We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Kathodon

Kathodon
Ranked #9 of 1,041 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With my arrival in the beautiful Island Cyprus many years ago, I carried with me a dream, to create an authentic and traditional Greek tavern that would focus on the flavours of ingloriously lost homeland of Asia Minor. I started out in difficult years surrounded with dark and desolation affected by the visible effects of the invasion and occupation! Slowly and with much love and hard work my tavern had began to acquire life and took strength from the preference and confidence you had in us. I came up with the name of the tavern after much thought. The idea of a 'commercial' name didn’t inspire me at all so I decided to call it “Kathodon” which means “En Route”. “En Route” to the way of freedom. Kathodon survived, strengthened and progressed throughout the years and is now here after 13 years stronger, filled with love, commitment to tradition and quality that was always our aim. We continue always with respect to our customer-friend! I would like to point out where it says somewhere in our menu, “We do not serve hasty and nervous people”. This means that food is prepared fresh once you have ordered and some extra time may be required. We are sure there is no restaurant in the world that does not sometimes make a mistake and if this happens to us we will make sure that we will do everything in our power to make it up to you in the best possible way. Our promise for the future is to continue enriching our menu with forgotten traditional flavours that will take you on a journey leaving a sweet taste lingering in your mouth.. These are a few words about the history of “Kathodon”, we wish you all “bon appetite” and may you all have a pleasant time.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went there a while ago we ordered only appetizers they were pretty tasty. The atmposphere was okay, i would recommend it, but i think its quite on the pricy side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your good words our friend and customer. We would love if you could visit us again and give us your opinion on our prices and we can try and do the best we can so we have happy customers.

Regards Sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    154
    54
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kathodon is my favorite restaurant in Nicosia. They have very good greek food in good prices. You can eat dinner with dessert and jug of wine for less than 20$ per person.
Service is good.
Main part of tables are situated outside near boardwalk so you have to be used to people passing by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeZZoo_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kathodon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear customer thank you for your time and your nice comments on our restaurant and we hope to see you again as soon as possible. About the tables on the outside , opinions may differ , but its a possitive thing beacuse you see faces and check around the people and feel the cyprus air.

In regards Sakis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what it seems!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We nearly didn't try this restaurant as it looked like a typical tourist place - glossy menu displayed outside , a bit brash looking and situated right next to the crossing to north Nicosia on Ledra Street but we were hungry and very hot and there were a few interesting veg dishes listed. Anyway, we had a most pleasant surprise as it turned out to serve tasty traditional village dishes, cooked really well and all delivered with friendly attention. We were able to find out about how things were cooked/made and exactly what they were and on trying three desserts between two of us just because they sounded interesting, one of them was provided on the house - a really nice touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your good words our friend and customer and we hope to see you again any time you would like. We are happy we could change your opinion on us as it seemed to be bad at first glance but you never try until you try.

Regards Sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food here is really good and service is very friendly. The position of this restaurant is excellent at the end of Ledra Street which has some very good shops. Take some time to view the interior walls which have some very interesting photos on. The toilets are very clean and amusing!!!! A must visit restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiRobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your good words our friend. We like to keep it warm and provide you with the best expierence we can.

Regards Sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The best in ledra!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here a few days ago and evenat 11.00 at night the place was full of locals. The food was really fresh and tasty, service was friendly and there was a chilled, relaxed atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aprinkibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHODON, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kathodon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear customer-friend we thank you for your time writing this critic and aswell as your nice words on our food and atmosphere. We are trying to give you the best experience and we are getting even better each day passing by so we are waiting for you to visit us again.

In regards Sakis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathodon also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Kathodon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing