We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great look and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Achilleos City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great look and great value”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night at either end of our trip to Cyprus and it was a great way to start and end the holiday. It's about 10 mins from the airport (15euro taxi ride) and just around the corner from the main water front of the city. We had a standard double the first night, which was smallish but comfortable with a nice bathroom. Only problem there was the shower sprayed everywhere and then that leaked into the room itself, making the floor quite slippery...not the best.
We were upgraded to an executive double for our return night and that was just lovely. Big room, big double bed, nice sofa area and huge bathroom with a shower and double jacuzzi bath. Very comfortable. Both rooms were clean, well laid out and very modern.
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was great. The breakfast room is on the top floor with views of the waterfront.
This hotel is great value for money. We originally booked a superior double for our second night and that was 77e. A bargain compared to lots of other places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
Our aim is to keep our guests as happy as possible.
Please accept once more our apologies for all the trouble with the shower.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    157
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
185
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a nice modern hotel in the centre of town one street back from the main promenade. Unfortunately any nice views are obscured by the McDonalds restaurant in front. The room was modern and trendy with free wifi, there is a gym downstairs and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubaidickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel .
We appreciate the time you spent for writing the review.
Unfortunatelly, there are not many things we could do to to improve the surrounding areas.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is nicely situated in a little back street of central Larnaca. From there everything is within walking distance, which is a good thing since the car traffic in the center is very crowded and full of one-way streets.They have free underground parking spaces, but book in advance if you want to secure a spot as they only have 6. Otherwise there is a rather large guarded parking lot 10m ahead of the hotel that only costs 5€/day.

Our standard room was spotless and nicely furnished, if a little small, and had good wireless connection. There was no view, but for 68€ a night I wouldn't complain. The air con however was very noisy, so I had to wear earplugs all night.

The breakfast area was surprisingly nice on the top floor,  with a little outdoor area. Food on the other hand was not terrific, just good enough.

Staff was welcoming, which is appreciated since it's unfortunately not always the case in Cyprus. Overall this hotel is a very good choice if you're in Larnaca for a short stay and don't want to spend a fortune in a beach resort.

Room Tip: Secure your parking space in advance as they only have 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nordavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It was nice having you here.
We assure you that all your comments will be taken into consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

Kindest regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a super 2 night stay at the Achilleos hotel, for a hotel rating of only 2 stars it was better than some 4 star rated hotels we have stayed in. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, super comfy bed. Bathroom was ultra modern with a super shower, all toiletries supplied. We were pleasantly surprised at breakfast, a very extensive choice in very pleasant surroundings. The staff in all departments we met were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to all and on my next trip to Larnaca i will use it again with pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noel964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel has ultra trendy, chic rooms with extra comfortable beds and has the advantage of being in one of the most central locations in Larnaca. This I would say is for independant travellers wanting luxurious rooms for a base. The only reason I have not given it a 5* rating is there isn't a proper bar or restaurant (though I believe these are being built). There is not a pool either but if you going to the beach a few hundred yards away or getting out and about then that won't be a problem but if you want a 'resort' type hotel then this probably is not for you. There is a lovely upstairs breakfast area which again is fresh and funky. The staff here too are very helpful and nothing was a problem. For the right person it's great - we loved it !

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. If though the bathroom is smaller (shower only) you'll get more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the great review.
Hope we see you again soon .

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I came here in October, markedly off-season as was reflected in the low price (€59 per night, on a Sunday admittedly). I got a warm reception when I got there, and the reality of the modern and stylish look of the room and general ambience of the place was even better than the photos on their website promised. The room was spacious, clean and stylish, with all the mod cons you expect these days, and a balcony, which was a lovely bonus. Breakfast was varied and pretty good, and it was served on the top floor with views over the city and the sea. Staff were friendly and most helpful to me. They even helped organise my onward travel. Overall a great experience, at surprisingly low cost. Did I mention that it is 3 minutes from the beach? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncjttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilleas a, General Manager at Achilleos City Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for all the nice comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Achilleas Achilleos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was looking for a reasonably priced but nice hotel close to Larnaca Airport where I could stay for one night. This place was perfect. It's by no means a luxury hotel but is very nice, extremely comfortable, safe, in a good location (around the corner from the waterfront with lots of shops and restaurants), and has very helpful staff. The breakfast was excellent. Everything was very fresh (right off the stove), nothing was greasy, undercooked or overcooked, and there was plenty of variety, whether you wanted a traditional English breakfast of bacon and eggs or a Cypriot breakfast of yoghurt, fruit and breads. I would happily stay at this hotel again. At EUR 73.00 for the night (inclusive of breakfast and parking) it was good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larnaka City
21.6 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ayia Napa
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 39 in Larnaka City
346 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#8 of 39 in Larnaka City
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#3 of 39 in Larnaka City
223 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleos City Hotel

Property: Achilleos City Hotel
Address: Mitsis Street, Larnaka City 6022, Cyprus (Formerly Achilleos Hotel Apt)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Achilleos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleos City Hotel is located in the centre of Larnaca city, just 50 metres away from Phinikoudes Beach. It offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi access and a fully equipped fitness centre. The air-conditioned rooms at Achilleos Hotel are decorated in earthy tones and feature elegant furnishings. They are fitted with a TV, minibar and coffee maker. Some rooms also include a spa bath. Guests can take their breakfast in the rooftop terrace of the hotel enjoying panoramic sea and city views. Many restaurants and seaside cafes can also be found near the property. A fully equipped business centre and a conference room are also available. Larnaca International Airport is just a 10-minute drive away from the Achilleos City Hotel. The city of Nicosia is at 45 km. Private on-site parking is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achilleos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing