We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget Hotel”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Larnaka City
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Again my boyfriend and I managed to get away from work for a couple of days and decided to visit the other side of the island and being on a budget decided on the cactus although were a bit dubious after reading the reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised.

In a quiet part of Larnaca, a short walk from Mackenzy beach and about a 15min walk to the town centre, the hotel was clean tidy and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant and clean with a nice balcony and air con. The only negative thing i have to say is that the shower, although warm, was not much more that a dribble but I'm sure that will be rectified soon.
The pool was nice and close to a lovely outside bar which always helps. There was a nice choice for breakfast and you could choose to eat in or out. Evening meals I believe are good value for money but we decided to eat out in one of the many lovely local restuarants around the hotel.

Those of you that have moaned about the hotel- maybe you should pay more money for your hotel if you want luxury!!

A really nice stay and we would go again. cheers

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazcolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Cactus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

We read the reviews about the Cactus Hotel and although they were very conflicting we decided to book it anyway (can't please all of the people all of the time ..). It is advertised as a 2 star hotel and we were therefore not expecting too much.

However, it was DIRE.

The room was cleanish and very basic, as expected. The bathroom could have done with a really good scrub or re-grouting. We asked for extra pillows and this was sorted quite quickly.

However, there was no hot water, the breakfast was awful, when we came back to our room for our second night, the bed had barely been made and dinner was chicken and rice - no choice! Whoever gave this hotel 2 stars was being very generous indeed. We couldn't wait to get out of there and were hugely thankful that we were only staying for 3 nights, which was 3 nights too long.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCBMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

OH MY GOD!!! is all I can say! Are the people that have written good reviews serious??? This is definitely the worst hotel I have ever had the experience of staying in!!!! Fortunately it was only for 1 night, while waiting to go to the airport.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I do honestly hand on my heart, see good and bad in all accommodation and I do keep an open mind!!! But this hotel is no way a 3 star! more like a minus 3 star....

The one thing that was ok about the hotel was the pool which I admit was clean. But anything else, forget it - the rooms are dated, dull and I spotted a few small cochroaches in mine! The area is like Beirut on a good day, and there is not much do immediately around the hotel. A good 20 minute walk along the front does take you into the beach front Larnaca resort - which is quite swanky and nice!

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank misscmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We had a great 2 weeks at the cactus. Rooms cleaned every day, clean sheets & towels every 3 days. Friendly staff treated us like family-nothing was too much trouble. We were staying half board, breakfast was a selection of cold meats & cheese, hard boiled eggs, toast & jam, bread & butter, tea or coffee and orange juice laid out to help yourself. Evening meal was basic but varied.
Richie is barman/waiter and works hard to look after guests needs.
Not far from other bars & restaurants, mini markets, ice cream parlours etc. 10 mins from Mckenzy beach. 15-20mins walk from town centre.
This is 2* rating but much better in reality

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mothergoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed a week at the Cactus hotel. Remember it is 2 star, so if you are looking for a friendly, clean hotel with no frills, you will like it there. We shared a twin room with a small balcony overlooking the pool, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we had no complaints at all, We split the cost of 26 euros per night, which we obtained by booking on the net. We hired a motor scooter from directly over the road, cheap as chips, and we scootered all over the countryside.
We went at the end of July, its just 2 weeks before their peak tourist time so it was not too busy, and the weather was glorious. The breakfast was included in the price, and we loved it. Cereal, bacon and eggs, toast etc. More than adequate for 2 travelling teachers from the middle east. We used their internet for a very reasonable price, and the manager gave us lots of ideas for looking around and filling in our days. Drinks at the bar were reasonable, our rooms were cleaned daily. I would definitely go back there. If you want luxury and pampering, well perhaps you should choose another hotel, but if you are happy with clean and friendly, the Cactus Hotel could be a good option for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Judechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Warning Bell's is the main concern this time..........................

Please be warned that this matter is serious..........................

The fire alarm system does NOT WORK in the hotel.
The fire escapes to the pool area are always clogged up & the doors are difficult to open.

The kitchen area may have had a lick of paint, but was just a lick; if you do visit have a look behind the wooden doors.
If yo have ever watched “LIFE of GRIME” on English TV, they should have been on this program.

Never again will I visit this hotel after seeing this first hand, I wouldn’t want to put my family life’s at risk.

I will search out the photo's & post them foreveryone to see!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank neb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I have been visiting Larnaca for many years and stayed in a lot of hotels, but the best i have stayed in is the Cactus.I read some bad reviews but the new management have changed everything.Exellent food as good as 3star, very friendly just like family,exellent bar,pool spotless,easy on the pocket, even took me to the airport! thanks to Marios and Cleanthist, Will be back in Oct for a longer stay (Best value for money in larnaca)

Stayed: June 2008
Thank incha91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.0 mi away
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#23 of 38 in Larnaka City
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#28 of 38 in Larnaka City
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#24 of 38 in Larnaka City
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
#33 of 38 in Larnaka City
75 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
#26 of 38 in Larnaka City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Address: 6-8 Tyrimou Str | PO Box 42318, Larnaka City 6533, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range: $39 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Otel, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Larnaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing