobe and slippers, magnifying mirror and tea & coffee making facilities. Executive Rooms: All Executive rooms, which are 20% larger than the Hilton guest rooms, are fully equipped and decorated to the highest standard, enabling you to unwind in comfort after a hard day, or to continue working effectively from your room. Guests staying in the Executive Wing can enjoy complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge allows you to lounge in an elegant environment where breakfast, hot drinks and cold refreshments, cocktails and canapés are served free of charge throughout the day. International newspapers and magazines and a comfortable satellite TV corner make the Lounge a real "home away from home." Accessible rooms are also available. Services & Features: Guest facilities and services also include a Business Centre, shopping gallery with a hairdresser & barbershop, bookshop, bank, taxi and car rental services and free car park facilities. Free WiFi is available in all public spaces of the hotel.The hotel also offers various meeting rooms and facilities that can accommodate either a small meeting or a conference for up to 720 delegates. The Hiltonia Health Club features a fitness centre with outdoor and indoor swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, a squash court, and Spa area with steam bath, Jacuzzi, Sauna and beauty centre, which allows you to pamper yourself with a massage and spa treatments. Dining & Entertainment: The Fontana restaurant is available for all-day dining. Enjoy our Hilton Breakfast, in the morning, and for lunch or dinner choose from a wide variety of traditional or international buffet or the a la carte menu. If you are seeking a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, the Paddock Bar invites you, after a hard day’s work, to enjoy cocktails and drinks by ordering your favourites. The Lobby Lounge of the hotel allows you to lounge in a relaxing atmosphere and invites you to enjoy aromatic coffees and delicious dessert or even a light snack including Hilton Classic meals. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily on weekdays. Enjoy refreshing cocktails and tempting snacks at the seasonal Pergola Grill & Bar, situated next to the outdoor swimming pool. At night time Pergola transforms into a magnificent restaurant offering a tempting a la carte menu with a wide selection of grilled dishes, delicious steaks and the finest wines and spirits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cyprus Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Hotel Cyprus
Hilton Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Nicosia
Nicosia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing