We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Cypriot food tasted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archontiko Papadopoulou - CLOSED

Archontiko Papadopoulou
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Cypriot food tasted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Eating Cypriot mezze can be an experience with no surprise since dishes are more or less the same in most restaurants on the island. Here, this was definitely not the case. The chef demonstrates rare creativity and inventivity and the result is delicious. We were a group of 8 and we all agreed that this was among the best food ever had in a Cypriot restaurant and that it was definitely worth the trip .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouzourou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice try but needs a lot of work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A friend ask me to join them on this
it seems that Archontiko Papadopoulou only have special nights, not open daily


the environment was very nice, but it has too hot, we had to seat outside and it was very hot and moist. the food was cypriot cuisine but nothing special

service was OK, but not what it should be

not worth the money you pay though, they must try more

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is the second time, two years in a row that we visited Archontiko Papadopoulou, we loved the first time so we came back!

The setting is beautiful, in the mountains, a quiet village far away from the human zoos that beach towns can be.

The service is excellent and the food is simply beautiful, Cyprus cuisine with a contemporary twist, from far the best we've had in Cyprus, high quality cuisine at a reasonable price.

Highly recommended if you want to enjoy some inspirational food served in an idyllic setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EVcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rolls Royce of Meze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Whether you live in Cyprus or are just visiting it is definitely worth going to Archontiko Papadopoulou for an amazing dining experience. The Archontiko Papadopoulou restaurant is located in the village of Kornos about a half hour drive from Larnaca. The village is famous for its pottery workshops and the restaurant is set in a beautiful renovated mansion. Everything about this restaurant is spectacular, the interior design is beautiful and the outside dining area is plentiful, set within a secluded walled courtyard with trees and plants. The restaurant has its own pottery workshop and a fantastic wine cellar. My husband and I decided to dine here for my birthday treat and were not disappointed. Earlier in the year, out of season, we spent some time in Kornos and visited the restaurant during the day for coffee and a quick look at the menu. We decided then that we would definitely come back for a meal during the summer when we could experience the outdoor, romantic ambience. There is an a la carte menu, meze menu and impressive wine menu. As their speciality is serving meze in small hand-made clay pots we decided to give it a try. There were 18 dishes altogether, all of which were delicious and expertly prepared. The combinations of taste and textures were amazing and far superior to any meze we have ever had elsewhere. The cost in our opinion was very reasonable, 25 euros each including a very high quality house wine and unlimited table water. Amongst the dishes were three kinds of homemade bread, several deliciously crafted starters, tavas, kleftico, marinated chicken, stuffed pork, salad with figs, halloumi with sesame seeds, stuffed mushrooms, stuffed aubergines and much more. To finish the meal there were four different homemade traditional sweets, coffee and Commandaria. Also if you prefer to buy your drinks separately you can order the meze at a cost of 22 euros per person. Our waiter and the restaurant owner were both very helpful and informative and explained in detail about the wine and the ingredients of each dish. They asked us for our email address so they can inform us of future special events, such as gourmet BBQ and wine tasting evenings. We were very impressed with everything about Archontiko Papadopoulou and will definitely be dining there again. We also look forward to treating our guests in the future to a "Rolls Royce" dining experience that they will never forget!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MumsKitchenLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

All of the dishes were fantastic. The ingredients were fresh and the recipes quite innovative. Many different seating options from outside to various rooms, including the charming wine cellar. Wines were numerous and very pleasing. I plan on returning next time we visit Cyprus. Our server was wonderful, unfortunately I forget his name. We returned the following day for lunch after having a wonderful dinner the night before, and he was so warm and friendly.... A must see!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenp344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archontiko Papadopoulou also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing