We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hala Sultan Tekke

Hala Sultan Tekke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I totally agree with the other reviewer, a beautiful spot, completely let down by a lack of information, we luckily arrived with a french tour party and using our basic french worked out what was there. As with all Cypriot attractions, read all about it before you get there because the signs and information is either lacking or wrong.No guidance on dress code, having been to a Mosque in Turkey all the females in our group covered our heads but others didn't??

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    129
    80
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have visited this site again after a 25yr absence, nothing has changed much except now they pester you until you make a donation there is no information as such, only what you read in guide books, it is just typical of a low cost mosque, the only good point is that you are near to the salt lake which when it dries out the Flamingoes come and they are a wonderful sight to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well I would go there because is next to the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not because there are things to see there. (actually there is nothing to see there) but since is at the salt lake area ok i would go but only for once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank christosPashiardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very worth while visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is worth a visit. The view over the salt flats towards the Mosque is beautiful and quiet unique. The contrast between this and the view of Larnaca airport on the other side of the road could not be more stark.
It is also worth taking the time to actually go into the Mosque (Whilst it is free a donation is expected). This is a small but beautiful building. Before going and in order to fully appreciate this visit to its worth reading up about this history of the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but lack of information”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited here as I thought it would be very interesting. When I got here, the place is beautiful - on the edge of the salt lake - but there is no information apart from a couple of little signs so I didnt really have any idea what I was seeing. Disappointing

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hala Sultan Tekke also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Hala Sultan Tekke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing