We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are better than the two stars, but the hotel is not”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff are better than the two stars, but the hotel is not”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We arrived at Hotel San Remo at about 11 o’clock in the morning, and the reception lady was quickly at our service and gave us our room an hour early. So it was a pleasant arrival.
We saw the rooms, and they were OK, at least what you can expect of a 2 star rated hotel (remember on Cyprus they can rated hotels from 0 to 5 stars) But toilets where clean, beds ok, and we got a room with sea view balcony although the sea is about 300/400 meters away you are able to spot it and the balcony is big.
And now that I mentioned the sea let’s talk about the “beach” take a notice of the picture attached which is from the hotels homepage.
The picture fools you to believe that there is a beach just within 2 minutes walk, but it is a coastline with a road, and only very few locals swim here. The sandy and real beaches are in Larnaca Centrum which is about 20/25 minutes walk from the hotel, and there is also the Mackenzie which is about 7-10 minutes away. So don’t let the picture fool you.
You can say that it is a long stroll from the center of the city, but it’s not that bad, and we walked the distance every evening. And because the hotel is placed there it is a quiet hotel with almost no traffic at night. The only noise is from the others guests with children and stuff like that :-D
Now back to the hotel:
Pros:
Very nice staff which is helpful on the clock, they will order a taxi for you, help you with problems, show you the way to the Centrum and all the things you need.
Free air-condition
Ok value for the money

Cons:
No fridges in the rooms and the bar are a bit expensive.
The breakfast is very boring and has no variety at all, expect one day where was bacon and sausages, but only one day out of 14. And there is no air-conditioning or some kind of air thing I the breakfast area, so you’ll sweat while eating your breakfast and the food is not cooled and a buffet in 40/45 degrees can’t be healthy for you. And there is only toast bread and it is very dry, it could be nice with some king of real bread. There is three kinds of cereal, 2 kinds of marmalade, ham, eggs, olives and coffee and two kinds of juice, and after a couple of days it gets very boring. But I hues you’ll get what you pay for.
The room cleaning almost do not exist, they are not very careful in the cleaning and they only change the towels ones a week. And you’ll end up having black long hairs everywhere because of the cleaning lady dropping them around the rooms.
At last there is the pool and the pool area. The sun beds are not that good and are made of metal and it gets very warm when they are in the sun all day long.
And after swimming in the pool many times with my swimming glasses on there are many things in the pool like hair, sand and a lot of bacteria’s. But they just have to clean is more often.

After all this maybe you’ll be a bit scared, but I just wanted to tell you our opinion about this hotel. The staff was very kind and nice all the time, but the hotel has seen better days, but with a few installments like more often pool cleaning, UPGRADING the breakfast area and better cleaning you’ll have a pretty decent hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    146
    88
    32
    31
See reviews for
56
122
94
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at The San Remo Hotel.
I had chosen the hotel due to the reviews i had read on Trip Adviser and to meet with everyones budget as we were a large group of friends.

This is a 2 star hotel and i will admit i was unsure of what to expect having never stayed in a 2 star rated hotel before and being the one who suggested it to everyone else...but i was pleased to find the reviews i had read were spot on and the hotel was better than i had imagined.

The rooms are quite basic, consisting of 2 single beds, dressing table with mirror, bedside table, wardrobes and television which actually had an English film channel..Also all the plugs were uk ones which was great for us and for other non uk guests an adapter is supplied by the hotel. The rooms were clean on arrival and were cleaned on a daily basis...No bugs/ insects were ever seen in the room or infact anywhere in the hotel and i can assure you of that as i hate them and i would be the first to complain if they were present. The bathroom consisted of bath with overhead shower that worked via the bath taps, not the best pressure from the shower but apparently this is commmon in the area but worked perfectly well and did the job.

The hotel breakfast area was clean and the breakfasts were nice with a choice of cold meats,eggs, salad, cereal, bread to toast, jam etc.. tea,coffee and juice were also available ( it was even English coffee).

The pool area was clean with plenty of available sunbeds,also chairs and tables are around the pool area which we used at luch time, a gym is also located by the pool.
A lunch menu is available at the hotel, it was very nice food and very well priced, this was well tested by our group as not everyone got up for breakfast so the lunch menu was used most days and i would imagine every dish was tested and with no complaints.

The staff were lovely and they couldn't do enough to help you, as previously stated by another review the staff became more like friends and treated you as a friend and not just a room number like other hotels i have stayed at.

The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the beach and shops with the main town being about 15-20 minutes walk away, (this is an estimate as we had cars).
All in all the San Remo was a very pleasent place to stay and i would stay there again without a doubt, it may only have 2 stars but you get the 5 star treatment from the staff and management.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

SAN REMO ROCKS!!!!
i dont know what drugs hes on but he was definitly tripping on summit bad.....
me and my family stayed there for over two weeks, we went as guests and left feeling that we had made new friends. the San Remo is value for money and more we met the management nik and eurika and andreas, who made our stay with them great, their was also debbie and donna, and we must not forget Mr Grumpy the night porter, for those of u who know who im talking about i actually got a smile from him. the hotel was run professionally it was clean, the pool is a good size and clean the kitchen spotless we eat from there every afternoon. my son would like to say San Remo milkshakes are the best!!
A Big Thank you to nik and eurika for making us feel welcome and our stay enjoyable
also to debbie and donna and not forgetting andreas u made it complete

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0twings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I don't know if "Salvador74" stayed at the same San Remo hotel in Larnaca as we did, but we thought the hotel is exactly as advertised on their website. I simply don't recognise the place from his review so I am struggling to understand the "fraud" comments. Before anybody thinks it, let me stress that I am not the owner! I have to say that Eurika and Debbie were fantastic & generous hosts, and the staff made our stay in Larnaca very comfortable and enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble for them which I cannot say the same of other hotels that I have stayed in Europe.
During our stay we had a problem with a tour which they sorted out that very day for us. They were under no obligation to help us but they did because they cared abou their guests well being. How many hotels would do that for you?
We will definitely stay at the San Remo the next time we visit Cyprus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextheo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eriks, Owner at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for your comments.You and your family stayed for 2 weeks and you survived!The insects that Salvador saw must have only been visible to them and that is why they couldnt see our big clean pool.Glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

It is simply amazing how this hotel had such good reviews in Trip Advisor. You guys definitely need to doublecheck your posts, there was propably a degree of deceit here.
The hotel is plain terrible, there is no need to say something more. The rooms are old, the furniture consists of ancient rotten wood which lost its paint. Insects move freely in all areas including kitchen, dining room , tables etc. The rooms are small, the pool is small and dirty and the staff are just bored to death, waiting for their shift to come to an end (can't blame them for that)...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eriks, Owner at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Everything in this review is untrue.Wrotten wood insects no way.Our pool is huge and so is the pool area and the pool gets cleaned every afternoon.It is not possible to get so many good reviews if they are not true.Any comments(good or bad) by our clients are valued by us and if we can improve on anything we will but this review leaves us speachless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to book this hotel. As my wife is Cypriot we were hoping to meet the owners but they were away. However Debbie was most friendly but we named the night porter Mr Grumpy. The hotel is basic but kept clean & tidy. The breakfast was simple & repetitive. There are many good local restaurants within walking distance and a stroll to the main area takes around 15 minutes. The hotel caters mainly for the Eastern block who are now flooding Cyprus. Should you be looking for a good cheap and clean hotel I would recommend you give this hotel a try. Cars can be hired cheaply but a word of warning be careful where you park as Hire Cars will be ticketed whilst the Cypriot owned cars are not, as we found to our cost..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We were guests for a two weeks in May and June. Rooms are clean. Food is good (HB). We travelled with 4 years old child, but there are no attractions in hotel for kids (except swimming pool).Just like in previous reviews i can tell that staff is nice and trustworthy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacol_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.6 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#24 of 39 in Larnaka City
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petrou Bros Hotel Apartments
Petrou Bros Hotel Apartments
#21 of 39 in Larnaka City
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#28 of 39 in Larnaka City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#31 of 39 in Larnaka City
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#19 of 39 in Larnaka City
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Hotel
#29 of 39 in Larnaka City
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookcyprus.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing