We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely be returning”
Review of Kapetanios Odyssia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kapetanios Odyssia
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a week at the Kanika Pantheon in Limassol our second visit.
Hotel and the pools were spotless, towels changed daily constant hot water. All staff were so helpful. Didnt eat in as we found Big Ben restaurant just along the sea front vast menu
We are returning next year with the family

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Kanika Pantheon Hotel, Limassol, Cyprus. September 2012

This is the third year we have holidayed at this lovely hotel and each time the standard of care has never failed us. Lots of other people we spoke to were also returning year after year. It is an international hotel so guests could be from anywhere in the world. The food reflects this with different traditional foods most nights. Always something that you could enjoy. Plenty of soup, meat, chicken, turkey, fish, salads, pasta and fruit too. And the cakes yummy! My husband's favourite was the apple crumble - simply delicious.

The accommodation and surroundings are comfortable and the staff caring and professional.
They give 150% total dedication to your needs. That covers management, staff on reception, in bars, dining room, the health suite, reception and the maids and cleaners. They really do care that your holiday is one that you will always remember as carefree, relaxing and enjoyable.

The pools were cleaned daily as were the surroundings and sunbeds. The hotel will provide you with towels to sunbathe with for a small nominal amount. The wifi and computer use was free.

There are nights with entertainment, music and dancing including the dancing with the wine glasses tower. We found it adequate as we went out most nights after dinner. Not having young children I cannot comment about entertainment for them. There were not a lot of children at the hotel at the time.

O'Brien's bar within the hotel caters with food and drink most of the day and night. We had lunch there two or three times and were never disappointed by either the quality or quantity of food served to us.

There are bars and restaurants within easy reach of the hotel. There are plenty of local buses on the promenade if you didn't want to walk to the town. Access to the beach is by crossing a busy road although there is an underpass just a little further up the road from the traffic lights. There is a wine festival in September always worth a visit with wines and food to try and music, dancing, theatre and stalls with tourist gifts for you to buy.

The only blip in the holiday was that I became ill. I have asthma, it was extremely hot and humid and I ended up having an asthma attack and bronchitis, and having to seek help from reception. The assistant manager sat me down and brought oxygen and a mask for me and organised a taxi to get me to the clinic. Other staff talked to me to keep me calm. When my husband came back from the clinic not knowing what to do next the manager told him if he gave him our insurance papers he would call and deal with this for us and this he did for which we are most grateful. My husband was informed that he could keep his room for the duration and everything dealt with to make him feel comfortable and secure while I was in the clinic and eleviate his worries. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

Well done Kanika Pantheon Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in superior room on first floor with huge bed and balcony overlooking the pool. The balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mango419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel had a traditional British atmosphere but furniture a bit old fashioned. It was very clean with a big lobby area and staffs were very friendly and helpful. There were two swimming pools, a gym and a Jacuzzi. There was free WiFi in lobby, 2 computers and 1 printer in an internet room. There was also free WiFi in room but connection was very weak. Room was of standard size but spacious enough. Biggest problem was the noise from neighboring rooms closing their doors as the banging was really loud. Additional hinges should be added to reduce the annoyance. Walls were also a bit thin as noises could be heard in the middle of one night when next door had an argument. Toileteries only consisted of soap, shower gel and shampoo. There were no facial tissues and only one socket in the room for charging batteries.

TV had channels in 3 different languages offering viewing of properties as the hotel group was also a real estate company. TV had 13 other channels in different languages including BBC, Bloomberg, TVS Monde and Al Jazeera Exclusive. Breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice and grapefruit juice on alternate days. For guests who were not on all inclusive basis, they could change to half board basis at only €12 per person per day which was very good value. Original price for dinner buffet at €16.50 was not expensive at all. However, minimum had to be for 3 days. Buffer dinner had a different theme each night and food was very tasty and hot. For the Greek theme buffet, there was folklore performance.

Location of the hotel was just one block away from the coast but the beach there did not look attractive at all. There were several restaurants (including TGIC) along the coast which were not expensive and food was tasty as well. Opposite the hotel was a Minimarket and once you reached the coast line and turned left, you could find a bigger supermarket with some souvenirs on sale. Otherwise, there was a no. 30 bus going to the city center and cost €1 one way.

Room Tip: A earplug might help if your neighboring guests happened to close their doors at the wrong time of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Like so many in Limassol, this hotel is filled with "all-in" groups, so the individual traveller ends up feeling like one of the herd. The room and the bathroom are tired and drab, with mediocre decoration and fittings. The bed was comfortable. For three nights I paid E250, E230 and E85 respectively, and would expect a room-safe for that price. A bottle of drinking water every day would have been a nice detail. The public rooms are so dated, but then so were most of the guests!! The "all-in" buffet for breakfast is dull, unapppetising and poorly presented, as in so many places, but if the emphasis is on "eat as much as you can", I suppose most people go away satisfied. The buffet dinner (not taken by choice) was similarly uninspiring, but thankfully the cabaret was "off". The location is fine if you have a car, since what is available at walking distance is also pretty disappointing.
Reception staff were courteous and helpful. Parking and wi-fi are "all-in" too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We got back from a week's tour based at the Kanika last week. We had a room with a balcony on the sixth floor with a pool view and side views of the sea and the Troodos Mountains. The room was fairly standard but quite comfortable. There was daily maid service.
There are three pools - two adult depth pools and one smaller on for children. The poolside bar is open all day for drinks , snacks and light meals. The staff were friendly and service was always good. We never had any problem finding a poolside table or a sunbed.
The beach was a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel.
The public areas are large, clean and well air-conditioned and the reception staff friendly and helpful.
There are plenty of minimarkets, bars, restaurants in the area around the hotel.
We were on half board - the breakfasts were very good indeed with a good selection of fruit, cereal, continental breakfast items and a hot buffet offering bacon, sausage etc. with boiled, scrambled or fried eggs. The dinners were also buffet style - some nights there was entertainment - beware the audience participation in the Greek evening - great fun and OK to watch but don't get involved!.
The bar is a Cyprus version of an Irish bar - they do sell Guinness but most people stuck to the excellent local Limassol-brewed beer called Keo.
As other contributors have mentioned there are large numbers of Russians in the area but this was not a problem.
In conclusion I have stayed in many hotels much worse than the Kanika and I have no complaints at all about the service we received. I would recommend it!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with family in the Kanikaand had a great time, even if we were outnumbered by Russians!! We had a 7th floor room with a side sea view, although you would not choose this hotel for the views. Our family had a large room on the 1st floor. The rooms were good, clean and comfortable. They did have waterproof covers on the beds that tended to make you sweat. They were cleaned every day and clean towels were no problem. The staff were excellent and maintenance also as when I reported a faulty shaver socket one evening, it was replaced first thing next morning. The food wasnot the widest selection ever but it was varied, hot and self served onto hot plates, unlike some other hotels I could mention. We were half board but the lunch menu was very good and not expensive. Daily Happy Hour was just that, half price drinks not 2 for the price of one.

Room Tip: I would go for the pool side of the hotel as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just back from the Kanika today and can highly recommend it. We travelled with children aged 6 and 9 and my parents in their 70s and we all loved it. Spotless spacious rooms, good powerful showers, hot water all day, very comfortable beds, extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel, delicious food always hot and fresh and varied and not lukewarm recycled leftovers like in some other hotels. Everything is within walking distance or the number 30 bus takes you everywhere. The hotel was full but we never had to fight for sun beds and the pools were lovely. The beach was great, the sea was so calm and the water still shallow a long way out which made it perfect for us. Only 12km from Watermania at Fasouri which is well worth a visit, the best waterpark we've been to, exceptionally well staffed and maintained, if on the expensive side. Thanks to all for a memorable holiday we were sad to leave and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MilenaVincic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.1 mi away
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
#18 of 56 in Limassol
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#17 of 56 in Limassol
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#16 of 56 in Limassol
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#15 of 56 in Limassol
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
710 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Odyssia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Odyssia

Address: Enaerios Complex-Seafront Avenue, Limassol 3300, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Limassol
#11 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: $66 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Odyssia 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011, Kapetanios Odyssia is a 3 stars superior hotel and is conveniently located in one of the most privileged areas of Limassol in the center only 100 meters from the beach, it offers an extensive variety of facilities and it is renowned for its excellent service, friendly atmosphere and the good food. The surrounding area is well known as Olympus promenade, which has been recently redeveloped by the local authorities to a very exclusive area with walkways, wooden decks bike lanes, public gardens and sitting arrangements overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Room Facilities: - Side sea view or pool view, electronic Key System, heating or cooling (depending on season), direct dial telephone, satellite and pay TV, wifi, minibar*, bathroom with bathtub or shower, hairdryer, safe deposit box *(reception area), laundry service. Facilities: Swimming pool and children's pool, two restaurants, bar and pool bar. Daily activities and evening entertainment are also organised. Health club : Gym, sauna*, Jacuzzi*, aromatherapy massage*, beauty salon*. (* = Payable locally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kapetanios Odyssia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanika Pantheon Limassol
Hotel Kanika Pantheon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing