We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archontiko Papadopoulou - CLOSED

Archontiko Papadopoulou
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creative Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The first time we went to this restaurant was on a bank holiday. They usually have some special menue. We love the place. It has so much character and the food is not only really good, but creative and nicely presented. Definetly worth going!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Cyprus!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited the archontiko following a friend recommendation and we are glad for that!!! We had an excellent and unique experience. First of all, the ambiance of the place is unique, the service is fantastic, the wine list is excellent and finally, the food is extraordinaire!!! Have to visit it!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Varnavas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I am alway on the lookout for new restaurants that offer new tastes and the specific restaurant caught my eye from a review in time out magazine naming on of the best restaurants.
I remember thinking to my self. For what? For meze? The whole restaurant is full of tavernas which basically serve the same type of food.
So I decided to take my wife for our anniversary.
We were lucky to be there on a night were a party was cancelled and we were all alone in the restaurant which gave us a chance to talk freely with the waiter. The waiter Helpful and kind and after we ordered he offered to take us on a tour of the wine cellar and the room where the pottery is made while giving a short history lesson of the place.
We ordered the meze which we heard so much about and to tell you the truth it's not like any other meze you will find in any taverna.
It's an upgraded type where most of the food is made in clay pots and is excellently balanced in terms of what was served as opposed to the more traditional meze on the Island which is mainly heavy on grilled meat and fried chips and so on.
The only problems are the location which is basically in the middle of the village which is not necessary a bad thing but navigating through the narrow roads at night without clear indication to the parking/restaurant can be frustrating at best.
Overall excellent service and excellent food

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yiangoss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
220 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Truly exquisite food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I absolutely loved dining here; food is wonderful, Cypriot cuisine at its best served with a twist. We went on a Sunday lunchtime and had the set menu which has an amazing selection, something for everyone.
The waiter was charming and explained each course to us.
Wine which the waiter recommended was a perfect accompaniment to the outstanding food.
I cannot speak highly enough of this unique restaurant; in fact have made two further reservations to show off this little gem to my friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCatLady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Archontiko Papadopoulou is a uniquely renovated restaurant that connects a historical traditional house with modern Cypriot cuisine. I was pleasantly surprised to experience it.

A must visit place that can inspire a lot of professionals to improve. A good example for authentic hospitality. The gastronomic touch is close to perfection. Some old Cypriot recipes don't have the class to be included in this culinary highlight. The cave is certainly a great point of interest.
I personally find this place ideal for professional meetings and hospitality seminars

I have no hesitation to recommend a visit to this great place in a common village.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archontiko Papadopoulou also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing