We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at St. Raphael Resort, Limassol, Cyprus October 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Raphael Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Raphael Resort
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday at St. Raphael Resort, Limassol, Cyprus October 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent Hotel choice. Was reluctant to go to this one at first as it wasn't what I had booked, it was outside Limassol and, as I have mobility problems I thought it would be a problem for me to get around. As it turned out this was no problem at all as there is a regular bus service going to the Old Town and Larnaca and taxis readily available. Also car hire at a very reasonable cost. I took my own electric mobility scooter that I could easily ride round the Hotel complex. I could ride it right down to the beach without any problems. There were steps but it had lifts as an alternative all over the complex for wheelchairs, pushchairs and people with less mobility. We couldn't fault the staff and service in the Hotel. The staff were very friendly and there was an excellent variety of food. It was very clean everywhere. For a busy Hotel it was run very smoothly and efficiently with few problems that they couldn't sort immediately.
The entertainment was limited but we expected this at this time of the year. Drinks and food were quite expensive in the Hotel if you are not fully inclusive.

Room Tip: If you are disabled ask for a room near the lifts as they are up one end
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Janis40,
Thank you so much for finding the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for your thorough review. We are so happy that you chose St Raphael Resort, enjoyed your stay here and that we could be of service to you. We do hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Sending you our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    346
    131
    58
    24
See reviews for
561
406
35
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

STAFF:
went on holday for the week 7 > 14th November 2012, very warm welcome from the "wee guy with the dark hair that took our bags" and 1st class service from ALL the staff. Main reception were excellent at answering any queries we had about finding services in Limassol (needed a pharmacy, woman on reception got us car hire deal of 4 days for 3, directions to local attractions etc, etc).

no language barrier problems as all the staff's English was really good, as is, over most of the island..

ROOM:
room was excellent, well presented and cleaner did a great job of tidying it on a daily basis and had no problem removing all our "over the top" empty beer tins, ashtrays etc, etc

nice mini bar fully stocked for your arrival but we soon found a nice supermarket over the road which sold 6/8 packs of the same local lager (KIO) so we never used it ;

air conditioning was excellent / quiet and we had great view of the marina / sea. got the sun all day and the sunset was fantastic viewing from the room on the west facing wing.

BEACH/POOLS:
pools looked ok but i can't swin so never used them and the private resort beach was exceptionally clean. also noticed they had a cleaner on the resort beach on a daily basis in the evening and there was plenty bins at various locations to clean up at the back of us!

SPA:
didn't use the spa facilities but the staff were very friendly when we went down to collect our beach towels (you get tokens to get towels & return towels to get tokens back)

FOOD:
we only went half board as we were out all over the island in the car all day so there was no point having to get lunch every day as breakfast & dinner was "eat as much as you like buffet" with a pretty good selection on offer every day. never ill once which is good for the outskirts of Asia ;;

OVERALL:
first time i've been 5 star but cannot fault anything about the entire experience. would i return if back in Cyprus? definately! only problem i have is the world is too big a place to go anywhere twice so i think we'll be in another country or continent next year but if you haven't been and want a quality holiday, choose St Raphael Resort.

i'd also like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay really enjoyable..

Bar & Shona (Duncan / Room 330)

Room Tip: go for a west (towards Limassol) facing wing / room. you get sun all afternoon & a spectacular s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Barry and Shona Duncan,
Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review and share your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as we always aim to please and offer the best value for money and perfect experience possible. If you do every decide to visit the 'same place twice' and return to Cyprus, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked through Hays, our Oct half term break was perfect. Hotel amazing, inland view room perfect as kids bunk beds separated from main room with sliding door and faced North which is perfect for morning lie-ins. Food plentiful and varied, and of v v high quality, this includes the buffet lunch on the beach. Only surprise was that Cyprus coffee (a favourite for us being from N London) was not on the all-inclusive list! So cheap we indulged anyway.! The managed beach was our home for the week, med was warm, beach safe, water calm and shallow - our six year old thrived on being able to swim a long way out on her own. A neat touch was the inclusion of pedalos and kayaks in the all-inc deal - our 2 year old has fallen in love with the sea and boats as a result of daily trips. Inclusive treats like the evening bar (a mean Singapore Sling), afternoon tea and cakes, and of course the mandatory choc ices for the kids all made our half term an enjoyable week. Cypriot Beer & Wine available and free every day - and very nice it was too. Kids disco was fun, the Russian were beautifully behaved and spoke more English than we could speak Russian obviously!

Room Tip: Make sure you know what is important to you, and choose appropriately - our Hays advisor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OMF1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your honest and kind review. We are so happy that we could be of service to you and that the whole family enjoyed their stay with us. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Executive Inland View room and our beach so much. The sea water is usually perfect in November time and our blue flag beach is wonderful for children as it is shallow for quite a way. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you again for choosing St Raphael Resort. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a FANTASTIC hotel, from the moment we arrived till leaving, all the staff were friendly and ready to help with anything, we also had our wedding there which was the best day of our lifes they even let us jump in the pool and turned the slide on for us to go down for our wedding pictures! Anita our wedding planner from Olympic holidays was absolutly brilliant and got us an absolutly fantastic photographer, what a lovely lady! she did everything for us all the way through the wedding, all the staff were amazing on the day and made us feel very special espesially Christiana who helped with our wedding too.
This was the best holiday we have ever had and it was very sad to leave, all the waiters and waitresses were so kind to us and our children and were always smiling, Michael (one of the waiters) is a great guy and always had time for a quick chat to see how our holiday was going.
The food was absolutly amazing espesially the lamb and all the sweet treats could not fault a thing, the rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless.
The pool was great and all the entertainment staff were brilliant espesially Victor!
ST Raphael`s beach was gorgeous very clean plenty of sunloungers and me and the family had a great time on the pedalo`s and enjoyed swimming in the sea which was lovely and warm! the weather was fantastic during our stay too, the only problem i had was that some of the russian guests were incredibly rude even towards our children, and there was a couple of old women who obviously didnt like children from the dirty looks they gave to my 2year old! and refused to sit next to us at lunch (as they got seated near us) but that didnt spoil our holiday! why on earth dont people LIKE THAT go to an ALL ADULT RESORT instead of complaining of young children having a great time on their holidays i just cannot understand that!
We will definatly be going back as it was excellent and my family and i had an AMAZING time!!!!!!
And out of the 3 party`s that came they are also looking to book here again too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 444suzy2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer, We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for letting us be of service to you, both for your wedding day and holiday. We are so happy that you had such a good holiday - always our aim - and we will look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to our resort very soon. Our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went between 26-28 October 2012 for a weekend. We had booked online the twin inland view room based on the photo on the webside which featured a big room with bunk beds. When we arrived we were told by the reception clerk that the bunk beds are only in the executive rooms which didn't really made any sense to us (in the hotel's webside the executive room doesnt feature bunk beds). We explained the situation, waited 5 min & we were allocated to the room we wanted. The empoyee who took us to the rooms and helped with the luggages explained everything we needed to know (restaurants, meal times,location of spa, pool, gardens, what elevator to take, etc). The room was in the renovated wing, it was big, sunny, laminated floors, clean bathroom nice beds for the kids with door for privacy which hides inside the wall when you don't need it. We booked all inclusive and it was so worth it. The breakfast had everything and the service was flawless. The staff were friendly, helpfull, caring and professional. Lunch and dinner were amazing! ; great variety, excellent quality, master cheff cooking. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant. The kids buffet and deserts were in different tables. Again staff were great. The garden and the outside pools were very nice. The kids enjoyed the waterslide. At the waterslide there was a life guard all the time. The gardens end up to the beach with the hotels tavern (seashells) on the side. The sea is shallow at first and the water temperature was pretty warm for end October. The kids club with an indoor playground is really good, they play various games wih the ball, and occupy the children with painting, drawing, etc. My kids loved Robin the playground kitten.
All inclusive had also after-breakfast, and afternoon snacks, deserts, drinks and many more which appeared with the all-inclusive symbol in the menu. Overall, great quality and excellent service. We will certainly visit the hotel next summer. Special thanks to the chefs and the breakfast supervisor and breakfast staff for their excellent service and manner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvgeniaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear EvgeniaC,
It is so lovely to receive a review from a local, as we do have many Cypriots visiting our hotel and yet so few share their experience with others on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for choosing St Raphael Resort. Just to clarify to other readers, our Standard inland view rooms, Executive Inland View rooms and Executive Marina View rooms all have bunk beds for children sharing the room. The difference is that in the Executive wing, the bunk beds can be separated from the main bedroom by a sliding door whereas in the standard inland view family rooms the bunk beds are inside the same large room. I thank you for writing about the confusion upon check in as there should not have been this at all and will check what happened. It is possible that our standard inland family rooms were sold out (as they can accommodate families of up to 5 people and hence are very popular) and we upgraded you to the executive wing. In any case, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be of service to you in the very near future. In the meantime, we wish you and your family all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel - thought as we drink Cypriat beer and wine when we are in Cyprus we would go all inclusive. Unfortunate neither of them on the hotel menus at all, in fact very little on the wine list.
Reception very helpful and we enjoyed our welcome drink.

Rooms nice and clean over looking the marina and the sea as requested.

Big problem was the fact that the hotel had about 90% Russia clientele. Very difficult to communicate with they don't even look at you. Made for a very lonely holiday we like to talk to other guests. I have never been in a hotel with so many baby buggies around all of the time. Saying that there was enough seating around the pools and on the beach that it was not difficult to get one.

Food far too much and very similar although meant to be themed nights, even the pool bar at lunch had hot food - buffet style. We would have died for a toasted sandwich or something simple.
Restaurant at the Marina was very good and we got a discount on our bill, again taken over by a Russian party and we had not option but be outside.

On the whole we did not enjoy our all inclusive holiday it was not for us and will not choose Limissol again. Told by locals it has now become Little Russia, hundred of houses being built in the old town and a new marina all Russian. Not well accepted by local either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear May F,
Thank you for sharing your experience although we were so sorry to read that your experience was tainted by other clientele. I'm afraid that you will find in most holiday destinations all over the world, let alone Cyprus, that many Russians are now frequenting all of the resorts. I am also surprised that you thought we did not include local beer or wine in our All Inclusive package. This is certainly not the case. We serve both Leon and Keo as part of the All Inclusive and also serve red, white and rose wine produced in Cyprus at all of our restaurants and bars. We do also offer Italian wine options in the restaurants as part of the package in-case someone prefers. We also do serve sandwiches are part of the All Inclusive as snacks in the afternoon at the Octagon, plus have a selection of breads, cheese, ham, etc in all our main restaurants for lunch and dinner. Saying this, all inclusive packages are not for everyone, and we do also sell bed and breakfast or half board basis on our website. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back and in the meantime wish you all the very best. Our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Any 5 star hotel is ultimately defined not by the gold taps but by the attitude of the management and staff - and on this test the St Raphael deserves its 5 star rating. Everyone seems to care about the quality and service levels and it shows.

The infrastructure could do with a little work particularly around the main pool area - luckily we used the alternative pool area outside the exec wing which was great.

The mix of package travellers and independent/direct bookings gives a really mixed tone around the place and there is little sense of exclusivity if that matters to you.

The all-inculsive deal offers great value but i think that it could do with one more alternative eating place in the evening - 10 days even with a quality, and varied buffet was a little too much with only one, on-site alternative....

All of that said - we'd return and i suppose that this is the ultimate test of how we rated it....

Room Tip: There are two wings to this hotel, the origonal main building from 1970's and the newer executiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Mark0e,
Many thanks for your honest review - I enjoyed reading it and thank you for your frank comments. We are delighted that you would return and hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future. Just to clarify, the main building was opened as Sheraton Limassol back in 1987 and has since has had millions and millions of euros spent on it, including re-tiling and completely renovating the original pool area where the Amphibion Bar is. We do offer discounts at the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for alternative dining off site which is not part of the All Inclusive and guests are welcome to dine in the Phoenician more than once. Saying this, we have noted all your comments and sincerely thank you for them. We look forward to your return and send you our warmest wishes from still sunny Cyprus,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Raphael Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Raphael Resort

Property: St Raphael Resort
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 502 | P.O.Box 51064, Pyrgos, Limassol 4520, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Limassol
#10 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#10 Business Hotel in Limassol
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Raphael Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Raphael Resort, Cyprus' leading all inclusive resort, offering it's unique Ultra All Inclusive package, as well as other terms of stay, made to suit each individual requirement whether for a holiday, wedding, business trip or group event.LocationLocated on the South Coast of Cyprus on the outskirts of Limassol, on one of the largest blue flag accredited sandy beaches, the St. Raphael combines all the advantages of a carefully chosen, tranquil location: the calm sea at our doorstep and the colourful liveliness of Limassol just a few miles away.Accommodation272 rooms and suites. 90% of our rooms have magnificient views over the Mediterranean Sea with a balcony. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safety deposit boxes, colour plasma 26 inch tv, radio, direct dial telephone, internet access, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. To add to the luxurious tone 6 Admiral Suites with a private Jacuzzi are also available.RestaurantsThere are six excellent choices of restaurants to suit all moods and occasions, including our recently built Sea Shells Beach Tavern on St Raphael Beach and the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for exquisite fine dining experiences by the St Raphael Marina.BarsThree magnificent bars are available in the resort. These include the Captain's Bar and Terrace with breathtaking views over the Mediterranean Sea and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your St Raphael Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Raphael Hotel Limassol
St Raphael Limassol
St Raphael Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing