We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantica Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic break at the Atlantica Bay Hotel in Cyprus party of 4 in our late 50s early 60s.
We can thoroughly recommend this adults only hotel. From day one we were made to feel welcomed and have nothing but praise for the competence of the staff, especially Christina, Aneta & all staff (main lobby bar) Gregorious From the pool bar and his staff and all the restaurant staff.
Food was great and plenty of choice for all.
Will look forward to returning to this hotel after it's refurb.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarletneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    552
    172
    28
    25
See reviews for
128
1,662
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived back last night after a weeks amazingly relaxing holiday , wanted a break before going into hospital and it did not dissapoint . The weather was abit mixed but the hotel makes up for ot , the lovely indoor swiming pool with many sunloungers is such a plus when its cloudy ,you acn close your eyes and drift off with the lovley warm heat trapped inside..We had a junior suite which i have to say was stunning ,the large comfy bed and the beautiful views were a pleasure to be in . All the staff are a credit to the hotel and made all the quests feel very special.The Al acarte evening was well worth booking , and we were quiet suprised that we met so many people who did not want go, the food and service was fantastic ,it certainly made a very special evening . The only negative thing we did not like was the plastic protectors on the beds they made it very hot and the sheets crumpled all the time .Thank you all at the hotel for making our week so lovely .

Room Tip: try to get a sea view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are looking for a nice quiet relaxing break, then this is the place for you. We arrived to a warm welcome which included a glass of local sparkling wine (it was very nice as well!) and one of the quickest check in procedures I've ever experienced. Our room, although smaller than average, was clean and tidy with good furniture and an extra large bed. We were at the back of the hotel, so our view was not the best, however, we were able to look out onto open land and the small hill at the back. The food was good, with plenty of choice at all meals. The entertainment was a bit of a low point, whilst the artistes were good, it was the same type of thing every night - a bit more variety needed here I think. The only other low point for us was that the beach bar was closed. We liked to spend our relaxing time at the beach area, but had to go back to the hotel for drinks. Now this may be because of the low numbers using the area, or it could be that the numbers are low because there are no facilities. I think just the ability to get drinks in this area needs to be reconsidered. I don't think it needs to be staffed for meals or snacks at this time of the year.
Staff were attentive and friendly, and when sitting on the veranda we were never short of a waitress or waiter asking if we needed anything.
There is a "coastal path" to walk along, and I would recommend walking towards Limassol rather than the opposite direction towards the marina.
All in all, a great hotel and a great holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ifor_Bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a most pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable holiday at the Atlantica Bay, this being our 20th visit over the last 15 years. What can be said that hasn't been said before by all the previous reviewers that also enjoyed their stay and found it to their liking. Admittedly, the hotel and it's location is not to everyone's satisfaction as can be seen, however if people took the time to read the holiday brochure and review the website before they came they would see if the air-con would be on, if the Sands beach bar would be open, etc. Suffice to say, we cannot fault the quality of the food, the comfort of the rooms and the quality of service that is provided by all of the staff, there is a genuine concern to make sure that you enjoy your stay and this reflects greatly on the management of the hotel, especially that provided by Vakis, Maria and Yiannis. The evening entertainment has always been a talking point over the years and on this occasion Lisa and Dom from Domino did their very best to entertain, yes there were a few flat notes and other glitches in their performance but overall they did well and some of the comments previously made about them really are undeserved. The Thomson reps also did well and a big thank you goes to Matt, Ruth and Aiden for providing the entertainment that they did, especially the singing performances by Aiden as they were exceptional. All in all, a fantastic holiday, I know we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've enjoyed it so much again. I noticed the air con was off but did sleep just fine with the doors open with the help of a lovely cocktail or two, the road is noisey. The air con did get switched back on when the temperature rose at certain times . The Al La Carte is really good, I recommend the beef. The hotel is perfect for anyone wanting a rest but, I think some of the sun beds need recovering. Matt the rep is great , nothing is too much trouble and he makes you feel looked after .All the staff are lovely and Anthony in the resteraunt is a real character. There isn't a lot around the hotel but, a bus is regular if you want to go into limasoll..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned from a week’s break at the Atlantica Bay Hotel in Limassol, Cyprus. This was the first visit to Cyprus for my wife and I and whilst some negative points below, don’t let these put you off going as I am sure we will return to the island again in the future.
The hotel itself, which is situated in the Amathus Bay area, was very good and more on that later, however, the location was not the best as it seemed to be stuck out on a limb, although in all fairness, this is explained in the description given on the Thompson website – just have to read them more carefully in the future.
I was disappointed with the poor condition of the beaches and walkways within the Amathus Bay resort as this was not what I expected, Cyprus to me conjures up images of clean golden sandy beaches and this is not what I saw, the sand is dark and although it was nearing the end of the season I was very disappointed with the poor condition of the public beaches, there was little evidence that they had been cleaned on a regular basis or at all during the period we were there, however, on the private beaches outside of the Meridian and Four Seasons hotels etc the beaches were still being cleaned daily for the visitors.
The hotel in itself was very clean, well maintained and welcoming for guests with all staff working very hard yet still being very pleasant all of the time. The food was very nice and always a fair amount of choice and the meats were cooked to perfection, the beef just seemed to melt in the mouth and whilst I did not partake in the deserts, they always looked fresh, well presented and colourful. Breakfasts consisted of all the usual food such as Bacon, Eggs, Sausages, Beans etc and even fried bread which was delicious and for those who did not fancy inviting a coronary, there was the usual healthy options choice. I really could not fault the food in this hotel.
The entertainment in the hotel left a great deal to be desired apart from 2 good performances, 1 from a lady (Stevie) who had a brilliant voice and the other a Welsh guy who mixed comedy with singing and who was really entertaining, the rest of it was mediocre and although I do not wish to come across like ‘Simon Cowell’ the resident duo ‘ Domino’ were on too many times and their performances were ‘Cruise ship’ style and repetitive and although it was nearing the end of the season, I think that more thought should have been put into the entertainment.
The sun sets are something else and it is worth going down to the area of the hotel which is situated just on the beach, bagging yourself a lounger and watching the sun go down over the Old Port area, wonderful!
This was a Thompson, All Inclusive Adult Couples Hotel with the great percentage of people in the hotel being British, there was a mixture of ages which worked well as it was not like a Thompson ‘Gold’ hotel which, in my opinion, can sometimes seem like a residential home on the other hand, neither did it have the boisterousness which can be found in hotels aimed at the younger clientele, all in all a nice holiday, lovely people, a good hotel but the surrounding areas could do with some TLC, however, I am sure it will all be so different during their main season when the beaches are full of holiday makers and are maintained daily.

If eating out try Chesters Bar which is located up the road from the hotel opposite the St Rafael hotel (turn left out of the hotel and walk up the road, or better still walk up the beach and cut through at the St Rafael) whilst we did not eat there, as we were All Inclusive, we called in a few times for a drink and the food which was being served always looked lovely with huge portions and the place was always busy with what looked like locals.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SEEKAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. Great room, great view, great food and service but the only downside, and a very big one that detracted greatly from my wife's enjoyment of the holiday, is that the air conditioning wasn't on. As a result she slept badly and isn't as refreshed as she should be after a holiday. Would we return to The Atlantica Bay? We would like to but given the issue with the air conditioning would be somewhat reluctant knowing that whether it is operating or not is simply down to the Managers discretion (sorry but not good enough for a 4 star hotel).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#12 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Property: Atlantica Bay Hotel
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing