We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay With a Cypriot Family in the Akamas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Latchi
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay With a Cypriot Family in the Akamas!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Aphrodite Beach Hotel is located in a tranquil, quiet and beautiful location just a few kilometers from Latchi in Paphos district. It is a truly family run business, which is one of the reasons why my daughter and I decided to stay there. We were treated as honored guests.

We took the bed and breakfast option rather than half board, in order to be able to try some of the Latchi fish tavernas, but we did have dinner at the hotel on our first night and it was all nice food which would be served in a Cypriot home. We enjoyed simmered white beans (fasolia) with carrots, barbecued chicken and lamb on the bone (souvla), tasty herbed rice, green beans (fasolaki) cooked to tenderness in a tomato sauce, and an unnamed but lovely red village wine by the glass. Dessert is made on the premises and varies from day to day; on that day, it was fresh galactobourekkia, a custard and fyllo dough creation flavored with rose water. All very nice. Breakfast the following day was generous and Mediterranean in character, with some items to suit the largely German clientele: scrambled eggs, mini sausages, boiled eggs, meusli, freshly baked breads, homemade marmelades, a couple of different types of olives, homemade pickles (warning, they are potent), tomato and cucumber, halloumi and gouda cheese, one or two types of fresh fruit, and cold cuts. We noted that family members were involved in all aspects of the food service; a charming little girl brought our bread-and-butter plates and greeted us in Greek.

Later, we wandered down the slope toward the beach and found the beach restaurant open for cold and hot drinks, snacks, light meals and desserts. Although we didn't have time to swim at the beach below the hotel, we looked at it and found it very clean and quiet, with gorgeous views of the bay. The beach is under different management than the hotel. A small fee is charged for sunbed and umbrella. We saw relatively few sunbeds in place, but more were brought down as needed. Canoes were available for rent. According to Mrs. Gregoria, the hotel proprietress, the waters of this beach have no undercurrents and there has never been an accident there. During our stay, the waters were quiet during daylight hours; we do plan to swim there next time.

I'd recommend Aphrodite Beach Hotel for anyone who loves Nature's beauty, fresh air and clean beaches. I'm thinking of it as a venue for a family reunion as well, being highly affordable. We certainly will be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: In the summer, consider asking for a room on the east side of the building; the patio or balcony get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonnejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    72
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
182
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
worldwide
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The moment you walk in the door and are greeted by one of the family, you are encouraged to feel at home. The peaceful setting, nestled on the Akamas Coast, makes it an ideal location for relaxing, walking and soaking up the serenity of the sea. It's also a great home base to return to after walking one of the many nature trails, cruising along to the Blue Lagoon or exploring the many sites of the Pafos Region.

Wishing you a wonderful holiday - You will Feel right at Home!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea and mountain views and balconies. There are two floors, so it's just dependen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciamarysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is an excellent modern family-run hotel, right on the beach and with access to good walks. Rooms all have terraces or balconies and are bright and spotlessly clean. The meals are buffet-style but the food is very good - home cooked using local ingredients, including home-grown fruit and home-made jams at breakfast. Gregoria the owner speaks excellent English and other languages and is genuinely welcoming, as are the rest of the family and staff. Ask for a brandy sour at the bar!

Room Tip: Rooms are in three separate blocks - those on the ground floor have terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagab0nd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a charming hotel situated within walking distance of the Baths of Aphrodite (overrated) and an amazing cliff-side trail in the Akamas Peninsula. The owners and their children are very friendly and attentive. The hotel restaurant extends to a delightful terrace that overlooks the sea and the cliffs in the distance. The food is delicious (Gregoria makes her own jams for breakfast-- exquisite). The rooms are immaculate and the grounds are lovely. This part of Cyprus is so refreshing compared to some of the other tourist trapping cities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We asked for a first story (not ground level) room with a view of the ocean. Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonefences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

this is a small family run hotel at the best possible location of the island. So so homy! unpretentious! The owners and their children will attend and care for you with a polite, friendly, warm smile. Food is heavenly as it all cooked with fresh local ingredients. best mousaka of your life! the hotel is very simple and basic but immaculately spotless. book in advance as it is very popular in the summer months.

the beach is with peddles and the waters are transparently blue and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

For nature lovers this is one of a kind hotel where you can enjoy excellent Cyprus hospitality. During supper do not forget to taste the celery soup!! Wake up early morning to enjoy the surrounding nature, then enjoy homemade breakfast on terrace with dreamlike view..
At night observe the bright shining stars.
In short: Paradise on Earth.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vahekub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Basic but very friendly hotel.
We stayed in a large room with twin beds. Clean marble floor. Immaculately clean ground-floor room. Two plastic chairs and table on terrace. Bathroom complete with bath – luxury after staying in so many Cyprus hotels with showers only. Blackened bath sealant though – needs replacing. The owner was exceptionally friendly – always asked how the guests were and where they’d been. However, the house white wine at Euro 2.50 per glass was poor and gave one a crowning headache. The hotel is by a beach of small shingles. Surprisingly, was warm enough to swim in, even in December. Basic, but nourishing breakfasts and dinners.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latchi
1.4 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
455 reviews
19.2 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#21 of 88 in Paphos
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
13.0 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
15.5 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Beach Hotel

Property: Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Address: Neo Chorio / Baths of Aphrodite Road | P. O. Box 66067, Polis Chrysochous, Latchi 8830, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Latchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Latchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aphrodite Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite Beach Hotel is a small family run hotel located half a kilometer from the Baths of Aphrodite and Akamas nature reserve area and 2 kilometer from Latchi harbour. We offer our guests pure Traditional Cyprus Hospitality at its best. Service is offered with a smile from Gregoria and Tassos who are running the hotel, mama who does the cooking and papa who is looking after the garden. The Aphrodite Beach Hotel is the ideal place for those seeking a peaceful and pleasant holiday destination, located at the most beautiful place and beach of Cyprus. Aphrodite Beach Hotel is also the ideal place if you have special interest in bird-watching, painting, flora, hiking and rambling. Enjoy your holidays in Aphrodite Beach Hotel, at this unique coastal area in Cyprus, away from it all, being not only a guest but a friend to this family hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookcyprus.com and Priceline so you can book your Aphrodite Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Beach Hotel Cyprus/Latchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing