We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The worst place I ever stayed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst place I ever stayed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was placed in this hotel, as most others seemed to be full, due to the EU ministerial gathering. The room (No 113) was tiny with two single beds. The bed-covers had the most disgusting, huge and varied collection of stains one could imagine!! I felt like throwing them out of the balcony... The shower room was equally tiny and its door would bang the second bed when you tried to open it more than half way. One of the bath towels was near the state of complete disintegration (if you'd rub hard, it may fall apart completely). The bed was very hard and small and the tiny pillow filled with hard lumps. I could hardly sleep all night! There was a small fridge with half-broken shelves and a squeaky door that made a lot of noise. Decor and beds old and seriously unattractive. Dust was obvious everywhere. The front desk lady was pleasant (unlike the manageress/owner (?), whose portrait decorates the dimly lit dining room). Breakfast seemed OK, but I was in such a hurry to escape, I could hardly bother. AVOID, please!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julia_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
31
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Room was small and unattractive, several appliances didn´t work well or were broken. The location is rather far from the city centre. Staff is friendly, breakfast is OK. In the room only wired internet in a very awkward location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I paid 45 euros in off-season, early March 2012. The woman on duty Sat. night and Sun. morning was a treasure house of information, clearly conveyed in good English. She was terrific. Breakfast was excellent, a nice choice offering eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, etc. A full breakfast in a very pleasant room. But--the room was small and tightly arranged. Bathroom by contrast was huge. (However, there was the hazard of a slanted-up entry of a few inches into the bathroom, tiled the same as the bathroom floor. I put a T-shirt there, to remind me, or I would have tripped repeatedly coming or going--as I did the first two times; not safe for old people.)
Very quiet place in a very quiet suburban neighborhood (at least one taxi driver couldn't find it on his own). I left after one night because it is so very faaaar from old town, which is where everything is located that a tourist would want to see. You either waste a long time walking back and forth, or spend at least 15 euros round trip for a taxi. Better spend that money on a centrally located hotel, such as Centrum or Rimi, both of which I stayed in next and enjoyed them both.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

It is in a nice location.
The rooms are very clean.
The most worthy to mention is the staff , they are very helpful and always doing their best to satisfy you especially at the reception.
I am an frequent traveller to Nicosia and I always book at Crown Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

positive:
area was nice and quiet.
price compared to other hotels low

negative:
tiny room.
hair on the bed.
only one blanket per room available (even for a double bed)
window directly to the backyard with AC machine sound.
bath was even smaller and of course also full of hair.
towels with dark spots.
tV didn't work well.
breakfast not worth a cent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reise007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
262 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

An average quality hotel, at a cosy and quiet area of Nicosia, at a walking distance from city centre and old city of Nicosia.
Bus stop (line 23) is nearby as well.
The rooms were of average quality - pretty good for a 2-star hotel and the breakfast was adequate to hotel's level.
Pretty helpful staff and good cleaning service were the main advantages of the hotel.
Generally, it was a good value for money, but certainly at a price no more than 75 euros for a double room with breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touristas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Nice hotel in a quiet area yet not so far from the center of Nicosia nore the Old town(3min by taxt 20 min by walk. Rooms are not ver spasious yet clean and enough for a wekk stay. bathrooms are tiny buy clean.
Breakfast is delcious with a variety of choices.
The staff are so friendly and very helpful which makes you enjoy your stay to the maximum. I surely recomend it.
Great Place for money value

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charbelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.4 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Averof Hotel
Averof Hotel
#15 of 26 in Nicosia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn Hotel

Property: Crown Inn Hotel
Address: 13 Philellinon Str | Ayios Andreas, Nicosia 100, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Crown Inn Hotel, located in a lush, green district, just 10 minutes from the National Museum and only 15 minutes walking distance to the centre of the capital. The hotel is also conveniently located 100 meters near a bus station. The Crown Inn Hotel is especially designed to completely satisfy and meet the modern demands of the visitors such as business professionals and organized groups visiting Cyprus. Crown Inn Hotel can meet the requirements both of professional visitors and tourists on both long and short-term stays. It offers a variety of accommodation solutions that can be adapted to each individual need. We have equipped the hotel with all the basic comforts in order to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Facilities offered by the Crown Inn include 24-hour reception, Restaurant, Bar, Conference room, meeting room, laundry room and a Free wireless Internet access and cable internet in all rooms. If you are looking for great value for money accommodation in the heart of Nicosia, with friendly warm staff that are hand to help you with your every need, then Crown Inn Hotel is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing