We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, but in need of revamp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location, but in need of revamp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. Hotel is in good location if you look for something close to LCA airport. However, taxi drivers are not happy when you tell them that you'd like to go to this hotel - too close to the airport (so be prepared to pay "additional" fee on top of taximeter's indication for such a short ride to compensate "the loss"). Hotel itself is in the middle - between Mackenzie Beach and Larnaca downtown.
Hotel is in a total need of revamp. Rooms and bathrooms are fine (clean and serviced everyday), but their best days were maybe 10 years ago (an air-condition unit in my room was more than 10 years old and worked erratically). Breakfasts are pretty basic, so be prepared that you won't have much choice. Reception desk staff is nice and friendly (majority of staff), which is a plus.
If you pay a low price for a night then I guess you get what you've paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    127
    70
    27
    28
See reviews for
51
106
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived at night and as greeted by 'Mr Happy' which wasnt a good experience.The hotel is very basic and in need of decorating and updating but the staff are very friendly and will do anything to help you. The pool is average and it is very quiet at night. But the location is brilliant as walking distance to the beach one way and to the town the other direction. We found that Seaspray restaurant (next to charmers) does lovely breakfasts and dinners but found Charmers was very over rated and was actually short changed 10 euros and when we mentioned it they tutted as was very rude!!!
There is a bus from town to Ayia Napia for 5 euros(return) and takes about 30/40 minutes and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganderno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been going to this hotel for six years and have never had a bad stay. The family that own the hotel are really lovely people and make you feel welcome and nothing is to much trouble. The hotel is in a good location not far from the sea and not to far from the town of larnaka for extra entertainment. We love going to cyprus so therefore we shall be returning to san remo for further stay's. All memebers of staff are very approachable including MR HAPPY the night porter !!!!! . There is a pool and bar that serves food over the lunch time and drinks all day . There is a taxi rank out the front or you could hire a car from the rear of the hotel the choice is yours. Hope you enjoy your stay their as we do .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We choose the place since we landed at LCA late and need a spot as close as possible, and it's a good surprise for the cheap price. The front office people are very welcoming and friendly and the pool in the rare was so nice for the first sunny day there. The accomodation is good for the low price and the place clean, so it was a good choice :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

So I arrive into LCA for a day, sole purpose of transiting to the next point on a holiday adventure. Unfortunately, I arrived into LCA at 8am and did not depart again until 9pm... so did a quick google maps search and called the San Remo to inquire about a day rate. The hotel was quick to accommodate and charged for a single occupancy since my friend and I were not going to stay overnight. I cannot stress enough the convenience of this hotel to LCA. For a quick EUR12 ride, we were at the hotel in 15 minutes. The hotel is attached to a taxi stand, and it was very easy to arrange a taxi back to LCA that evening.

We slept and showered. The basic amenities were provided and we felt that it was an excellent value for the amount paid. The staff seemed charming and there was a pool / bar area. Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from Larnaca, where there are better restaurants than the fish n' chips type place recommended by the concierge. If I transit in Larnaca again, I will definitely stay at the San Remo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank xxdgxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Yet again a fantastic visit to the San Remo, I won't repeat on anything on my previous review. But needless to say I felt like I was going home! Can't wait to go back again!!

The resident drunk, Andy, from Solihull, didn't see him so much this time, as he doesn't like to come out when it's too hot. But don't be afraid of him, he's as harmless as he is legless!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanoleggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked a triple room here and ended up two single beds and a fold out bed which was not the best for our 6'3'' son. Air conditioning dodgy. Thankfully only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmalc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.9 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#2 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#24 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Hotel
#27 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#26 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#16 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#17 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Remo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing