We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value, no frills business hotel”
Review of Ajax Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ajax Hotel
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed for a week during February. Chose the hotel for three reasons: 1) reasonable room rates, 2) free wifi and 3) facilities. Despite reading many reviews about wifi not working well, it was fine both in room and lobby areas. Staff were great, we asked to change rooms three times, to get a double bed instead of twin and then to move to front of hotel where it is sunnier. Reception staff even rung us to ask if we were happy with final choice of room. The rooms are not plush, but basic and clean. Bathrooms could do with a re-fit (not modern), but fine/clean. Breakfast is great, the gym is good (used by locals) and the outdoor pool and surrounding area is nicely refurbished. Indoor pool is quite small (~15m). Lobby bar and restaurant staff were also friendly and helpful. I would recommend this for a business trip, but not for a holiday though as it's a 20mins from beach (which isn't a nice one either).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert_morrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 527 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

I would rate this hotel higher except for the Internet, which was poor to non-existant most of the time. It doesn't matter if its free if it doesn't work!!
The staff were very good and the rooms quite acceptable at this price range. But when the Internet didn't work of Saturday I was told that it woul dbe fixed the next day. It wasn't and on Sunday I was told that support staff didn't work on Sunday. That's not good enpough for Internet support, but it did work Monday. Then it stopped again on Tuesday. I left on Wednesday.
A good place if you do not need an Internet connection.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0mmyBahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaxhotel, Public Relations Manager at Ajax Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for visiting our hotel and providing your comments. I understand you had some issues with the internet signal. We examined your case and consulted expert technicians to solve this issue. Even though we don't usually have any problems, we will reinforce the signal to keep everyone happy! I apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. I believe that you will enjoy surfing the web either in your room, lobby or bar areas!

Once again thank you for your comments.

Alkisti Nicolaou
on behalf of The Ajax Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 weeks half-board stay at the Ajax. We spent a similar holiday there 2 years ago, and were so delighted with the service that for the first time in our lives we decided this year to repeat a holiday.

Before I attempt to critique the hotel, I must comment on the staff. I believe that it is the quality of the staff, rather than the star rating of any accomodation, which determines just how good a hotel is, and in this case, the Ajax has it in spades.

I'd like to start at reception, and in particular with Elena, who, incredibly, remembered us from 2 years back (despite not leaving her a tip!). There was nothing too much trouble for her to sort out. Then there were the maintenance engineers. We had a couple of minor electrical problems in our room, but these guys were there within 10 minutes to fix the problem.

The restaurant: 2 years ago I thought the food was good - this time it was even better! (I know, if you're typical English and you're looking for bangers and chips, this is not the hotel for you - better to go B&B because the breakfast menu offers plenty of fried, or scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, as well as the local or continental choices. But if you want to savour local, well presented and prepared local food - this is the hotel for you.

The restaurant staff, whether waiters, or the indomitable but friendly maitre-de, are some of the most hospitable and efficient I have come across. Whether it be Marios, or Andreas, or Vassas, or George, they are the best you could ask for.

This hotel is clean, clean, clean. The bars, the terraces and the pool area are all proper 4 Star. The entertainment, twice weekly, is very good and of a good quality.

The Ajax is not your typical holiday hotel, it is a commercial/tourist hotel, and as such, you just don't get rowdy guests. Tourists come from Ireland, England, Scotland, Germany, France, Greece, Chechoslovakia, Egypt, Japan and Korea (All of these were there when we were), as well as locals from other areas of Cyprus.

I like this, because when I go on holiday, I want to meet people from somewhere else, not just from where I come from, That's what travel is all about, and the Ajax provides that opportunity.

This hotel is not for those who want to fall out of bed and roll on to the beach - the closest beach is 20 minutes walk away. This is a city hotel, situated just yards away from the Limassol city boundary. But the beauty about Limassol is that if you hire a car, it is the best base for touring the island.

If I had a complaint, there is only one, but for someone else, it would probably be a plus feature. It is this - the beds are a little too hard. They are probably the only thing about the hotel that is not 4 Star. Big deal? Perhaps, but the daily maid service more than compensates for it.

Would I go back for another visit - You Bet!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavyDyMonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaxhotel, Public Relations Manager at Ajax Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear guest thank for taking time to write these wonderful comments for our hotel! I will definitely inform our staff, as it is always a pleasure to hear that the effort we put into our work is recognized by our guests! What gives the Ajax Hotel its unique character is that we mostly employ locals who can welcome guests the 'Cyprus way'; with a smile and a friendly service.

Once again thank you for recognizing our efforts!

Alkisti Nicolaou
On behalf of the Ajax Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel very good value .We stayed bed/breakfeast -food and dining areas very clean ,staff very attentive.excellent variety of food full english or continental .
We stayed on fourth floor overlooking the pool and the room was certainly very acceptable. Air conditioning on 24/7.Lots of cubboard space and room of good size.
Hotel about 15 mins walk from beach and a car is really required .Car parking at hotel available.
If you are thinking of booking DO IT .You wont be disapointed .This was our second visit and we will definatly retuern as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkieBoy2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times (13 nights), and I find it very nice. Great pool area, fantastic breakfast and good location. 15 minute walk to the beach and 20 min walk to "main restaurant areas" in Limassol. The only bad thing is their Wi-Fi, as it only works in the lobby and bar area. They claim to have free Wi-Fi in every room, but trust, me the signal is so week that it is impossible to establish good contact with Internet or e-mail server in the room. I have complained every time, and they do NOTHING about it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with my husband.
We were traveling in Cyprus to attend a nieces christening.
The hotel is not close to the beach, or so close to the town center.
But, the concierge lady was verry friendly and polite, the restaurant
awaited us for breakfast and the room was nice, clean and cool.
During our stay we were served imidietly for any thing we have asked.
The only negative was that no one came to make our room the next day.
No changing the towels, no making the beds, no emptying the waste baskets,
no replenishing the bath products and the toilet paper.
I do not know if that was a mistake or real negligence.
Also, the bathroom has mold in places and tiles were detached from place.
Any way, we are satisfied with our stay because the room price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anima_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaxhotel, Public Relations Manager at Ajax Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at Ajax Hotel. It is good to hear your good comments about our quality of service as we put a lot of effort into that and always look for improving. Referring to that, i would like to apologize on behalf of the Housekeeping Department for not preparing your room for one day during your stay. I suppose it was some kind of mistake. Generally we have very good comments about the friendliness and promptness of our staff to service our guests. Therefore, once again I would like to thank you for your kind comments and will definitely ensure such mistakes do not happen.

At your disposal,

Ajax Hotel Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed for two nights to visit the Wine Festival, and family living in Limassol on a B & B basis.

The hotel was excellent, and very good value for money, but book through an agent not directly, to get the best deal!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_larnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.8 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#17 of 56 in Limassol
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#15 of 56 in Limassol
432 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajax Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajax Hotel

Address: Georgiou Neophytou & D. Nicolaou Street | PO Box 56988, Mesa Geitonia, Limassol 3311, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajax Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Limassol within easy reach of the commercial center, the beach, and the town's famous tourist area. The Ajax is renowned for high standards of accommodation and personal service and lends its prestigious address to an international clientele for both business and pleasure. ROOMS AND SUITES Our guest rooms and suites have been furnished with care and attention to create an atmosphere of elegance comfort. All rooms have balcony, mini-bar, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, satellite television, radio, international direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning, and valet and 18-hour room service. All rooms feature Free Wi-Fi internet access, working desk, and safe box. Our rooms are ideal for relaxing or working in comfort. Suites feature all the facilities of the executive rooms as well as a separate living room, king size bed, LCD TV and a larger bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ajax Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing