We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to chill out”

Fanous Lebanese Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 1,019 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location to chill out”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If you want just to chill out this is a place to be, if you like hookah is a plus reason to go there. Personally I don't like hookah but is something different to try in old nicosia.

Helpful?
Thank Stefell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    46
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“taste the difference”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Once in a while you want something different, had enough kebab and kofte. And Fanous offers this, middle-eastern tastes, very well done. You can sit inside or in the street, where local youths come to have their waterpipe, shisha, a relaxed athmosphere. We had: tasty humus, falafel, very good small sausages, and a meat-speciality of which I don't remenber the name.
Not that is does matter a lot, but for those who want to know: the prices are low.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ideal for lovers of arabic food and vegetarians”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is good, in the old town of Nicosia, the ambiance in side may not be great but when you sit outsite you feel that you are in the middle of an arabic suk which I liked. The food is good, excellent variety and if you are a vegetarian you can ensure that your choices will not be limited in this restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank theodora t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“For tourists”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not a single dish properly made, used to be great 6 years ago when first opened, but it seems they target tourists who don't care about quality but just fast food. If you are familiar with Lebanese food, you would know this place is a commercialised version of Lebanese tasty cuisine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sevago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese Food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A friend invited me for Arabic food and I thought great, I know where we'll go. We ended up somewhere else - in the old part of Nicosia at Fanous - somewhere I had never been before and I was pleasantly surprised.

In the narrow alleys and amongst the people passing by we sat and ordered. We had some of the old "favourites" plus some new ones that were recommended to us.

The food was excellent, the service was excellent and the prices were great.

This place doesn't have the high quality "looks" of others, but it is honest and the food is excellent and that's what you come to a restaurant for.

One nice touch is that on Friday and Saturday nights, they have an excellent belly dancer.

When you are next in old Nicosia, take a trip to Fanous - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Achilleas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanous Lebanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Fanous Lebanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing