We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hala Sultan Tekke

Hala Sultan Tekke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I totally agree with the other reviewer, a beautiful spot, completely let down by a lack of information, we luckily arrived with a french tour party and using our basic french worked out what was there. As with all Cypriot attractions, read all about it before you get there because the signs and information is either lacking or wrong.No guidance on dress code, having been to a Mosque in Turkey all the females in our group covered our heads but others didn't??

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    169
    113
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have visited this site again after a 25yr absence, nothing has changed much except now they pester you until you make a donation there is no information as such, only what you read in guide books, it is just typical of a low cost mosque, the only good point is that you are near to the salt lake which when it dries out the Flamingoes come and they are a wonderful sight to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very worth while visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is worth a visit. The view over the salt flats towards the Mosque is beautiful and quiet unique. The contrast between this and the view of Larnaca airport on the other side of the road could not be more stark.
It is also worth taking the time to actually go into the Mosque (Whilst it is free a donation is expected). This is a small but beautiful building. Before going and in order to fully appreciate this visit to its worth reading up about this history of the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but lack of information”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited here as I thought it would be very interesting. When I got here, the place is beautiful - on the edge of the salt lake - but there is no information apart from a couple of little signs so I didnt really have any idea what I was seeing. Disappointing

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hala Sultan Tekke - peace and tranquility”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went there by Love-bus and I liked the place, although it looked deserted. I was just sorry there was no guide.
I recommand it to every tourist in Larnaca. Don't forget to take your shoes off when you enter!
So sorry there were no flamingo birds in September.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ellinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hala Sultan Tekke also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Hala Sultan Tekke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing