We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Village Taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayia Anna tavern

Ayia Anna tavern
Ranked #39 of 317 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
220 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Traditional Village Taverna”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A lively evening to be had by one and all - not to be recommended if you fancy a quiet, romantic evening! We visited mid week and the taverna was full to capacity and no tourists - a good indication of quality and reasonable prices.
The mezze itself was average, nothing memorable about the food. We ordered six mezzes but the starter portions were inadequate, tiny plates which were not enough to go around our table of 7. Hot dishes were an assortment of mostly unrecognisable ingredients.
However, entertainment good and continuous throughout the evening.
Beer served in frozen earthenware mugs which was a nice touch. Self service of the desserts and coffee also something unique.
Good for families - reservations essential.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCatLady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Is it the Best Meze”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are no menus, its a Meze or nothing and the food is local and delicious .. and you get to make your own Cypriot Coffee at the end .. a little out of the way and we booked a week in advance

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nollaigglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
578 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“TRADITIONAL GOOD TAVERN”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had Cyprus-meze (variety dishes), as our Sunday-lunch, the whole family. The food was tasty and plenty ( not good for those on diet), the service quick and prises reasonable.
Self-service for the desserts and made our cyprus-coffee by ourselves. The music is only at nights.The tavern located at Ayia Anna village, about half hour from Nicosia or Larnaca.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Athina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Traditional food and music”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Plenty of interesting and delicious food. Never ending meze. Live music. Overall it was a good experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Christening Celebration”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were here to celebrate a christening and instead of the usual Meze we had a buffet serving both hot and cold food which was excellent. We were a party of 120 people. The choice of dishes and the speed with which empty dishes were replaced was first class. Desserts and coffee also very good.
This is the first time we have eaten inside and it was very atmospheric.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayia Anna tavern also viewed

Oroklini, Larnaka City
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Ayia Anna tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing