We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it is very clean”
Review of Caravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caravel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not bad for a 2 star hotel.
Outdated but very clean.
It is the first time I stay in a hotel without a TV in my room during the last 20 or more years.
There was no fridge in the room, something more or less standard in the Mediterranean. Fridges were available at extra cost, but they had ran out.
There was only one 3-person elevator in operation for 100 rooms in 5 floors.
If possible, avoid breakfast and to Drops cafe (200 m. east, on the beach) or to the bakery 500 meters east. Same with dinner: go to Aristos and Kiki, next to the bakery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PavlosGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed there 2 weeks ago for 5 days. The rooms have all been re-painted, new carpets, new water mixers at the bathtubs, the maids are all doing excellent job when it comes to cleaning. Breakfast not very reach but it's ok for a 2 star hotel. The only thing I would suggest to the management is ti do something regarding the volume of the music coming from the roof club!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angelotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay this will do just fine if you don't mind compromising your immune system and starving to death. This is the filthiest hotel with the worst service I have ever been to. I do not recommend this to anyone. 'Terrible' is just an understatement when rating the hotel and overall experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Any other hotel instead of this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Paul M,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine!

We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was looking for a cheap bed for a couple of nights in the Four Seasons - Poseidonia area. This hotel I knew quite well twenty years ago but I had seen worrying reports. Decided that if the room was dirty as others had described then I would move out straightaway and just pay more.
Receptionist was very welcoming and I was told my room was on the 3rd floor. I had a twin room for sole occupancy and the view from the balcony was towards Limassol and I could see the sea. The weather was very bad during these two days so I didn't venture on to the balcony.

The bed linen was clean as were the plentyful supply of towels. The water in the shower and basin was very hot.

Two things were disappointing - one because there were not many people in the hotel after the bank holiday the bar was closed. The other problem was breakfast when the first morning it was toast and hard boiled egg with baked beans and hot drinks from a machine. This sounds fine but the machine failed to produce a drinkable cup of drink.

For a bill of £12 a night I cannot complain. I would not stay here for a longer stay. I much prefer the Navarria but that was closed this winter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cypriotpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear customer,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine! We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Nice, clean and safe kindergarden and pool
Clean rooms with sea view
Nice girls in the reception
Fast elevator
Condoms in the bin

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I was unfortunate enough to spend christmas at this hotel, and I think I can say without fear of argument that it is probably the dirtiest, grubbiest hotel that I have ever stayed in. I saw a vacuum cleaner once during my stay, but it never found its way to either my room or the public areas. I don't feel that I want to write a "war and peace" about this hotel, but in all the times that I have visited Cyprus (approx the last 12 years) and stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels I have never had such a depressing holiday. There was only about a dozen people in the hotel the whole time that I was there, and only 2 of us on half board. Dinner was shipped in from another establishment, and was unrecognisable and either luke warm or cold. We gave up midway and ate out for the rest of our time there. The bathrooms were unbelievable, and indescribable. I didn't even have any enamel on my bath. The staff try very hard, but are not being given the tools to work with, consequently it is unfair to complain to them to much. If the rates are too cheap then they need to renegotiate with the holiday companies, and clean their act up. Sorry, but I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freddieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear customers,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine!

We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

On the 14th of October I stayed at the Caravel Hotel, in Limassol, Cyprus with three other friends of mine, . Because it was out of season, they gave us a good price. 25 Euros for a single room and 36 Euros for a double room. But what I can say for sure is I will never stay there again. When we arrived at the hotel, we were quite disturbed by the heavy smell of the hotel. It was the smell of dampness. Then we entered our rooms and it was again a big disappointment for all of us,. That heavy smell was in the rooms as well. Besides the smell, the washbasin was broken and the white bath had turned into grey. We thought the hotel definitely had to be closed down and renovated. It must be forbidden to accept quests under those conditions. The breakfast was also very poor.
The only good thing about the hotel is the beach opposite. It is fantastic.
You can spend the whole day there as we did; eat, drink, swim, play, walk and watch the sunset. A very relaxing beach despite the disappointment at the hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear customers,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine!

We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
5.6 mi away
Pefkos Hotel
Pefkos Hotel
#29 of 56 in Limassol
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#22 of 56 in Limassol
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#31 of 56 in Limassol
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pigeon Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#30 of 56 in Limassol
326 reviews
3.7 mi away
Curium Palace Hotel
Curium Palace Hotel
#25 of 56 in Limassol
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel

Address: Amathus Avenue, Prousis Str. Amathous | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3608, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range: $69 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravel Hotel is under new Management. Come and visit our new fully renovated pool bar and pool area. The Caravel Hotel has become a favorite with its regular guests which is hardly surprising, it is the ideal setting for so many different holidays enjoyed by so many different people. It's enviable location, warm personal service and relaxed atmosphere have earned the hotel an excellent reputation within the local hotel community. This superior establishment offers a standard of value far exceeding it's cost. Featuring a garden, The Caravel Hotel in Limassol provides guests with a relaxed setting while visiting Limassol. This modern hotel is situated in Agios Tychonas Touristic Area. To make sure your day gets off to a great start, a buffet breakfast is offered daily at the Caravel Hotel Limassol's restaurant. Travellers wanting to socialise can do so in the hotel's bar, situated on-site. This affordable hotel is not far from public transport so you can get to Limassol with little effort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing