We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Ousia

Ousia
Ranked #9 of 1,066 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ousia Lounge Cafe, a stylish Cafe Restaurant that is set in an historic building, with a contemporary finish. Ousia delivers a complete culinary experience of traditional Mediterranean cuisine, with a modern twist. It prides its success with using ingredients & products that are of quality, fresh, natural, seasonal, and handcrafted. The philosphy behind Ousia's creativity is embracing the traditions of Cyprus, whilst also acknowledging the influences from cultures that have graced its shores. Each dish and drink is carefully prepared and presented in an environment that offers total satisfaction. It is true to say that Ousia Lounge Cafe, which is situated directly opposite the great medieval castle in the heart of the old city of Limassol, embodies a sense of royalty, pride and energy.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Visited for lunch last week and was overwhelmed by delicious food and prompt and friendly service that was the exact mix of attentive and not intrusive in any way. The location is gorgeous - really near the Crusader castle at Limassol old port - and surrounded by plenty of shops etc, making it a great place to stop for a breather after a morning's shopping. Well done all - knowledgeable about their food and passionate. YUM! (as I said!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    120
    39
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Came in for dinner with 5 of us. The staff were good on arrival and sorted our table quickly. The manager is really friendly and helpful, answered all our questions and recommended the right dishes for us. The cocktails are amazing, freshly made and original recipes i haven't seen anywhere before. The food was brilliant, there was a wide selection on the menu and all 5 of us extremely enjoyed our meals! Highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,715 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Remember when opened for first time some years ago.
A small restaurant near castle area that was offering something different than the other restaurants. Small menu with fantastic medditerenean flavours full of taste with very good service. At the beginning we loved this restaurant. After for a big period restaurant closed as the whole area was closed for fixing roads.
Re-open after a long period. At the beginning started offering some very nice small plates (like tabas) and later on offer a normal restaurant menu.
In my opinion even if the restaurant is full the quality of food changed. Food is average and can not be compared with the food offered at the beginning.
Before I write above comment we tried the food 3-4 times and all times we had same opinion.
I am really sorry for this restaurant that could be the best in the area if was not changing the quality of food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 20Andreas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice light lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent salad and meat appetizer plate as a late lunch one day. Service was good and it is in a lovely location right by the castle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MfromAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Had much higher expectations.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We where so excited to go there and we were so relieved to have finally arrived cause we had a pretty much hard time finding it.
We cannot say the food is bad, but it was very overrated from the reviews we read on trip advisor.. it is defeniotly not a fine dining kind of place.
Service is somewhat OK.. However attention to detail was absent ...
We where given our maincources when we where still half way eating our starters ?... Something like this is simply unbelievably ridiculous.. as there is nothing less professional and simply rude to do...
Again, we are not saying that the food was bad.. but something like this doesn't even happen in a kiosk..

However.. truth be told the fallafel is a must try.. the rest of the menu seemed to be a filler.

We do not recommend this restaurant.. there is so much better ones in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ousia also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Ousia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing