We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, but terrible neigborhood”
Review of Pefkos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pefkos Hotel
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for money, but terrible neigborhood”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Good sized rooms, nice clean bathroom, free a/c and very friendly staff at the reception. Ample parking space at the back of the hotel. Dark corridors at night. Breakfast very simple but acceptable. For a change they served real coffee instead of the usual terrible instant coffee. Restaurant was good value for money too. Flat screen television on the room, but only a few digital channels, including BBC World and Sky News. Good size swimming pool with bar in front of the hotel.
Biggest backdraw was the location in a very unfriendly area. A two mile walk to the "old harbor" area was very doable, but the busy route wasn't very appealing. Once at the harbor we found out it was one big construction zone. The KEO brewery and winery also had it's tours cancelled because of renovation, so that was another disappointment. A taxi from the hotel to the more vivid and sparkling touristic area (about 6 miles) costed around 7.50 euro's which was not bad. A real gem is the Funamo Steakhouse, just 100 meters from the hotel. Easy to miss, but this place of international fame offered outstanding good steaks served by a very friendly staff. We payed around 90 euro's for a 3 course dinner for two, including drinks. Not cheap if you are used to pay around 15-20 euro for a typical Cypriotic touristic meal, but comparable to West European prices it's not that bad, and it's well worth every cent!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin_Wieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
24
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

unforgettable breakfast
No comments...
but cheap and clean

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanikosLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limassol hotels

Athens
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed for a weekend. The hotel needs a desperate reburbishement. There is a daily cleaning service but rooms are clean only where it is possible to reach. Walls need painting, cables near the ceiling are dirty, carpeting needs replacement. Furniture is worn out, TV was old and broken but working, hairdryer tube was teared so air was leaking out. Door was not sealed to the walls, so maybe there was a potential for someone to break in.
But the room and the bathroom and the balcony were clean in all places we could reach and touch.
The lobby too needs a refurbishment. Breakfast was adequate but not in great variety. There is a parking area beside the hotel.
Stuff was not very polite, although we are Greeks too.
The hotel is in an uninteresting location, away from the old town and tourist area. A bakery and a mini market nearby are open 24 hours.
Room price was 48euros breakfast included. It is a cheap hotel but I suggest to also search elsewhere.

  • Disliked — Needs a refurbishment
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We first stayed in Pefkos in 2000, and although we have enjoyed other holidays in the intervening years we always return to Pefkos every summer.
From our first trip we were made to feel welcome, really like distant Scottish relatives rather than tourists, and the kindness shown by the owners in ensuring that we had an enjoyable holiday is really the prime reason that we decided to return the next year -- and the next, and the next, and the next !!
The hotel is situated around 8 km from the tourist area, which is fantastic as far as I'm concerned. The tourist shops are near enough if you need to go to them, but not so near that you feel as if you are taking your holiday in Waterloo Station.
Nearer than the tourist area is the Old Town, which is a 20-minute walk, and has everything you will ever need -- souvenirs, luggage, lots of jewellers, leather shops, the fantastic Limassol Castle, and more bars and restaurants than you will get the chance to try in 2 weeks ( have dinner 1 evening in AVACAS on the seafront, food fantastic, prices low, service great).
We have always hired a car, and the hotel manager Phytos arranges for us to collect it at the airport -- we have never had a problem with the car, and I can't recommend the rental company SIXT highly enough.
The rooms are clean, if a little dated, but to be honest clean is all that matters -- we only use them for sleeping in and applying SPF prior to going out into the sunshine.
Breakfast is perfect - continental naturally, but they will happily make you anything that you want if you simply ask. At Pefkos, nothing is ever too much trouble.
The pool is clean and simple, and a great place to just kick back and watch the day go by. There's no need to claim sunbeds in advance, there's always somewhere to sit and the poolside bar will also provide towels to save having to bring your own down from the room.
There's still 5 months before we get to return this summer, but with the rising costs of keeping a family afloat these days I can't imagine ever wishing to take a chance on spending 3 or 4 thousand pounds to go somewhere else in the summer, only to soend 2 or 3 weeks regretting not coming back to Pefkos.
It really is our second home in the sun !

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RickersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, NH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

I stayed at the Pefkos hotel for about a week while on a month-long trip to Cyprus. The hotel was simple, with rooms resembling to a great degree rooms you might see at chain hotels in the United States (Hampton Inn, Comfort Inn, etc.), but was very clean. Each room that I stayed in (two seperate rooms, as there was a 2 day gap between my stays here) had a balcony, though there was little to see from the hotel besides the hotel pool.

Rooms contained the usual TV, telephone, small-ish bathrooms, etc. The hotel has a bar/grill, as well as a sit-down restaurant that also has the breakfast buffet each morning. The breakfast is one of the best parts of the stay, with quite a selection for the price, and nice clean tables to sit at.

Internet was available near the bar and in the lobby using a wireless router, though this was not functioning more often than not.

The staff was generally friendly and, except for the cleaning staff, all spoke English to at least some degree.

Location wise, it is a taxi-ride away from any beaches/waterfronts, but the route takes you past some interesting properties and churches/mosques.

Overall, a good (though simplistic) stay.

  • Liked — Value for the price paid
  • Disliked — Inconsistent internet and location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mtsmith131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA & Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

During our one week stay in Cyrpus, we wanted to spend at least a day in the city of Limassol, so we booked our night at the Pefkos Hotel. It is a family run hotel by the Pefkos family, and it went above our expectations.

First of all, the price is superb - only 22 CYP. The rooms were so different than the other hotels in its price range. This hotel actually is a hotel - no kitchenettes, fully carpeted rooms, balcony, decent decor and well-kept rooms and beds.

The breakfast included was also sufficient for our needs; simple but good. They also had a pool, which we didn't use, but seemed clean, and many people were enjoying it.

The only drawback of the Pefkos Hotel was the location. It took us an hour driving around Limassol to find it. If you are a foreigner, the maps don't help too much. We finally were able to locate the hotel when we asked someone at a local cafe, who happened to know the hotel very well. It's not near any major hotel district, or touristy area. But that's why the hotel is really nice and quiet and a good price.

If you have a car, you can stay here, and it's closer than the other hotels in the hotel district to Limassol Beach and the the old ruins and tourist sites.

There is also a parking lot in the rear of the hotel.

I would definitely come here again if I'm in Limassol.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, classiness of the hotel for its price range
  • Disliked — Unusual location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank cairoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2005

We have been going to the Pefkos for the last 15 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cyprus. The rooms are clean and quite adequate, and the Efstathiou family is so friendly and welcoming that it is unbelievable. Over the years we have made Cypriot friends in Limassol and we are encouraged to invite them back to the Pefkos for parties and dinners ''This is your home in Cyprus'' we are told. To pass an evening by the pool, in the company of Cypriots who live nearby and use the hotel bar as a 'local' and dance the hassapiko or kalamatianos with Phytos the manager is the highlight of my year.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ayiosphilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
3.9 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#33 of 57 in Limassol
215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#17 of 57 in Limassol
480 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
#19 of 57 in Limassol
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chrielka Hotel Apts.
Chrielka Hotel Apts.
#44 of 57 in Limassol
28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pigeon Beach Hotel Apartments
5.6 mi away
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#29 of 57 in Limassol
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pefkos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Hotel

Property: Pefkos Hotel
Address: 70, Kavazoglu & Misiaoulis Street | PO Box 50652, Limassol 3016, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pefkos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pefkos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pefkos Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing