We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archontiko Papadopoulou

Archontiko Papadopoulou
Ranked #90 of 293 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food and place is as wonderful as we remembered from May. The main waiter is professional, attentive and just lovely.

This time we braved the meze, it was delicious and each dish delicate but just kept coming, so make sure you are hungry! The meze is very reasonably priced with wine included, very pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hirschbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Set menu, not so great this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been to Archontiko Papadopoulou 3 times since it's opened. During the first, we were impressed with the modern take on Cypriot delicacies and enjoyed the ambiance.
The second was last June (Father's day) when I went there with my family. They offered a Set menu with dishes prepared in the locally-made clay cookware. It was again excellent. The food was fresh and delicious and we really enjoyed the set menu.
The third time was today. We were there as a group of 10 friends enjoying a day off and we decided to take them on on the advertised set menu. Unfortunately, this time things were not so great. We left with the feeling that many dishes were dry and possibly prepared in advance and kept in a way that their natural appearance and taste faded away. Still we did have excellent bread and spreads and salads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Cypriot food tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Eating Cypriot mezze can be an experience with no surprise since dishes are more or less the same in most restaurants on the island. Here, this was definitely not the case. The chef demonstrates rare creativity and inventivity and the result is delicious. We were a group of 8 and we all agreed that this was among the best food ever had in a Cypriot restaurant and that it was definitely worth the trip .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouzourou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice try but needs a lot of work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A friend ask me to join them on this
it seems that Archontiko Papadopoulou only have special nights, not open daily


the environment was very nice, but it has too hot, we had to seat outside and it was very hot and moist. the food was cypriot cuisine but nothing special

service was OK, but not what it should be

not worth the money you pay though, they must try more

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is the second time, two years in a row that we visited Archontiko Papadopoulou, we loved the first time so we came back!

The setting is beautiful, in the mountains, a quiet village far away from the human zoos that beach towns can be.

The service is excellent and the food is simply beautiful, Cyprus cuisine with a contemporary twist, from far the best we've had in Cyprus, high quality cuisine at a reasonable price.

Highly recommended if you want to enjoy some inspirational food served in an idyllic setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EVcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archontiko Papadopoulou also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Archontiko Papadopoulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing