We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Viva La Vida - CLOSED

Viva La Vida
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: New Mediterranean restaurant in the heart of Limassol in an old listed building with a 200-meter inside garden. Regional dishes from Italy, Spain, Greece, Morocco, Lebanon, Malta etc. prepared by Chef Patrick Dwyer, affordable prices. Live music Fridays during the summer season. Open Tuesday to Sunday noon till midnight. Sunday Lunch special menu from 12 to 4 p.m. including salad or starter, main course and dessert, all for 20 Euros. Selected popular wines from 10 Euros per bottle.
Kyiv, null, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good alternative to what you can visit in Limassol right now! One a few decent places, positioned as slow food, elegant seating, open kitchen, close contact to the chief (amazing gentleman!!!) Patrick and fantastic food at the top of all of this! My sincere advise to visit especially now, when the prices are still very much reasonable (especially for wine and dessert).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yashanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent menu and dining”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent atmosphere and ambience from the moment we were seated. Staff were very friendly and attentive, with an excellent knowledge of the dishes on the menu and passion for the quality of the food.
The menu was interesting and diverse and it took us a while to decide!
We sampled the bruschetta, scallops and prawns as a starter - all were cooked to perfection with a high level of skill and very tasty.
For mains , the calamari was excellent , tender , with a sauce with just the right amount of freshness and heat. The lobster pasta was also equally good.
Overall a great experience, from the level of service to the perfection in the execution of the dishes.
Very much recommended for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good sopisticated restaurant”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice setting back from the front in Limassol. Sopisticated restaurant with varied mediteranian food. Really good and friendly staff and good food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Divine dining”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For a truly quality dining experience this little beauty is a MUST !
Varied Mediterranean dining choices that will tantalise the taste buds, delivered with style. Highly recommended !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroklini, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding even in the most difficult circumstances”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Viva La Vida on Sunday the 24th March, 2013, a date that was pretty significant for Cyprus as it was the day that the economy collapsed. Many of the restaurant's usual customers were discovering that their bank accounts had been emptied, and I'm sure that the restaurant staff and management were going through absolute hell inside (we live in Cyprus, and I know we were!). We were, the waiters told us, the first customers this usually thriving restaurant had had in over 24 hours, and it stayed empty apart from myself and my wife all through that lunchtime.

So it speaks volumes about their professionalism and dedication that the food was uniformly superb, from a wonderfully delicate gazpacho through various punchy and flavoursome pasta dishes to a really well-judged meringue concoction (have forgotten the name). I have been to many restaurants in Cyprus, and the food here was for me head and shoulders above all others (only the Lord Kitchener comes close). The staff were friendly and extremely professional, and the venue is really well designed and maintained.

These are difficult times for Cyprus, and a lot of the over-priced joints with appalling cooking are going to go to the wall unmourned. If only one restaurant deserves to not only survive but thrive, it's this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 651JamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick d, Executive Chef at Viva La Vida, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear valued guest. I wish to personally thank you for your kind review of Viva la Vida.
As you so vividly point out, we are experiencing difficult times.
This said, it is customers such as you that appreciate our striving to deliver the most enjoyable possible dining experience , that make our efforts worthwhile.

Best regards,
Patrick Dwyer
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva La Vida also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing