We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for Cyprus but way below UAE standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of my recovery post surgery. It was an all inclusive deal which means 3 meals a day. The food was generally good with a broad menu.

The property itself is considered a 5 star but would only get 3 if it was located in Dubai. The rooms are dated yet fairly comfortable. It is in drastic need of renovation. Th staff are fairly friendly and once they recognise you they always greet you with courtesy and a smile.

It is located right on the beach in a quiet part of Limassol but is only a taxi fare away from most places.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyYac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, Guest Relations Manager at Mediterranean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We greatly appreciate your compliments on quality and variety of food as well as friendliness and courtesy of our staff. We were also very pleased to learn that you found our rooms comfortable and location of Mediterranean Beach Hotel very convenient.

We always welcome guest’s feedback as it assists us greatly in evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities, therefore all comments are being thoroughly looked into. We are sorry if your experience in some ways did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to clarify some of your comments.

This particular property is an officially designated 4 star hotel, recently renovated and one of the island’s leading hotels in its category. It enjoys extremely high annual occupancy and is generally accepted as good value for money. Our vision is to exceed Guest’s expectation and that is why most of our guest and Tripadvisor reviewers consider our standards of services and facilities not only good enough but exceeding the standards of 4 star hotels. In view of these facts we find your rating of our hotel as “average” significantly understated.

Dining options offered for our guests are: BB, HB and FB with a variety of 5 restaurants to choose from, namely Ristorante Bacco (Italian cuisine, Fine Dining), Shumi Sushi Bar (Japanese), Celeste (Theme Buffet Nights), Nautica Bistro (Buffet Lunch, fresh fish and sea food), Aquaria Restaurant (Breakfast).

We sincerely hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you back to Mediterranean Beach Hotel in not too distant future and an opportunity to change your initial impression of our property.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just a fantastic place to stay, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff, the staff are organised and very, very helpful. The hotel itself is of very high standard, and is right on the beach and is also very accessible to the main part of Limassol,either via taxi or bus, the bus is so easy to get around just $1euro for a one way trip and is right at the front of the hotel. The highlight for us was the tuesday night buffet , the food is just beautiful and they finish it off with fireworks over the beach. We stayed in a coastal rd room which to our surprise was not noisy at all, the rooms are clean very well and are well maintained, our room had a problem with the tap pressure, but it was very minor..

Personally we would like to thank Costa the Porter/Concierge who always had time for a smile and a hello, real nice guy, we will surely be back but next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLJORJOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is my 12th visit and yet again I experienced the full friendliness of this hotel. First impressions are very important and the marble foyer is a great start..The staff are excellent and treat you like an old friend. My room was not ready but I was put in a beautiful suite for the night. A lovely treat. The breakfast choice is excellent and there is plenty of it. I was on a bed and breakfast basis so cannot comment on the other restaurants but just outside there are several great eateries. My particular favourite is the family run Nama restaurant opposite the four seasons. The entire hotel, rooms, public areas, pool area and gardens are well maintained and very clean indeed. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and many have been there for years. One recommendation I would have is that ice machines were placed on every floor and that wi fi could be provided free of charge. I believe the hotel is closing this winter for several months for a refurbishment which I can't wait to see. I will definitely be going back in 2013.

Room Tip: pool and sea view rooms are the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What A FANTASTIC HOTEL OUR 3RD VISIT OVER THE YEARS - the staff are excellent happy to help with anything and cannot fault the wide and delicious variety of food- the room was excellent sea view-lovely comfortable sun loungers - rooms cleaned to perfection hard to fault- cant wait to return -A VERY RELAXING QUALITY HOTEL FROM START TO FINISH-Franx across the road was great -Old Toombs pub was brilliant our only regret was that we couldnt stay longer LOVE CYPRUS

Room Tip: sea and pool view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazylady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have had such a fantastic holiday in Cyprus, was a shame to come away :-( The Mediterranean Beach is such a lovely hotel, highly recommended! Very clean, food is amazing and staff very friendly! We spent most days by the pool or out shopping in St. Andrews Street. The room was a standard room but very spacious and overlooked the local tavernas and shops. In the evening between 18:00-19:00 they have happy hour at The Blue Bar,half price cocktails although I stuck to cokes, we were always the first ones there ;-) staff were very friendly, especially Cyprian and Mirian :-D will miss you guys! Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

MEDITERRANEAN

Another fantastic experience at The Med Beach and, if anything, even better than the previous year. Very well organised during their busiest period, whilst under pressure from some extremely demanding customers, the staff at this hotel should be commended for their performance.

Reading some of the hotel's other reviews on Trip Advisor can be very misleading as most of the complaints made are only relevant to hotels with a higher rating. Whenever anyone asks me about the Mediterranean I always reply with the same comment; it's a 4 star hotel with 5 star customer service and facilities.

No tea and coffee in the rooms? Buy a travel kettle from Amazon for £8... No free Internet access? Yes, a bit of a let-down but not a deal breaker for holidaymakers. Business customers probably should feel a little aggrieved... Carpets in the rooms outdated/not suited to the climate? Certainly not to the point that it actually bothered me. With kids running about, it's certainly a lot safer than hard floors... Rooms too small for bigger people? I'm pretty average size so I can't really comment there but overall, I found the room size comparable with other 4 star rated places. Restaurants overpriced and poor quality? Yes, Cyprus is expensive due to the Euro crisis and a recent increase in their VAT but don't knock the quality of what they do. Bacco serves amazing Italian cuisine, the Suchi was super fresh and lunch and breakfast buffets were equal to any other hotel of its rating. If we were to be REALLY picky, It would be to say that the linguine served with our lobster was overcooked.

I cannot stress enough the fantastic service we received.
A special mention to Marian, a friendly, professional, and knowledgable individual.
Daniel - great frappes, and the lovely Yioulla at reception for arranging a late check out for us although the hotel was fully booked.

We were also very fortunate to be given the opportunity to stay at The Elysium Hotel in Paphos courtesy of a special promotion by The Med. Thank you Alexandra!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed September 2012. We had two adjoining rooms on the 6th floor facing the coast road which, despite being a dual carriageway, was never particularly busy and didn’t cause a significant noise problem. The hotel is located at the western end of Limmasol, about 10km from the town centre and close to the motorway.

The rooms were a reasonable size, clean and housekeeping services were very good. A minor gripe was than while complimentary shampoo was provided and fully restocked daily, no conditioner or body lotion was offered.

Breakfast was buffet style but the choice was very good and varied slightly day to day and staff were polite and efficient.

The hotel pools were clean and there was never a shortage of sun loungers. The sandy beach was also clean with plenty of sun loungers and space: the beach is located between two rock piers and is shared with the adjacent Four Seasons hotel. A range of watersports facilities are operated from the other side of the western pier.

On first glance the hotel car park seems rather small – not helped by the people trying to park their cars across as many bays as possible – but, in fact there is a ramp behind the taxi kiosk to a larger lower level car park with ample space.

We didn’t use the hotel for meals other than breakfast so cannot comment on catering. We ate at a variety of the restaurants along the road opposite the hotel – there is a reasonable selection just down the road beyond the clearly signed Pizza Hut. All of the local restaurants offer free Wi-Fi (my second gripe would be that the hotel didn’t provide this).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,643 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#12 of 56 in Limassol
1,495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Beach Hotel

Address: 71 Amathus Avenue | Agios Tychonas Community, Limassol 4533, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limassol
#5 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#6 Business Hotel in Limassol
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: $122 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Mediterranean Beach Hotel, a superior 4-star resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Limassol. The Hotel's unique location provides all the advantages, including spectacular views of the island's southern coastline. Recently renovated extensively, the Mediterranean Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. Hues of blue and white dominate the colour scheme, which is enhanced with natural wood and marble features.The hotel consists of 292 rooms and suites, which include Deluxe Inland or Sea View Rooms, Family Rooms with Inland, Pool or Sea View, Deluxe Family Rooms with Sea View, Superior Pool & Sea View Rooms (Adults Only), Luxury Studios Pool & Sea View (Adults Only), Areti Suite and the Aura Presidential Suite.All rooms and suites include an en-suite bathroom, a balcony or terrace, air-conditioning, central heating, direct dial telephone, LCD televisions with satellite channels, mini-bar, safe deposit box and a hair dryer. Additionally, Luxury Studios and Superior Rooms have Tea & Coffee making facilities and a trouser press. Luxury Studios, also have an I-pod docking stations with clock, alarm and radio.Free Wi-Fi internet is available in our lobbies and indoor bars and in all guest rooms at a cost. For all guests staying in the adults only, Superior Rooms and Luxury Studios, as well as the suites, the Wi-Fi service is FREE throughout the hotel.The property's extensive restaurant and bar selection comprises of the Nautica Bistro (May-Oct), the Celeste Restaurant (Nov-Apr) & Terrace (May-Oct), Ristorante Bacco, Shumi Sushi Bar and the Aquaria Restaurant. The bar selection includes Ouzeri Tis Myrtos (May-Oct), the Clouds Lounge Bar, the Blue Bar and the Lagoon Pool Bar (May-Oct).If relaxation is on the agenda, a visit to the Aquum Health Spa with a wide choice of treatments/programmes, using Babor products, is a must. There is an outdoor split-level outdoor pool, an indoor pool (heated in winter) and a children's splash pool. Other facilities include, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam-Bath, an aerobics/pilates studio, a fully equipped gym, one floodlit tennis court, table tennis & pool tables and an electronic games room. There are also a Water Sports and a Padi Diving Centre. For our young friends, there is the Angel's Kids Club (4-12 years) operating May-October, as well as Christmas, New Year's and Easter periods. Other children's facilities include a separate outdoor swimming pool, partly shaded to protect them from the sun, a playground, video games arcade and baby sitting on demand (additional cost).There are 4 championship standard golf courses, within a 35 minute drive from the hotel. Larnaca, as well as Paphos International Airports are just a 40 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Beach
Mediterranean Beach Limassol
Mediterranean Beach Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing