We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room felt depressing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Curium Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curium Palace Hotel
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Limassol
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room felt depressing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and I spent 2 nights at the Curium. The hotel room was clean but old and the beds were uncomfortable. On arrival we expected a welcome gift of some water to drink but there was nothing and we had to leave the hotel in search of a place to buy bottles of water as we did not want to buy them from the hotel. Wi Fi is not free and this made the hotel less agreeable to us. Maybe it is more suitable for elderly couples but for 2 friends who wanted to contact their families using wifi, it was not good and we had to buy 1 ticket only for my friend's use. The buffet breakfast is the best thing that the Currium offers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    31
    22
    6
See reviews for
20
35
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Breakfast, room service, ambience is good. Though its bit expensive its a good hotel. Especially i have seen aged people visiting this hotel dyring summer to cherish their memories. Ine can reach out to ATMs,restaurants,beach,shops,etc very easily just by a walk! Love cyprus and curium palace :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprusrkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to the wine festival which is just across the road. Parking was a nightmare as the hotel has very limited parking (approx 10 spaces). The staff were friendly and breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Our bath was more like sheet ice when trying to take a shower! had to put foot mat in bath for safety! There was no local info around on where and what to find places apart from beach. I agree with others that hotel 'whites' are grey. Most disappointing was what was once a beautiful swimming pool area is sadly neglected. Many tiles are missing from pool and unsightly black areas on side of pools. Did not inspect closely whether mould or mastic!! Was also disappointed that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. I did think 3 euros for cup of tea a bit steep. I did like the outside verandah at front of hotel for drinks etc. Must have been the place to stay in its day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millsbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stay in this hotel because it is on the doorstep of my clients offices and when the morning temp. is 34c you need to be close!

The hotel is very basic, old fashioned and dated, but it seems to work in a strange way. Rooms are sizable almost all have a small balcony. Facilities in room incluse a small fridge/mini bar, safe, hairdryer and there is a common utility room with iron/board. Bathroom is basic, shower curtains need replacing and towels are no longer white but more a grey.

Location is OK for the "beach" waterfront and it's opposite the large municipal gardens. Old town is a 30minute walk west of the hotel. Walking out of the hotel and to the east you pass many restaurants/bars and mini-markets/stores, this seems to be very lively most nights of the week after 10pm when the temp. drops enough to be comfortable.

The hotel has a medium size pool and seperate (possibly) kids paddle pool. There is a fitness room but this opens when the local trainer decides to turn up and closes when he's had enough for the day. There is also a tennis court and i assume the hotel has equipment you can borrow.

Breakfast is a buffet which has the basics for a ok start to the day. Cereals, Eggs, Sausages, Bacon etc. and there is a selection of cold cuts and cheese/olives etc. Tea and Coffee too.

I would avoid ordering room service as there are a number of cafe's restaurants 4minutes away serving better value for money meals.

the cleaning staff and female receptionists are cheery and helpful but the others, and maybe this is a male Cypriot trait are extremely moody unhelpful and sometimes rude. The exception being the restaurant manager who is always ready with a smile and a "good morning sir".

The hotel seems to attract a mix of clientele from Eastern Europe, England and a few Chinese. I guess if you are not wanting to stay in the 4 star resort type hotels up the coast a little then this would be a very good choice. Just dont expect too much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOB3TR0TT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at The Curium Palace whilst attending the Limassol Wine Festival recently. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definatley re-visit. the staff were very professional and friendly, breakfast was good and plentiful, the rooms were clean. Ideal place if visting the Wine Festival or such like. My only criticism would be that the swimming pool does need a little TLC, lots of the little mosaic tiles have broken away and many are just left in the bottom of the pool, a real shame because it is in a fantastic position with nice surroundings. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve300359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pafos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel several times over the years and appreciate the improvements to the facilities. The best feature of this hotel is that it is in a location which does not appeal to the beach-seeking holiday-maker, though the beach is not far away. The bar extends onto a pleasant terrace and another one outside the breakfast room with an attractive pool bar, the pool being just beyond that. The restaurants and shops of Limassol are close by, the municipal garden a few steps away and the promenade along the sea also close by. Parking can be difficult in the area but one does not need a car so it does not present a big problem. My single room was a little cramped but had a surprisingly spacious bathroom. All in all a good address.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I agree with all the comments of the June 26 (Great hotel) review. Much nicer than staying on one of the soul-less Euro-Disney hotels on the seafront which must also be bothered by the traffic noise there. The location here is great: a short stroll to the seafront, easy walk to the Old Town, the municipal gardens a stone's throw away and the archaeological museum across the street. The pool is lovely; breakfast and/or happy hour on its terraces also lovely. Good breakfast. Fantastic staff in all respects, including answering questions via e-mail before my visit. Tiny niggle: Room 221 shower made to be used as a sit-bath; difficult to stand in it; but the water pressure is great so this is really just a niggle, not a complaint. Only complaint: high cost of internet/wi-fi (but the rumor is that Cyprus hotels generally price-gauge their visitors with this expense).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.5 mi away
Alasia Hotel
Alasia Hotel
#6 of 59 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#19 of 59 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#11 of 59 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
#18 of 59 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#15 of 59 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrielka Hotel Apts.
Chrielka Hotel Apts.
#44 of 59 in Limassol
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curium Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curium Palace Hotel

Property: Curium Palace Hotel
Address: 11 Byron St., ees P.O.Box 54800, Limassol 3727, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curium Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Limassol, the Curium Palace Hotel is perfectly placed near the fashionable shopping district but only a stroll away from the city’s most prominent beach. With award-winning service, delectable food and high-tech business facilities, this boutique hotel is a sumptuous retreat for either the business traveler – or a luxurious though affordable indulgence to spoil oneself. This historical landmark hotel is a key part of the island’s history. Stars, socialites and the crowned heads of the world have enjoyed this 4 star luxury hotel for over 60 years. The Curium Palace Hotel was designed by Gunsberg, the world-famous Austrian architect, with perfection. The recent refurbishment offers the ideal combination of old world elegance and contemporary style emphasized in its beautifully spacious common grounds and designer rooms. With simple words, the Curium Palace Hotel offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Curium Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curium Palace Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing