We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achilleos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Achilleos City Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a clean, comfortable, modern hotel in a great location. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. Breakfast was also very good. This is a great value hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaN1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel .
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    132
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
165
41
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a 2 star hotel we were expecting a grotty place, but from stepping into the Hotel we were treated great, nothing was too much trouble for them, I found that I was allergic to the memory foam mattress and mentioned it to the receptionist who had it turned over especially, the complimentary breakfast was excellent, the hotel has all the mod cons that you could wish for, Mood lighting in the rooms, wet room power showers etc it was better than some 4 & 5 star Hotels that we have stayed in especially in cyprus, and to top it all a wall mounted TV and even a Clock on the bedside table, it surpassed itself in every way, I would not hesitate to stay there again, and the receptionists were so helpful in every way, And we have been going to Cyprus for 30yrs just a shame we didn't find it sooner. Excellent Value in every way.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a Suite they look excellent in fact 1 has a Jaccuzi bath in it. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
It was a big pleasure for us to have you here.
Thank you for the nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night at either end of our trip to Cyprus and it was a great way to start and end the holiday. It's about 10 mins from the airport (15euro taxi ride) and just around the corner from the main water front of the city. We had a standard double the first night, which was smallish but comfortable with a nice bathroom. Only problem there was the shower sprayed everywhere and then that leaked into the room itself, making the floor quite slippery...not the best.
We were upgraded to an executive double for our return night and that was just lovely. Big room, big double bed, nice sofa area and huge bathroom with a shower and double jacuzzi bath. Very comfortable. Both rooms were clean, well laid out and very modern.
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was great. The breakfast room is on the top floor with views of the waterfront.
This hotel is great value for money. We originally booked a superior double for our second night and that was 77e. A bargain compared to lots of other places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
Our aim is to keep our guests as happy as possible.
Please accept once more our apologies for all the trouble with the shower.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a nice modern hotel in the centre of town one street back from the main promenade. Unfortunately any nice views are obscured by the McDonalds restaurant in front. The room was modern and trendy with free wifi, there is a gym downstairs and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubaidickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel .
We appreciate the time you spent for writing the review.
Unfortunatelly, there are not many things we could do to to improve the surrounding areas.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is nicely situated in a little back street of central Larnaca. From there everything is within walking distance, which is a good thing since the car traffic in the center is very crowded and full of one-way streets.They have free underground parking spaces, but book in advance if you want to secure a spot as they only have 6. Otherwise there is a rather large guarded parking lot 10m ahead of the hotel that only costs 5€/day.

Our standard room was spotless and nicely furnished, if a little small, and had good wireless connection. There was no view, but for 68€ a night I wouldn't complain. The air con however was very noisy, so I had to wear earplugs all night.

The breakfast area was surprisingly nice on the top floor,  with a little outdoor area. Food on the other hand was not terrific, just good enough.

Staff was welcoming, which is appreciated since it's unfortunately not always the case in Cyprus. Overall this hotel is a very good choice if you're in Larnaca for a short stay and don't want to spend a fortune in a beach resort.

Room Tip: Secure your parking space in advance as they only have 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nordavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was nice having you here.
We assure you that all your comments will be taken into consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a super 2 night stay at the Achilleos hotel, for a hotel rating of only 2 stars it was better than some 4 star rated hotels we have stayed in. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, super comfy bed. Bathroom was ultra modern with a super shower, all toiletries supplied. We were pleasantly surprised at breakfast, a very extensive choice in very pleasant surroundings. The staff in all departments we met were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to all and on my next trip to Larnaca i will use it again with pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noel964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel has ultra trendy, chic rooms with extra comfortable beds and has the advantage of being in one of the most central locations in Larnaca. This I would say is for independant travellers wanting luxurious rooms for a base. The only reason I have not given it a 5* rating is there isn't a proper bar or restaurant (though I believe these are being built). There is not a pool either but if you going to the beach a few hundred yards away or getting out and about then that won't be a problem but if you want a 'resort' type hotel then this probably is not for you. There is a lovely upstairs breakfast area which again is fresh and funky. The staff here too are very helpful and nothing was a problem. For the right person it's great - we loved it !

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. If though the bathroom is smaller (shower only) you'll get more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the great review.
Hope we see you again soon .

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larnaka City
5.4 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#17 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#14 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 40 in Larnaka City
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Property: Achilleos City Hotel
Address: Dimostheni Mitsi, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing