We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Like Visiting the Greek Islands - A Jewel & Great Value!”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had no idea what the interior of this beautiful boutique property in Larnaca hides!

It was my sister first who suggested that I should spend at least a few days out here since she had recommended herself some of the decorative materials used in the hotel through her work. She was sure that I would be thrilled because she knows me well -I am after hotels with character. I did check for availability though but I was not lucky this time as it was fully booked for the dates I wanted to be in Larnaca.

Anyway, some friends from Paphos made it easier for me and at least I had the opportunity to see it before leaving Cyprus. My friends travel a lot and they are repeaters here so they had arranged their stay much before. When they told me that they will be coming to Larnaca to see me and spend the weekend together I had no idea that they had booked here.
I spent much time out here with them during that weekend….because if you see the interior you don’t want to leave!

AMBIENCE: While the forefront of the building is simple and does not tell that much, the interior is a Surprise! From the first step right at the entrance of the marble staircase leading to the first floor the feeling is something I cannot quite describe….I will try but you have to experience it all to feel the character of this hotel.

It is like visiting one of the beautiful Greek islands –Naxos or Santorini! The blue and white interior brings to mind the Mediterranean waters and creates a cool and relaxing ambience.
This particular interior is designed in a way that travels the guest. The simplicity and traditional island style décor in hues of blue and white and the combination of stone makes it standing out in elegance.

It is a family business and you can feel this warm hospitality. With pleasure I was shown around and I had the opportunity during the stay of my friends to book the room I liked best for September.

LOCATION: I would say it is unique. Right opposite St. Lazarus square, very close to the beach, shopping centre and the main attractions of Larnaca.

I will certainly write more about this when I stay here a few months from now.

TIP: Guests can have complimentary coffee throughout the day and night. There is also a free parking lot in close proximity to the hotel.


IN AL: I can’t wait to return in September! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

What we can say dear...., Happy Easter! And hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hotel Opera was an oasis of calmness, the décor is so different with seashells and interesting art on the walls. The blue and white colours that remind you so much of Greece. There is coffee and cake available, also lots of fruit to tempt you if you want to chill out with a book on the terrace.
We stayed three nights on arrival and found the hotel is handy to everything, nice café opposite for lunch and great Taverna just nearby for evening meals. We drove around the island and found the North West great for seafood, but missed Hotel Opera and came back for another three nights. Parking is easy, just next door for E2 a day and the Receptionist put us in touch with a great hire care company who were very obliging, delivering car to the hotel and we dropped it off at the airport. The easiest carhire transaction I have ever made. Hotel staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly. And the hotel is very clean. A great place for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking St Lazarus can be noisy because of the church bells, but they are special beca...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellMcG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear guests, we just want to thank you for your worm review and we'll do everything is possible to make your next stay with comfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at this little Gem boutique hotel in a nice section of Larnaca, after a long flight from Los Angeles. Management including Michael, know how important it is to make their guests feel comfortable and hospitable. Very clean comfortable place and hotel rooms are well appointed.
Abundant of coffee, tea, and special cakes. In fact Michael offered me a delicious cake that was just baked by his wife. Personnel attention is what you will find here. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank kypros73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear guest. we'll be happy to see you again and want to thank you for your worm review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived after dark from the airport. First time driving RH drive car and it was hi-stress going. But after winding through the back streets of Larnaca, we finally arrived at Hotel Opera. Without doubt, it is the best location in the city and just a very short walk to the action on the beachfront.
The hotel is spotless - a huge plus! Breakfast is fine, especially when oranges are in season as they were in February.
Directly across the square is a souvlaki restaurant that features live music on Saturday night. Do not miss it! It's the real thing.
I lost my camera in the vicinity of the hotel. The owner was personally very helpful trying to retrieve it. I never did find it.... if anybody found a little Lumix, please send me the memory card with my pics.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Lazarus square. It is beautifully lit at night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Front Office Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for your worm reviews! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Even though it's hard to find because the street becomes one way - just look up to see the hotel sign, this charming hotel has beautiful ceramic and white and blue decorations just like a Greek island. There are only 13 rooms with a sweet lobby area stocked with coffee, orange juice, cake and fruit that are available 24/7. The woman who works there is so friendly and helpful and Mike, part owner, is also nice.

Room Tip: overlook the courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitaruth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest, toda for your worm review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This great little hotel is all on the first floor reached by marble stairs. Probably the most helpful staff we have ever come across. Only a short walk to many of the attractions offered by this charming city. Parking right next door @ €2 per day. Nice little sun deck. Tea, Coffee & excellent cakes offered all day, with fruit as well always available on the house. Rooms are exceptionally clean. We had Room 1 with balcony overlooking the square, nice for a coffee or drink, there are plenty of places to buy drink as the hotel is not licenced. I am not surprised the Opera is rated No1 hotel in Larnaca, it deserves it. Good Value for money.
There is no lift but plenty of help with bags. I would certainly recommend this bright little place.

Room Tip: This is a city centre hotel, so expect a bit of traffic noise, bells from St Lazarus are early but s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your attention, we'll be happy to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have just returned from a stay at the hotel Opera Larnaca Cyprus and can completely recommend this to travellers. The hotel is very well situated opposite the beautiful St Lazarus church with a good car park at the side only costing 2 Euro per day.
The management and staff go out of their way to be helpful and with clean tidy rooms, good prices and refreshments available at any time included in the price it would I think be difficult to find anything better in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value I think
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donara, Director of Sales at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear John, thank you for your review and hope next time you'll stay longer with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.2 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#5 of 38 in Larnaka City
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 38 in Larnaka City
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#3 of 38 in Larnaka City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Sun Hall Hotel
Sun Hall Hotel
#18 of 38 in Larnaka City
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: Faneromenis Avenue 11, Larnaka City 6025, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Opera 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel on historic St. Lazarus Square in Larnaca, with 13 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing