We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bravo, Amathus!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Amathus is an old hotel of almost 40 years! Is being refurbished though! We stayed in the inland superior newly refurbished rooms and, for sure, it worth the little extra money we paid.
Positive:
+ large indoor pool, gym, Jacuzzi, sauna etc all of great standard
+ rooms with many luxury amenities
+ excellent, smiling and helpful staff
+ on the beach
+ ampleness
+ breakfast with everything you can imagine
+etc!

Negatives:
- expensive!!!

For a weekend break, excellent! For extended holidays, can you afford it??? Go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ang-ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
There are newer reviews for Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

We booked this hotel through Thomson Al a Carte Holidays on a bed and breakfast basis. It was fairly expensive and 5 star rated so we were expecting a very decent standard.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly and the porters were keen to assist. Checking in we were offered an upgrade which we declined. We were also offered a deal on half board or full board which we said we would think about. The deal offered us the choice of eating in any of the numerous hotel restaurants. We ate at the Cyan the first night which good and family friendly, our 6 month old was sleeping in a pushchair and the staff were very accommodating. We were thinking of eating locally too but were keen to try the well reviewed Oriental restaurant in the hotel. When we tried to book this we were told, it does not accept children under 8 years old. The other restaurants were closed. But we could have eaten a buffet before 7pm if we had wanted. If we had taken the offer of half or full board, we would have been well and truly misled, as the hotel had not told us the ban on children and the closure of restaurants.
We stayed in a sea view room on the 3rd floor, it was advertised as space for a cot, the twin beds ( as in most rooms) were pushed together, there was not enough room to get into bed one side because of the cot, so we moved the room around to try and make it easier. The view was lovely and the staff who looked after the rooms, were very friendly and playful with our baby.
There was a water leak in the ceiling of the hallway on the third floor or brownish water which got worse during our stay, at one time there were towels on the carpet, and three large bins to catch the drips and we couldnt get the pushchair around it without moving a bin of water, not what you'd really expect from a 5 star hotel, during the week, the carpet began to smell, which we were aware of even in our room. One of the beds had a mattress which was coming undone on the edge, and the pillow were cheap feeling and lumpy. The weather changed from cold and rainy to hot and sunny during our stay and although we could switch the aircon. on it didnt do anything, the room was stiflingly hot at night and during the day when we were in it, so much so that it would make you sweat and wakeful at night.
The indoor pool was lovely but the ladies changing room was being decorated so I had to go the the Gym changing room and walk down the corridor in swimming costume to the pool.
When it was warm enough to sit outside there were diggers working on the grounds, men sanding wood which was blowing dust everywhere, men laying concrete outside of the junior suites ( so glad we didnt upgrade also). We couldnt sit outside as it was too noisy and dusty for us to enjoy and our baby to sleep! Yes this was out of season 9th-16th March but you would expect to use the hotel facilities in a relaxing way if you had paid for them.
Cyprus is lovely, there are some good restaurants nearby and the people, including staff in the hotel were all very nice.
I am sure this hotel is superb when all of the work, leaking water etc is not going on, but really a word from the management in way of apology or warning wouldn't have gone un-noticed. Obviously it needed reviewing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHManager, Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly let me thank you for choosing the Amathus Beach Hotel for your recent stay and I would like also to thank you for taking the time to tell and share with us the experience of your stay. I was also very glad to hear about the excellent, attentive and friendly service provided by our team members.

However I was really sorry to learn of your concerns and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed and that your experience this time did not meet your expectations.

At Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations and therefore please be assured that we value all guest comments as constructive criticism like yours, is of utmost importance and paramount to the quality control of our operation.

Additionally it is our aim to continuously find ways to upgrade our services and facilities offered to our valuable guests and always in a way not to disturb them. During your stay we were indeed installing our new wooden pergolas in the gardens in front of our suites, that have now been completed and again this was part of our continuous effort to offer more value to our guests. Furthermore we were also upgrading our changing facilities in the indoor pool and that’s why our second set of changing rooms located few meters away were available as an alternative solution.

Concerning the dining options and your comment about our famous Asiachi restaurant, children are welcome when they are 8 years or older in an effort to offer a relaxing gastronomic experience to our guests. However our hotel definitely is family friendly and that’s why there are many other dining options and facilities for our little friends to use.

I once again sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay but I can only assure you that what you have experienced does not represent the actual image of the Amathus Beach Hotel and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Best Regards

Vassos Kilanis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The 5 star Amathus Beach Hotel is in the most picturesque position just on the outskirts of Limassol. The rolling, beautifully manicured lawns, end at the shores of several small beaches and an uninterrupted view of the Mediterranean. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished to a very high quality and a dish of fresh fruit and a bottle of the local wine is placed in your room on arrival. You also have slippers which you can take home with you. Some suites have their own small swimming pool.
The food in the main restaurant, Cyan, is of a very high quality. The table d'hote menu has a good choice of starters, 2 choices of soup, at least 5 main dishes and a selection of desserts or cheese for €39. The local cypriot wines are well worth trying and are very palatable. Usually, about twice a week a buffet is available with a wide range of seafood and many different dishes.
All of the staff from the chambermaids and porters to upper management are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff are very professional in their service. I can definately recommend this hotel and I make a point of returning every March.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspector61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

An ideal present you can do to yourself ! And once you are there ,you"ll receive a lot of surprises.I have spent seven nights (eight days)at this luxurious hotel and I say only that I"ll be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I have now been a regular guest at the Amathus for many years. It has gone from good to great. Two years ago they renovated the lobby, first floor rooms, the SPA, swimming pools areas (inside and outside), and the bar. The hotel is beautiful, staff very kind, rooms nice especially the renovated floors. I only got there for work reasons but I noted how popular it is for families ans tourists. I would recommend it without any problem to anyone. Note that the hotel has a beautiful seafront, with a very well maintained garden and 3 swimming pools: one heated inside, and two outside, a large one with a smaller pool for kids, and a smaller one for people who want to stay in peace without kids around. A very clever idea.
In addition to the classic buffet restaurant there are two more, one of which is very nice and elegant for special evenings. Finally, the SPA has excellent staff and services, and the fitness room is probably the best in Limassol.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very comfortable, sea view is amazing, tasty & variable foods, clean and have a nice staff with amazing services

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in December with work and really wish we got to stay longer!! Hotel is in a great location on its own small private beach,
When you walk in the hotel it really does have the wow factor!! modern, clean and stylish!!
Rooms where fantastic and really comfortable beds. Inside the rooms we had bath robes and slippers and a bottle of champange and a bowl of fruit on arrival also Lots of good quality toiletries in the bath room.
Rooms had a mini bar but i didnt dare look at the prices!
We ate dinner in the hotel and i had the most amazing steak!
Breakfast there was so much choice and the buffett area is huge took me around 15 mins to decided what to have lol.
as the weather was fantastic for the time of year (27degrees) we ate breakfast out side on the terrace overlooking the Med - lovely view.
Staff at the hotel were allways smiling and very helpful.
also we had a tour of the hotel while we was there and the spa is out of this world!!
I will deff be planning a trip back to the Amathus with my partner in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank small3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
1,997 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#7 of 56 in Limassol
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
695 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Address: Amathus Ave | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3606, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#1 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#1 Business Hotel in Limassol
#1 Family Hotel in Limassol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: $175 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", you will enjoy deluxe accommodation, top-class range of fitness, sport and leisure facilities, fabulous restaurants with superlative cuisine, sumptuous and perfectly appointed surroundings including 4000 sq.m. of immaculate sunbathing lawn gardens and, on top of everything, efficient and uncompromising personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amathus Beach Limassol
Limassol Amathus Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing