We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service - Paradise in Cyprus Kids 11 and 7”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Please note there are lots of names within this review. All the staff were wonderful - but the particular ones mentioned made our stay especially enjoyable and I understand it is great to get a mention on Trip Advisor - so here goes!!

We are a family of four with an 11 year old girl and a 7 year old boy. I would certainly not describe this hotel as a cheap option - but honestly, it is amazing value for money. We stayed in a Superior Inland View room ( two singles together presented as a king size and a fold down sofa bed). We were greeted upon arrival by Andy Dimitrious who remained prolific throughout our stay and welcomed any feedback we gave. After decamping to a sunbed by the pool - we soon realised that we were not going to have to lift a finger on this holiday - Matiss 'personality pool service man' arrived to take our drinks order and entertained us throughout the stay, closely followed by a lovely man with chilled towels for us to wipe our heated brows!!

The kids club received rave reviews from those around us with younger kids, but was not geared up to appeal to our 11 year old (it is a small air conditioned room bursting with activities like arts and crafts and lovely staff such as Daniella on hand to look after the kids and after age 7 they can 'with your permission' check themselves in and out as they please so our 7 year old popped in a couple of times).

During our second week - Outdoor entertainments staff Zuzzanna and Petra engaged the kids with volleyball, sandcastle building competitions and table tennis - they then doubled up as a surprisingly impressive part of the cast of Mamma Mia, Pocahontas and We Will Rock You which are performed in the hotel gardens overlooking the beach under moonlight. Superb fun for the kids and a great chance for cocktails outside in the evening. Zuzzanna took the time to get our 7 year old back into the sea after he became scared of the water for a while - so we were very grateful`. Petra organised it so he won the table tennis competition - and it made his holiday!

Gregory the 'Terrazza' restaurant pianist was incredibly talented and played exactly the right mix of wonderful music into the evening - at the perfect level to enjoy the ambience and soak up the romance of the setting - he was occasionally joined by other entertainers who were not our favourite - but others enjoyed.

The restaurant staff were wonderfully attentive and could not do enough to please - Particularly the very helpful Stacee, lovely Inesse, and oh so professional white-haired, extremely-good-English-speaking head waiter who made so much effort to ensure that we had a wonderful lunch or evening wherever we might be.

At the hotel and very nearby you could go jet-skiing, parakiting, hire a pedalo slide or go on a motorboat.

We decided to get the shuttle bus to the water park on one day - (2 Euro ride per person and 45 min ride) - not a limo - but we got there and back :-) . The water park was great fun -and we would recommend it.

Things you may not find out so I will point them out are... We stayed half board for adults and full board for kids. On the adult half board you can occasionally use the other restuaurants that the hotel has - the fine dining and the fish restaurant on the beach (but not every night - and you have either table d'hote or mezze - not al a carte). You can always use your half board towards the al a carte menu though. Kids are allowed and welcomed in all restaurants on the nights that the half board is accepted.

The food is very, very good. If you want al a carte food though - you do have to pay for it (obviously) - but what they are able to produce from a buffet impressed us greatly.

Everything was spotlessly clean - our maid in 419 realised that our kids liked the coconut treats they left us and gave them a few extra every so often - which delighted them greatly.

A final thanks to the senior member of staff and the pool guy (who went into the pool fully dressed one evening to retrieve my daughter's earring) - and to all at the Amathus Beach Hotel for a wonderful, relaxing proper 2 week holiday. We made some lovely friends there - and our UK friends joined us for the second week - so with company for the kids, it was all in all the absolute perfect holiday.

Good to know:

My 11 year old and various friends enjoyed crabbing from the rocks and jumping from the pier most of the day.

There are bars or restaurants along the beach and if you turn right out of the hotel (past Four Seasons) and keep walking for 10 mins there is a bar that stays open late. Apart from Show Nights - it's a shame you can't get a drink in the evening overlooking the sea at the hotel really..

The Supermarkets over the road from the hotel sell very affordable flippers and lilos etc

There is a lovely adult only pool which I'm told plays music under the water (I never made it there)..

Sovereign holidays organised our holiday and we flew Cyprus Air from Heathrow. We had entry to the lounge at Heathrow through Sovereign - a great bonus for breakfast at that time - thanks to Guy Bilton for great service during our stay too.

Kids 10+ generally do not have anything to do or anywhere to go in the evenings unless they make their own entertainment. Ours watched downloaded films in the room on our computer or ran on the beach when we were in the fish restaurant or watched the shows with us when they were on - but there is no games room or similar that they can go to - so they are with you all day and all night! Andy has promised he will fix this though - so it may have changed when you get there. If you only have one room - it does mean you are with the kids and watching them all day, if like ours, they felt the kids club with the arts and crafts was a bit young for them (no pool activities etc).

We live in London and love a cosmopolitan mix of people - but if we hadn't met the few English friends and people the kids would have found it hard to have fun - just a personal thing for us.

There was very little space to dry clothes - and they did not dry well in the bathroom overnight - so pack lots of spares - and definitely take your dressy summer clothes. There were a lot of stylish people there, and I wished I'd made a bit more of an effort - lots of maxi dresses and lovely beach cover ups etc - I chose to pack lightly on this holiday and wish I'd taken more with me! There is a very exclusive boutique at the hotel - but it wasn't within my price range.

The minerals and chlorine in the pool can turn things green - so don't wear your white chanel bikini here..

Room Tip: We had a Superior Inland room - very acceptable - but wish we had a balcony or second room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GLO_EHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHManager, Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing the Amathus Beach Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to submit your review.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our facilities and service provided by our team members. Rest assure that your positive comments will be passed to the rest of the Amathus Team. Such comments are very encouraging for all of us and enhance even more our commitment for constant upgrade of our facilities and services.

We have also noted your suggestions and constructive comments for further improvement of our services and we can only assure you that will be seriously considered. It is only with your comments that we can get better and we would like to sincerely thank you for sharing them with us.

Once again thank you for having taken the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Amathus in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Vassos Kilanis
Hotel Manager
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Superb customer service is what makes this hotel distinct and an ultimate vacation destination.

We are here to celebrate our son's birthday, who turns three. I do not think we could have thought of a better present for him, as here at Amathus, everything is so kids
friendly and oriented specifically for them.

What made our experience even more memorable was the fact that we were lucky to be met and greated by Angelika upon our arrival. She is a real asset to the hotel. She went out her way to make us happy and to handle all the requests we had with utmost professionalism.

We still have five more days at Amathus, but we wish these days never end. We were recommended this hotel by our friends, who stayed at Amathus last summer. We will definitely recommend the hotel to friends of our own.

Happy guests from room # 453.
The Goyunyan family

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGoyunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our board was bed & breakfast. Don't listen to those who had a problem with the breakfast. There is plenty of choice. We chose various things and all was well. ONLY let down was the tea. The service is very good.
For dinner there are restaurants outside and on the way into the centre of town which are great with reasonable prices (check out DANAE restaurant). Loads of bars too. Eating in the hotel can be expensive.
Gym,spa,pools,beach and sunbathing areas are good. Beach area is grey sand.
Water sport activities are available(had great fun on jet ski's).
There was a mention of the quality of the grass. When the sprinkler system is swtched on in the peak periods, the grass areas are green and lush.
Bathroom was faultless. I'm paranoid about bathrooms and ours was clean and fungus free. The room is fine, TV had limited channels english speaking but we were'nt bothered as we spent more time out than in. Sofa bed is not comfortable the mattress was crap. The beds were fine, so we took turns on the sofa bed.
We thought it was a good hotel...we've been in a few so we know enough about the bad ones to comment.
We used a hired car to get around as it was too hot for me to wait for buses.
This hotel is good. They look after you well. Get a room with a view and enjoy : )

Room Tip: Stayed in a room on the third floor, overlooking the pool. Worth the price for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junior_Falcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Friends had recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The service was superb in all areas. We only had to ask for ice once and room service made sure it was there every day!
The room had been recently refurbished to a very high standard.
The gardens were very well maintained and there were several swimming pools to chose from - with or without children.
As it was early in the year not all the restaurants were open but this was not a problem.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in Amathus for the 3rd year in a row this July with 2 kids. Typically would have 2 connected rooms on renovated floors. This time around decided to have Junior Suite with pool for a change for one week. Initially chose the hotel as it seemed to us this place was best for children and it was still 5-star and well equipped. Kids definitely love it! Among all the hotels on this shore Amathus has the best beach with not to many strangers, very clean and sandy. For those who do not like natural water there are 3 pools of which we used the main one as it is definitely best for children. Also very clean and with deepest point at 3.85m will cater to most needs.

Strong points:
- renovated floors are really nice.
- a lot of stuff for kids to do and enjoy
- very clean
- best beach
- good pools including one for very small kids
- food is OK
- service is good
- staff is polite and mostly accomodating

Not so strong:

- overcrowded on w/ends with many people coming for a couple of nights/weddings, etc.
- this is the time when restaurants cannot cope with volumes so you can sit there totally forgotten for some time
- evening entertainment program is repetitive each week. if you stay longer you get bored with the same stuff happening every day of week
- there is free Wi-Fi internet connection but it is slow and interestingly the hotel does not advertize this option. Connection quality is not so good.

Having a pool in the room is really great. It is your own pool and you can use it how an when you like. It is expensive though but we think worth a try.

I would also like to mention that Amathus can sustain disasters well and keep impact on its guests to a minimum. When there was power outage in Limassol and in the hotel for the good part of one day (it is a separate story why Cypriots let it happen) the hotel staff did their best to inform and to keep facility running. They had all sorts of back up systems, which let all the critical systems function. We were impressed and really grateful!

In spite of minor points mentioned we consider Amathus is earning its price and we definitely recommend it to families with small kids. Every time we ask our children where they want to go for next summer vacation there is only one answer - Amathus.

Room Tip: choose Superior rooms. They are on renovated floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_plus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Amathus Beach Hotel in Limassol for a week in early July. We are fortunate enough to be able to take two to four holidays a year and go to top hotels.
This hotel proved to be right up with the best we have stayed at. In fact in May we had a week at the Hotel du Russie in Rome which kids itself that it is one of the best hotels in Europe/Rome and I'm afraid to say it doesn't even get close to the level of service we received at the Amathus.
We had one of the Junior Suites with a private pool, of which there are nine in total. Frankly you don't need anything more than this anywhere in the world if you just want a week laying in the sun, shade or cooling off in some cool water. Its got all three.
They encourage you to take the room's cordless phone with you when you are lounging around/sun bathing so that you can call room service from where you are. Brilliant idea.
In fact its even easier that that to get service by attracting the attention of the bar staff who who are constantly walking around the sun loungers in the garden area taking orders for drinks etc.
I can't recall staying at a hotel who seemed to have so many staff in the bars, restaurants, and the hotel in general who were so genuinely pleased to be able to serve and assist.
The hotel has apparently been modernised in recent years. I can't comment on the changes as this was our first visit. What I can say is the place looks absolutely amazing. The main foyer and lounge area is spectacular. The entire wall is made of glass which provides a panoramic view of the Med.
Another major plus here is value for money. We love Italy but prices for drinks and cocktails in Cyprus seem to be half what they are there now. For a 5 star hotel I found their bar prices very reasonable.
This hotels had some excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor which was a major factor in us choosing this hotel. I can say without a doubt these reviews were truly representative of our own experience.
We plan to come back here in September (schedule permitting) but if this doesn't happen then we will next summer.
One final note the additional benefit of coming to Limassol is that you can get here on a proper airline. We came with BA. We will not now visit holiday destinations that are only served by Mickey Mouse low cost carriers such as Thomson or Ryanair.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilCopelandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I spent a week at the Amathus Beach Hotel, Limassol in June with my husband and we had an excellent holiday. From the moment we arrived we received exceptionally high levels of service from all members of staff. For example, we arrived quite late at night and were expecting to order room service food but the receptionist arranged for the restaurant to stay open for us. Not many hotels would do this.
We had a superior room on the 4th floor on the road side but we were not disturbed by noise at all even though the road was quite busy. The room had obviously been refurbished recently and was very modern, clean, spacious, and well equipped. In fact, the whole hotel was immaculate and furnished to a very high standard.
The hotel has extensive grounds/gardens with an abundance of sun loungers and umbrellas. Thankfully, there is no need to reserve sun loungers! The beach and pool attendants are very attentive making sure the sun loungers are clean and that you have as many umbrellas and beds as you need. There is a large swimming pool with an area for children and an adult’s only pool in addition to the private beach which is supposed to be exclusively for guests of the Amathus Beach hotel.
We were on half board which meant we had breakfast and lunch or dinner included. Breakfast was served in the Kalypso buffet style restaurant and was excellent. There was a huge choice of food catering for all tastes. The food was plentiful and constantly replenished. Dinner was served in the Kalypso buffet restaurant or La Terrazza restaurant with different themes each night. Diners on half board could also eat at the a la carte Cyan restaurant. Just as at breakfast, the food served at dinner was of a very high standard and provided something for everyone.
The public lounge and bar areas are luxurious and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed having drinks both inside the Nubar and on its terrace overlooking the hotel grounds. The only criticism would be the cost of drinks and snacks in the hotel which are particularly expensive.
In conclusion, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Amathus Beach hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyBurger1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 56 in Limassol
2,045 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Address: Amathus Ave | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3606, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limassol
#1 Business Hotel in Limassol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#2 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: $168 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", you will enjoy deluxe accommodation, top-class range of fitness, sport and leisure facilities, fabulous restaurants with superlative cuisine, sumptuous and perfectly appointed surroundings including 4000 sq.m. of immaculate sunbathing lawn gardens and, on top of everything, efficient and uncompromising personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amathus Beach Limassol
Limassol Amathus Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing