We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larnaka Salt Lake

Larnaka Salt Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hard to say that it was very good but if you have time leave your car at the road and take the newly built path down to the Mosque. This would be a lovely path along which a family with children could cycle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Una R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    205
    129
    29
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful landscape, especially during the sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was near to the Flamingo Beach Hotel so we visited several times.The landscape is beautiful especially during the sunset when the salt gets a shade of pink and the sky seems a peinture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irinuca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice for Twitchers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Salt Lakes at Larnaca are adjacent the Airport and easily accessible from the roadside. They are visited by hundreds of Flamingos each year during the Winter months and often into late spring. As well as these frequent visitors there are numerous indiginous species for the ardent twitcher to focus his binoculars.
The church of Hala Sultan Tekke Mosque is also situated at the edge of the largest of the lakes and is a well visited heritage site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mithril013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“worth going for photos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

worth visiting once in your life, especially if you are visiting hala sultan tekke, took some amazing photos if you are a keen photographer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChryssoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yep it's a salt lake..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you must go, I advise going near sunset. The hills will serve as a great back drop, and the sun setting behind the hills really is a beautiful site.

Almost daily for six weeks I drove past these lakes. My moped was quite slow, so I was able to get the only long and clear views that I needed. The "lakes" are quite large, they seemed kind of dirty, and yep a lot of salt. Salt chunks, slabs of salt, sprinkles of salt.. but really not exciting.
I didn't understand the hype as I drove by and occasionally saw people taking pictures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larnaka Salt Lake also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Larnaka Salt Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing