We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite up to it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Raphael Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Raphael Resort
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not quite up to it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

Our holiday at the St Raphael was billed as "Ultra AI" 5*. It is a lovely hotel in beautiful grounds and has very good staff. The room was more than adequate in size and the furniture is reasonable but not what I expect of 5*. The major disappointment came at dinner in the main restaurant. A staff member should greet the guest and show them to a table. The sign at the entrance stated "please wait to be seated". Unfortunately many of the Russian guests did not think it applied to them and they could be seen getting there buffet style meal before finding a seat. Perhaps this is why the staff seemed not to care where they placed people. There were rows of tables for 2 with only 5cm between them that made them look like a works canteen at xmas (there were table cloths on). The food was not very inspirational and bore no resemblance to the stated themed fare. There was a different theme each evening and the menu did change but it was never what we expected. I was suprised at the lack of fish dishes,the ones being served were mainly from frozen as were all of the vegatables. We did not try the other 2 restaurants but these were available under AI at no extra cost but must be booked before 2pm. We had a look around the Italian restaurant and found it to be buffet style with much the same food as in the main restaurant. The Lebonese restaurant was also buffet style. Breakfast and lunch were ok. The 2 pools are very good and no shortage of sunbeds. The beach is not private but has su beds for hotel guests. The Russians seem to prefer the beach and there was a shortage of beds here. The hotel is 15Km east of Limassol and there is very little in the way of entertainment in or around it. The hotel put on some entertainment for about 1 hour each evening. We had a car, so got around the island ok. There seemed to be plenty of public transport, buses and taxis but I don't know the cost. All in all, we did not think the holiday was good value for money and will not be booking here again. We would recomend Cyprus though. The people are very friendly and there is plenty to see and do. We will be going back soon, probably to Larnaca, as we didn't get there this time. A word of advise would be to not travel to or from Paphos airport on Wednesdays. The locals call it manic Wednesday. There are too many flights going out in too short a time, all of them to Britain. We queued for almost 2hours to get through the security checks. All flights were delayed by at least 30 minutes because of this. See my photo's of the queue.

  • Liked — Lovely pools
  • Disliked — Not up to 5* standard
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ric&lain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    347
    131
    58
    24
See reviews for
561
407
35
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

just had a fantastic all inclusive holiday.first time in an all inclusive and was very impressed with the quality and choice of food.my three children 7 5 2 loved the chocolate fountain and always found something they liked at the buffet . rooms were clean large and well equipped.pools were very clean and always plenty of beds and clean towels. two good play parks. evening entertainment ok for adults but the kids enjoyed it.lovely beach but no breeze.need a car as 3 miles out of town.have stayed at the 5 star four seasons last year and in comparison st. rapheal is a good 4 star.staff fantastic and very friendly .would stay here again. p.s. try to ignore the rude Russians. 3 days after our return england beat Russia 3-0 in the football.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamWonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

This was our second stay at this hotel as we were also here in Sept. 2006.Our first stay was for two weeks and to be honest we said that we wouldn't return again but we had a very last-minute deal with an incredibly cheap flight and decided to return because we knew that the hotel was clean and the executive rooms were lovely. We have visited Cyprus a couple of times previously and hired cars and seen all of the sights so this was just a chance to get away from the awful weather in England and we knew that Cyprus could be relied upon to provide wall to wall sunshine ! - and it did !! The executive room was lovely again. Wooden floors and very efficient air con. Mini bar in the room but we didn't use it as we took drinks back to the room from the bar (we were all-inclusive). Bottled water was left in the room and there were also tea and coffee making facilities.
We also returned because we knew that we could relax by the pool or on the beach here without the hassle of fighting for sun-beds. In the event, we spent every day on the beach. There is a beach bar where you can also get lunch. Not brilliant food here but very convenient and handy for bottles of water or soft drinks throughout the day (alcoholic ones as well if you are so inclined!)
The pool areas don't seem to get cleaned very well and the tiles around the swim-up bar need a good scrub.
Excellent hotel for people-watching as SO MANY Russians with their quirky ways !!
Breakfast and lunch in the Octagon restaurant OK - nothing special really but VERY disappointing food in the Palladium restaurant in the evening. They had got the self-service arrangement improved this year - a little more room - but the food was pretty dire. Good desserts though and lots of yummy cheeses. Good service here as well.
The service in the Captains Bar was awful. You had to wait an age to get served even when you might be the only people in there ! Very bad. The air-con abysmal in there too - almost like they didn't want to encourage you to stay ! The spirits were local and poor quality but cocktails good.
Reception staff very helpful and friendly.
All in all we enjoyed our stay because we got exactly what we expected and it wasn't our main or only holiday of the year. Don't think we would have been quite so happy if it had been - mainly because of the awful food. It definitely is not a five star hotel as advertised - probably about a three and a half to four star. Nevertheless, wouldn't rule out visiting again if we could get the incredible bargain price next year (booked flights, hotel and taxi transfer independently on-line). About 45 minutes in taxi from Paphos airport. I'm sure that if it is your first visit then you will enjoy it. Hire a car and go out and see the sights - don't miss the Troodos mountains - fabulous. Nicosia good for shopping as well and still interesting to go and look over the wall at the Turkish side !!

  • Liked — situation on the beach
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank totallytravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

My family and I have just returned from this holiday (2 adults 2 children 13 and 8) resort and have had a great 2 weeks. The hotel is very clean and tidy and is constantly being maintained. We stayed in a family room which was of a good size however the air conditioning could have been better this was the case throughtout the hotel. The food was good but became very repetative and a pleasant change was to eat in the Sailors Rest or a place called 'Chesters' just up the road which was fantastic served great steaks. The main restaurant was far too hot to eat in as there was only one air conditioning unit at times it became unbareable to eat. The all inclusive was great and served named brand produce my kids enjoyed the ice creams and milkshakes. They also enjoyed the chocolate fountain of a lunch time. The best place to eat for lunch was definately at the splash bar it was cool and still had a good choice of dishes. The pool in the exequitive area has a slide but bear in mind that this pool is a lot deeper throughout for younger children and can become very busy. The kids club staff where fantastic and had a varied program set out twice a day thanks go to 'Lucy' 'Hannah' 'Sylvia' and 'Martin'. The evening entertainment was a bit poor though there was a kids disco at 8.45 for 1 hour and then a 1 hour performance from dance groups the only show that was worth watching was the African dancers. There is no really area to sit and watch the shows you sit on cushions in the amphitheatre and drinks are served from a cool box. By going to the shows meant you would loose your outdoor sitting area at the captains bar which then meant you could only sit inside which was excessively hot. My family and I often split into 2 groups in order to keep our outdoor table so that my daughter could still go to the disco. Overall very good hotel but let down by air con.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank evansfamilyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

I have just returned with my husband and 6 year old son from the St Raphael Resort. We were looking for a relaxing break in the sun and were not disappointed. Following other reviews we stayed all inclusive in the Executive Wing. Our room was modern spotlessley clean with a large terrace overlooking the pool and marina as do all the executive rooms. Each terrace had a table and 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers so we could relax in the sunshine on the terrace whilst our son cooled off watching a film or playing the play station.

There was a sliding door which partitioned off the main bedroom from a bunk bed in the entrance to the room. The room was fully airconditioned with a mini bar and flat screen tv although we did not use the mini bar as we preferred to bring a drink to the room in the evening as we were staying all inclusive.

The staff were without exception friendly polite and helpful. We particularly found Sergei in the Splash Bar and the staff in The Captains Bar and all of the restaurants to be attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. We did not eat in the Italian Restaurant following comments that the choice was limited. We ate in the Palladium Restaurant which was Buffet service but with a wide selection of salads and hot foods and desserts. The food was delicious and we never had one poor meal during our stay. Breakfat was also buffet style.

We particularly enjoyed lunch at the Splash Bar, There was the usual chips and pizza etc for the children, but a lovely salad bar and they also served hot food incluing roasted vegetables (delicious) and hot fish and meats. There was definitely something to suit all tastes.

Being all inclusive meant that all our drinks inlcudng soft drinks, cocktails, wine, spirits and champagne by the glass were included. There was no need to order branded drinks since the local drinks were of good quality. We would definitely recommend being all inclusive the quality was excellent.

The only disadvantage we could foresee would be if you were staying possibly for longer than a week and looking for entertainment outside the hotel. Restaurants and bars appeared to be limited to one or two within walking distance and Limassol itself is a good 15 minutes bus/taxi ride.

We loved this Hotel and will definitely return. Our son loved the slide which was located in the swimming pool in front of the Executive wing. The hotel is also directly on the beach and has its own marina and you can hire pedalos, speed boats or go on banana boats etc if you are feeling energetic.

If you are looking for good weather relaxation excellent food and attentive staff then give this hotel a try.

  • Liked — modern clean large terrace
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chengdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for a weekend in June. We had the impression that St Raphael was a luxury place to be.But we were wrong!The hotel looks really old, it needs a major refubrishment really soon. Its location is not an ideal one as it is situated a bit far from the city centre. We did not mind that, as we were seeking for some peace and rest. Our room was a medium-size one, the curtains were really old and dusty, the carpet as well, toilet was ok but there were not any beach towels. The swimming pool was a bit dirty and the water had a funny smell. Clearly this hotel was built 20 years ago! It is about time to change some things!Breakfast was really good, and you could choose to eat or drink from a very large buffet. The problem was that it was really crowded and noisy. Do not choose this hotel if you are looking for a luxury clean and nice hotel. This is not the one!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — swimming pool and rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sohoangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Just returned from St Raphael 18 July – 1 August, with a family of three boys, 9, 7, 5. Really enjoyed this place. One of the few hotels that will allow five people ( three children) in the same room. Recommend! – But you need to go all inclusive, as restaurant and drinks prices seemed very expensive to me other wise.

Beautiful gardens and right on the beach. Two great pools. Our kids loved the water slide in the family pool – Was never very busy, and kept kids amused for hours. Main pool had a swim up bar, which kids loved – they served great milkshakes here, cocktails etc. for adults. Most people seemed to congregate here for some afternoon chat, although it never got crowded. Pool really clean, I watched them clean it every morning, and check it several time throughout the day. Fresh towels available every day, with no deposit necessary. Great play park, right by family pool, which mean't you could watch kids, without leaving your sunbed. It was empty during day, and used for about half an hour only at night, when the entertainment finished.

Reasonable quality gym, good range of equipment, well air-conditioned and never busy. Beauty salon had a wide variety of treatments. I had a Swedish massage – About £35.00 Didn’t use tennis courts, although I think that they were for over 16’s only.

Main restaurant – Pallidium – Very good variety meat and fish with carvery option. No queues, which was great! Like all, all-inclusive becomes repetitive and a bit boring, but nevertheless a good standard of food. Live music every night in restaurant.

Phoenician restaurant – Only Waiter service restaurant in hotel. Beautiful Arabic décor. More adult friendly, than child friendly. Starters like a meze, with about 15 dishes, main course hot coal barbeques laid on the table – very impressive, though no good for fish lovers or vegetarians like me.

Splash pool restaurant – chips, pizza, salad, fish meat, fruit and cakes, served throughout most of the day – Very good quality – always fresh, hot and clean. Mean’t that the kids could have lunch or snack, in full view of the pool where we could keep an eye on them.

Octagon restaurant – served breakfast, lunch and Italian at night. Good choice at breakfast - Egg chef, pancake chef, ham, cheeses, great selection of breads, fresh fruits, cereals (including coco-pops for the kids). Toast maker and endless champagne – I had bucks fizz every morning – very addictive! Italian restaurant at night, not very exciting food, but a nice quiet change from the main restaurant – no restrictions on booking as in some all inclusive.

Beach bar – OK, burgers and chips, didn’t like this much, but had another play park beside it to amuse kids.

Captains Bar – Great in the evenings – air-conditioned, live music (very average), great cocktails – even for kids. Waiter service, and again never crowded.

Beach – Not golden sand, but it was groomed every morning. Seemed to be plenty of sunbeds and parasols here. We only used it for water sports. Pedalo’s and Kayaks free for All inc.. Pedalo’s with slide about £10.00. Jet ski - £30.00 for 15 mins, Paragliding about £30.00 - but price included two people. Scuba diving – PADI bubble maker about £30.00. Our kids did paragliding and scuba diving and really loved this.


Entertainment– Not great, repeated weekly, which was a little disappointing, Kids disco every night, all outside at the hotels mini- amphitheatre. As we were with kids, we weren’t really that bothered with finding better entertainment, we just headed to the Captains Bar. Limassol, was about 20 mins away in a taxi (about £6.50) Limassol is a dive with tacky, tacky shops all selling the same things that tacky shops in tacky seaside towns at home sell - Avoid!!


Kids Club- Very, very casual, kids did not need to be signed out, which seemed odd – We chose to sit close to the entrance (which was right by the main pool) so it was OK, as long as you kept an eye, and made sure kids knew where you were sitting, but mean’t you could not really go off and do something else. Our kids enjoyed it. More suitable for up to 8 year olds TIP: Kids club had a rubber floor for safety, and kids clothes got absolutely filthy! Don’t let this put you off, just pack some old tee-shirts and shorts that they can wear.

Pool table and air hockey in games room.

Trip to Pahos was worthwhile, some of the oldest mosaics in the world.
Fabulous Waterpark at Fasouri, about 20Km away – only about £7.00 for all 5 of us to get there in an airconditioned coach, and about £60.00 entrance fee for all of us – Worth every penny!! Suitable for 2 years old to 80 years old – a great day out.

Epypt by air, about £225.00 per adult and £205.00 per child.

Rooms: New executive wing looked great. We were in the main block as this was the only room type that held five people. These rooms were really big, and had mini bar etc., but air con only went down to 17oC, which was not really cool enough for me. Spoke to others in new wing and theirs went down to 5 oC. Room smelled of smoke on arrival, but soon cleared. Everyone seems to smoke in Cyprus, so there is not much you can do. Rooms very, very clean, and sheets changed daily.

Hotel had lots of Russians, who do not understand queues, or taking turns, but we go used to them quickly. That said, they kept themselves to themselves, were not loud, or louty, did not rise too early, and did not nick all of the sunbeds – so they were fine. They seemed to prefer the gardens, so there were still plenty of good sunbeds by 11 00am, in fact there were sun-beds all day – It was great no to have to get up and do ‘sunbed wars’.

All in all a very relaxed hotel, with no overcrowding, which was really important to us.

ALL staff were ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC – Really friendly, loved the kids, couldn’t do enough for us. Even the taxi drivers in Cyprus were great, spoke good English and were a wealth of knowledge – This really made our holiday.

  • Liked — Fantastic friendly staff, and the pools
  • Disliked — 20 mins outside of any other nightlife
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S90JMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Raphael Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Raphael Resort

Property: St Raphael Resort
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 502 | P.O.Box 51064, Pyrgos, Limassol 4520, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Limassol
#10 Business Hotel in Limassol
#10 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Raphael Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Raphael Resort, Cyprus' leading all inclusive resort, offering it's unique Ultra All Inclusive package, as well as other terms of stay, made to suit each individual requirement whether for a holiday, wedding, business trip or group event.LocationLocated on the South Coast of Cyprus on the outskirts of Limassol, on one of the largest blue flag accredited sandy beaches, the St. Raphael combines all the advantages of a carefully chosen, tranquil location: the calm sea at our doorstep and the colourful liveliness of Limassol just a few miles away.Accommodation272 rooms and suites. 90% of our rooms have magnificient views over the Mediterranean Sea with a balcony. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safety deposit boxes, colour plasma 26 inch tv, radio, direct dial telephone, internet access, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. To add to the luxurious tone 6 Admiral Suites with a private Jacuzzi are also available.RestaurantsThere are six excellent choices of restaurants to suit all moods and occasions, including our recently built Sea Shells Beach Tavern on St Raphael Beach and the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for exquisite fine dining experiences by the St Raphael Marina.BarsThree magnificent bars are available in the resort. These include the Captain's Bar and Terrace with breathtaking views over the Mediterranean Sea and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your St Raphael Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Raphael Hotel Limassol
St Raphael Limassol
St Raphael Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing