We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant. It's literally 100m from the Beach 'strip' which has a wealth of Bars and Restauraunts, or a thirty-second walk if you use McDonalds rear entrance which is never a problem.

The staff from the maids to the breakfast staff & receptionists are all very pleasant. The hotel receptionists told us we could request laptop computers and games consoles to use in our room, we didn't, but still something I thought was good.

The room itself was of ample size, spotlessly clean and very modern. I've read other reviews on here complaining about noise on the 1st floor - what noise?! The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was great.

Breakfast was from 7:30-10:00 and is offered on the 4th floor, in a room with a panoramic view of the beach, it's a great touch, especially when the weather in Cyprus is usually beautiful. There was plenty to offer for breakfast, something for everyone.

All-in-all I haven't a bad word to say about this hotel, from the hotel itself and the location - Perfect. I'm already thinking about when I'm going to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you here in the first place and we are hoping that your return at the hotel will be very soon.

Thank you for your great review and we hope to hear from you again!

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    127
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
161
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Due to an early morning flight, we wrote an email to Achilleos Hotel one week in advance (their website wasn't working) asking if two rooms were availability for our last night in Cyprus. They promptly responded that they had availability, we needed only to send them our credit card information to hold the rooms, which we did. A few minutes later we received another email from Achilleos Hotel saying they were unfortunately fully booked that night. We thought this course of events was strange, but we went on to book rooms at another Larnaca hotel. However, the next week I checked my credit card charges on-line and found Achilleos Hotel had charged us for that night, as "no shows". I couldn't believe it! I wrote them and asked them to reverse the charges, since it was obviously a mistake on their part. How could they charge us for these rooms when they told us they had no vacancy? To their credit, they DID reverse the charges and apologized for their error. But what would have happened if I had not checked the charges made to my card? It was all extremely strange.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well priced (at Euro 84.00), this boutique-like hotel is close to the beach, McDonalds, TGIF, and a selection of shops. The small reception is deceptive, because this is a hotel with a heart.

The rooms are very small, but extremely well equipped to a good/excellent standard (please check if your power outlets are actually working - not all do). The minute bathroom takes a little while to get used to, but is otherwise also well equipped.

An eco-friendly hotel without making you feel bad.

Parking is an adventure (well, it's Larnaca after all), and if you rent, get a small car.

But, folks, 4 Euros for a small coffee in the reception?

Limassol and Nicosia are both about 45 - 50 min drive away (great freeway with little traffic).

Overall, a good choice for the business and vacation traveller who wants free working WiFi, a neat little flatscreen TV (with limited channels) and a view - well, over various adjacent apartments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Restaurant on the fourth floor had a lovely sunny disposition with a great view of the beach and a good selection for breakfast which was included in the price.

Room had 2 single beds and when I commented that we wanted a double was told to push the beds together. The room was nice with everything you could want except a window with a view. We always like fresh air In our rooms but we didn't bother to try to open the small window facing a laneway.

We would stay here again if we return to Larnaca because you couldn't fault the price or the position and we enjoyed the night we spent here. Late check out at 12 and on site parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOzCarrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your nice comments.
Hope to seeing you again.

Best regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were two weeks at the hotel. Location is good near by beach. There was free and fast internet. Staff was helpfull. Breakfast was good. One minus: the minibar was broken and that same problem was in every room. Room was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank Matti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was our pleasure having you here.
Regarding the mini bar, it was not operational during your stay but it is now.
Please accept our apologies.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel is not near the beach but you can see the beach from the terrace.Surrounding buildings are not very nice.Internet was free and fast.You can connect with the same password with many devices at the same time (iphone,ipad...etc).Breakfast was good enough with good view of beach.Bed in the suite was small for tall guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cojusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was great accommodating you here.

Hope to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Achilleos Hotel is a lovely modern hotel in the heart of Larnaca, minutes from the sea front. The staff are friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are small but deigned nicley to make good use of space with a nice little balcony. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful in a beautiful sunlight room on the top floor. Just a few meters from the front door are loads of restuarants, cafes and bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was a real pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larnaka City
24.8 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#5 of 68 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#17 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
0.2 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#15 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Property: Achilleos City Hotel
Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing