We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for any kind of food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathodon

Kathodon
Ranked #8 of 1,003 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With my arrival in the beautiful Island Cyprus many years ago, I carried with me a dream, to create an authentic and traditional Greek tavern that would focus on the flavours of ingloriously lost homeland of Asia Minor. I started out in difficult years surrounded with dark and desolation affected by the visible effects of the invasion and occupation! Slowly and with much love and hard work my tavern had began to acquire life and took strength from the preference and confidence you had in us. I came up with the name of the tavern after much thought. The idea of a 'commercial' name didn’t inspire me at all so I decided to call it “Kathodon” which means “En Route”. “En Route” to the way of freedom. Kathodon survived, strengthened and progressed throughout the years and is now here after 13 years stronger, filled with love, commitment to tradition and quality that was always our aim. We continue always with respect to our customer-friend! I would like to point out where it says somewhere in our menu, “We do not serve hasty and nervous people”. This means that food is prepared fresh once you have ordered and some extra time may be required. We are sure there is no restaurant in the world that does not sometimes make a mistake and if this happens to us we will make sure that we will do everything in our power to make it up to you in the best possible way. Our promise for the future is to continue enriching our menu with forgotten traditional flavours that will take you on a journey leaving a sweet taste lingering in your mouth.. These are a few words about the history of “Kathodon”, we wish you all “bon appetite” and may you all have a pleasant time.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for any kind of food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

That's good tavern with Greek specialities. They have cyprus meals, greek and europian, so you can choose whatever you like. Prices is reasonable. Service isn't good, they are slow and you have to wait a lot to give order or get bill. But this is not a big problem if you are with friends there :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your good words our friend. Usually the service isn't slow though on ordering or getting the bill , but as we are all humans we make mistakes sometimes. If you meant that we are slow on getting the food is that we try to make it as better as possible for you our customers. We would love to have you in our company again and you can call for me to give me your opinions again.

Regards Sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    141
    49
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went with friends to this restaurant and had to really struggle to get waiter attention, who were also rude. The highlight was when a friend went to find the owner after we had asked for the bill to five different waiters and waited for 30' mins and nothing happened and his answer was 'this is not so important'! We vowed never to go back! The food was OK but nothing special, there are much better places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clairiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kathodon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear customer many times i tell to the waiters that the boss is the customer, we are sorry that you have waited so much time for the bill , i please that the next time ask for me personally so that you forget your previous visit that we were a little bit late on the bill.

Regards Sakis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
“Great restaurant in Nicosia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our most preferred restaurant in Nicosia city centre; and we went there 3 times in 2 days! It offered a large variety of food at reasonable prices. Staff was extremely friendly and gave us good recommendations. It is always fully booked. Therefore you better make reservation in advance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newcomer_to_ravenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kathodon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear customer-friend we are very flattered with your comments on our restaurant , food , waiters and service and its an honor to have you visited us. We also thank you for your time writing these critics. We hope to see you again as soon as possible.

In regards Sakis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

By far the best local food and tastes that we tried and repeated a few times.
everytime we tried something different and everytime we were amazed by how
delicious it all was, really good home cooking from A to Z.
Service was excellent, everytime a different waiter and guess what.
they all somehow spoke a very GOOD english and always served us
with a SMILE.
if we go back (soon) we know where we will be going a few times for a treat and
I mean it, a real TREAT.
A must...try it for yourself.food service and price unmatched anywhere, my word for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Billyarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kathodon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear customer-friend we are very pleased and thank you for your critic on our restaurant. We are flattered by your words for our food , service and more generally the whole place. We hope to see you again as soon as possible and my word for it we will get better day by day so be ready for an even better expierence.

In regards Sakis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went there a while ago we ordered only appetizers they were pretty tasty. The atmposphere was okay, i would recommend it, but i think its quite on the pricy side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your good words our friend and customer. We would love if you could visit us again and give us your opinion on our prices and we can try and do the best we can so we have happy customers.

Regards Sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathodon also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Kathodon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing