We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Achilleos City Hotel to your Saves list
Achilleos City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitsi street, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Achilleos Hotel is a lovely modern hotel in the heart of Larnaca, minutes from the sea front. The staff are friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are small but deigned nicley to make good use of space with a nice little balcony. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful in a beautiful sunlight room on the top floor. Just a few meters from the front door are loads of restuarants, cafes and bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
It was a real pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    127
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
161
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I had a week at the hotel and considered it to be well located, very close to the sea front, (not facing the sea) breakfasts were excellent (on the top floor with view out to the sea) and room was clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a hire car, which we were able to park outside the hotel. We were able to watch BBC World news although we would normally try to forget the news on holiday. Shower worked well and it is hard to find any drawback with the hotel. I suppose it could be a little noisy in the early hours but that would apply to all hotels near the sea front in Larnaca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you could sit outside in the sunshine and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your nice comments.
Hope to see you again.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had just come from a dreadful hotel in another part of Cyprus, so the contrast here was even more marked!
On arrival, a smiling welcome and an upgrade to a suite, plus a complimentary capuccino while we waited for the room to be made ready (we were early) - asked the receptionist to book us a restaurant for the evening and a taxi to the airport next morning - no problem!
The room was clean, modern, with a nice modern bathroom with spacious shower and rain-water head - 2 flat screen TVs and a comfortable double bed.
Two minor issues - the promised 'coffee maker' was in fact a kettle and some sachets of instant coffee, and the mini bar was out of order - sort this, please guys!
One possible large issue - we were woken several times during the night by noisy drunken groups passing in the street outside - I don't know if this was a one-off and bad luck, or whether the hotel is on a 'route' of some kind - it wouldn't be very nice if it happened every night - but it was a Friday, and they did sound British! (Don't they all?)
A particular compliment for the breakfast in a top floor room with a panoramic view - we had to grab it quickly due to an early flight, but it looked pretty good - freshly squeezed orange juice, platter of fresh fruit etc - nice!
I would not hesitate to book this hotel when I return to Larnaca, despite the minor quibbles mentioned above.

Room Tip: If you could get a non-street facing room it might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mopezone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
We will take everything you pointed out into consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week! March 17-24
I manage a large resort in California, so I am quite picky! Room was nice, comfortable bed. Good TV stations! Bathroom although small was function able. Would recommend superior room option or suite. Breakfast was great! Fresh items daily, cereals, fruit, bagels, hot options too! Breakfast staff 2 ladies from Romania were wonderful. As we're front desk staff. Staff went beyond the call of duty in that when I checked out and arrived at the Airport, I realized that I had left my I-phone in the room. I had only 1 hour for flight departure. I called them to see if they could mail it to USA. They responded that they had found my phone and had called a taxi to bring it to me! Taxi made it on time. They really care about their guests!

Although a small boutique hotel without all the whistles and bells of a larger hotel, it is in good location. staff are wonderful! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportBch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.
We are trying to do our best for all our clients.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just stayed for a week at this hotel. Our room was good - the beds comfortable, the bathroom small but functioned well. The breakfast room upstairs was very clean and pleasant with lovely views of the sea over the rooftops. I looked forward every day to the Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts and the fresh orange juice and there was plenty of other food to choose from if you wanted something more substantial. The reception staff were all very helpful especially Inna who answered our many questions politely and efficiently. The hotel is in a very convenient location to the palm tree lined promenade and beach. The only slight downside was that our room could be noisy at times especially if the door to the balcony was open but when shut, the double glazing cut most of the noise out. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would happily come back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linfturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was great having you here.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed there for a night but i wish i could stay more.. Breakfast; services; rooms were an excellent.. A hotel also, very closer to marine.. You can find any type restaurants and bars around the hotel.. im sure i ll be there next time more days...

Room Tip: second or hird floor i guess much better about view the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemeshani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was a great pleasure having you here.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for a week in late Feb/early March. Rooms very well appointed and extremely clean, breakfast (in fourth floor breakfast room) excellent and good selection with lovely view over the beach and sea - I particularly recommend the thick Greek yogurt and the oranges and freshly-squeezed orange juice. Reception staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and we felt really welcome. Convenient location near the sea front and shops. There was a slight intermitttent problem with hot water but when we reported it to reception management were already dealing with it. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
We totally appreciate the nice comments you shared with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larnaka City
24.8 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#5 of 68 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#17 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
0.2 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#15 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Property: Achilleos City Hotel
Address: Mitsi street, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing