We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Comfort Food”

Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir
Ranked #21 of 1,070 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $73
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: French authentic Brasserie on Larnacos Avenue 87. It has a Facebook Fan Page: Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir where you can discover the menu and get regular updates.Specialities consist in steaks of French origin, cooked to your taste and served with home made sauces, but also casseroles or French specialities like duck confit, burgundy snails, frog legs or fresh foie gras.We are also specialised in fresh seafood. We serve daily fresh oysters and mussels imported from France, salmon or trout.Cosy, congenial and unpretentious. Friendly and attentive service.Wine list covering all main French appellations but also local wines, with good pricing since we import our own wines.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great atmosphere for couples but cozy enough to go with friends. Food is really good, nothing extravagant, but homely and comforting. Great dining experience every time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yiannos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was just perfect! Nice atmosphere and very good food. What to tell about the staff? Excellent service. Sure i will go back to taste some other dishes ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PAgapiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ate here on Fri night and had a lovely meal. Huge starters and delightful main courses. The house wine was excellent, as was the service. We were allowed to take our time and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I can only suggest the previous review is not representative of what is a great restaurant in Nicosia. We very much look forward to going back again soon.

1  Thank Niggles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear valued customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our place.

We are glad your experience was excellent, and that you appreciate both the food in terms of quality and quantity, and the service.
We are working hard to achieve these results and a good and true comment always makes us very happy !
We are looking forward to host you again and again in a near future !

Gatienne and the Team of Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were very happy to see that there was a French Brasserie in Nicosia; we missed the French cuisine, and thought this experience will be as pleasant as the Name depicts “Au Bon Plaisire”. The environment is truly cozy and French, but that is all; the food was far from French quality or standards; to be more specific; the Onion Soup was poor, the Goat Cheese Salad was the only good part of our meal, the Duck Confit was average, the Burgundy Beef was terrible, and the Mussels had hair and was below average French cuisine. The service was nice, but slow. To sum it up; we are still looking for a good real French Restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Issa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Issa,

After such a long wave of excellent and very good reviews, we were unfortunately expecting to disappoint a customer. I believe your level of expectation was very high, and we didn't obviously manage to meet it.

Please keep in mind what we officially stand for, namely a friendly and casual atmosphere, and fresh or freshly cooked, tasty and unpretentious food. And please compare us against this benchmark, not against the excessively flattering comments some of our regular customers sometimes make, or against a different concept of French cuisine.

I unfortunately arrived too late to meet you, since your meal took place in less than one hour, but the waitress gave me account of your visit. And that account cheered me up a little, since it appears that you were the only of the company of 4 who didn't enjoy our food. The rest of the company had the whole onion soup, and the companion who ordered as well the Burgundy beef ate it all. But we would have happily replaced yours, should you have told us that you were dissatisfied.
My son and myself had 2 large portions of mussels (on the very same table you were previously) and we couldn't find any hair ourselves, but we will pay even more attention to their removal in the future. Please note that the mussels being freshly cooked, the hair removal process takes part only before cooking, when they are alive and closed, therefore cannot be 100% perfect, despite the attention given.

We want you to be happy when you come to our place, and we wish to be given a second chance. If you will visit us again in the next month, please pick any starter and any main course of your choice, as they will be on the house.

I look forward to seeing you again. This time we will make sure that you leave our place enthusiastic, as it should be.
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great Food, very good wines sensibly priced, very welcoming owner and staff, not the best environment, a place with lots of character.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANDROS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir also viewed

 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing