We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, unique boutique hotel with the warmest, friendly welcome and service”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, unique boutique hotel with the warmest, friendly welcome and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been in communication with the hotel for 2 months or so in an attempt to ensure my mother-in-law had an enjoyable stay. I am local, so visited twice and couldn't have been treated any better. If all the local tourist traders treated people as well as the staff and management here then there would be nowhere else anyone would want to visit!!
The hotel rooms and public areas are light, airy and filled with unique artworks. The hotel is small with a very personal feel. The free home-made cakes and 24 hour refreshments in the foyer were a lovely touch.
Maybe not the huge faceless commercial operation that may suit certain travellers but I will be recommending to all my friends and family

Room Tip: Views at the front, more peaceful at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGS1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your time end kind review, we'll be happy to accommodate you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    60
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
123
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights whilst scuba diving with Dive In Larnaca. Great hotel if you just want clean rooms, great coffee and cakes all for a bargain price. Lovely staff - even carried a dive bag down the stairs. The hotel is in great location for food as the main promenade is only a stones throw away. Turn left for International restaurants, turn right at the fort for local ones.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank divingdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Spent 3 nights as a solo traveller. Hotel spotlessly clean, very friendly staff, lovely view over square. Manager let me have late check out as I had an evening flight home. Free tea/coffee/jucie/fruit/cake and biscuits all day. Very central location for beach/shops/restaurants. Only negative was my room was rather noisy at night, but small price to pay for the view of the church. Lot of traffic noise, occasional church bells and bin men collected rubbish at 3.45am!

Room Tip: Rooms at front have great view/rooms at back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiegirl148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest, we hope next time you'll choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel Opera is around 5-6 months old so if you're taking a taxi make sure you have the address handy, at Larnaca airport the taxi drivers all looked puzzled when I mentioned the name of the hotel and told them it was next to the Church of St. Lazarus. The hotel is easy to spot from St. Lazarus Square.

This is a boutique hotel with maybe a dozen rooms. I think six of them face the square and of that four of them have small balconies. The view from the rooms facing the square is wonderful and while there wasn’t much noise (except Sunday morning when the Church bells were ringing) the rooms facing the square are likely to get more noise than the rooms further back. That said if you like relaxing with a cup of coffee and watching the world go by try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the square.

Since it's only six months old everything was new and clean. Rooms were a good size but the bathroom was a bit cramped. Had no problems with the hot water in the shower. There's no restaurant but you can help yourself to coffee, tea, fruit, or cake in the lobby anytime you want. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

Location is great as the square is a main area of Larnaca, and it’s only a 5-minute walk to the beach and the old fortress. Plenty of cafés and restaurants at or near the square.

Hotels like this are the reason people shouldn’t just limit themselves to four and five star hotels, thinking that stars = nice. This is a great little hotel, it just doesn’t have amenities like a restaurant, gym or swimming pool. I’ve stayed in hotels with more stars that were not half as nice as Opera.

If you are a traveler that is looking for a nice place to stay to use as a base for exploring then Hotel Opera shouldn’t disappoint you.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony overlooking the square. There's only four of those rooms thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qatarskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guests, thank you and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Clean, comfortable room, great location, super friendly staff. Checked us in early because we were getting married at 9 AM. Wine and chocolates were waiting in the room after the ceremony.
It was a little bit noisy in the morning.
Reasonable prices, free coffee and sweets in the lobby, luggage room and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nastya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Toda, Nastya, for your kindness! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is very nice, small and quiet hotel, located at the St. Lazarus square.
The service is very welcoming and kind, the receptionists are always ready to help. The rooms are clean and comfy and got everything you need.
There's no breakfast, but there's always coffee, tea and some sweets available at the reception, which the guests are more than welcome to use anytime they want.
It's not a luxury hotel, but if you're not looking for spa and big meals - it's just perfect for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest, we hope next time you'll visit Larnaka we'll be happy to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The best hotel in Larnaka that we have seen so far is Hotel Opera. Superb. We would like to thank the team for their generosity, cleanliness, friendliness, and reasonable prices. We already miss our stay there and would love to visit again. Jonathan & Maria.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaKS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Jonathan & Maria, we'll be glad to accommodate you again and make your stay pleasant!
Thank you for your kind review and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.2 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#4 of 39 in Larnaka City
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 39 in Larnaka City
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#3 of 39 in Larnaka City
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Livadhiotis City Hotel
Livadhiotis City Hotel
#12 of 39 in Larnaka City
429 reviews
5.6 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Les Palmiers Beach Hotel
Les Palmiers Beach Hotel
#10 of 39 in Larnaka City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: Faneromenis Avenue 11, Larnaka City 6025, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Opera 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel on historic St. Lazarus Square in Larnaca, with 13 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing