We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DEATH TRAP AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“DEATH TRAP AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was very let down when arriving at the hotel cactus in Cyprus

On arrival it was horrendous stuffy no air con in the lobby which already was not very pleasant and that wasn't the worst when i arrive in the "room" it was absolutely disgusting and was shocked at how that is called a hotel.

The place stank of smoke and old un freshness the noise from the fans outside which made a racket and the cupboard drawer which fell on my foot out of old age and the bathroom was disgusting not cleaned properly pubes everywhere and the toilet blocked and last but not least the air con was not working in the bed room that was the final thing which made me scout for a new hotel.I

This was horrendous and well below any standard and that's what made me leave about an hour after check in. I spoke to reception staff and weren't very helpful and so i went and found something else.

AVOID

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    45
    27
    38
See reviews for
19
59
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kragujevac
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

far away from city beach, public main bus station and center, bathroom is very old and has to be reconstructed, threre's no super markets and public bus station near hotel, polite staff, good price, internet is ok, breakfast is ok, cleanliness is very good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourbonnais
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had reserved Cactus hotel via BOOK-CYPRUS.
When I arrived with my group in Larnaca (8 people) the hotel was closed.
We had no information from Book Cyprus before arrival. They only ask us to pay total 8 days before arrival !
So, nobody to wait us - we came to San Remo hotel (same director) and we found 1 double room (ok) - and 2 triple room with one big bed and a camping bed for baby.
We had also reserved lunch, but no restaurant in San Remo. We were sent to à 3rd hotel (Flamingo beach) far from San Remo (we need car to travel to this restaurant) - always the same director !
Only potatoes and noodles with fish no cooked - Only small apples for dessert and not enough for everybody.
However, nice people in reception.
Nevermore book cyprus !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
3 Thank achilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Larnaka
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The breakfast wasn't that good but the price was OK! Big Trouble with the booking, i neede endless phonecalls with "easybook.com. they didnt made the reservation for me so i got problems with the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manuel Erwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had book this hotel one day before coming, but on our arrival we found the hotel closed and our names written on the window, with the direction to go to next hotel san remo, which was under reconstruction also. We think, it is not honest to sell the room, which you already know that you will not be able to give.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgr2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

You get what you pay for. Golden rule, especially when it comes for hotel stay.
cactus is ranked as 2 stars, and makes its job.
To be clear, I would never ever use it for a proper vacation, or even for more than 2 nights, but in my case, as a quick overnight stay, in low season, with ridicolously cheap fare, thanks some discount I got on the web, the overall impression can be positive.
Old furnishing, tired room, mediocre toilette.
Uninterested reception, with a charged wifi, and not a cheap one.
But TV was working, aircon was ok, and the area is enough silent and 20 minutes walk far to the centre of larnaca.
Hairdryer down.
Breakfast in a nearby caffè. Basic, very basic.
But again, if you're looking after an hotel, don't go to Cactus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilPetrarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After staying at the fantastic Mediterranean Beach Hotel in Limassol I did not want to drive the 90km to my morning flight so I booked this penal colony masquerading as a hotel. When I gave my credit card at booking I was asked to pay cash at check-in. Ok, it was only 51€. I hand over a 50€ note and a 2€ coin. No change and no recipt followed. When I asked for a receipt fearing the old "double charge" scam, I was told (in Greek which I also speak) "what? You don't trust us?" I laughed and thought f*** it. The room was of a squalor that no words in the English language can do it justice. Cockroaches, fleas, bodily fuids from previous inmate, and those were the charming points. I immediately got into my rental car and drove the Salamis to get octopus and get drunk so I would not have to go back to the cell. I got drunk. It was now 1am, my flight was at 7am. I "slept" for 3 hours and after thanking God that I survived the night, checked out. Out of over 1000 hotels I have stayed throughout the world, including war zones, this is the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harrark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#21 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#24 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#26 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
#31 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
#28 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 6-8 Tyrimou Str | PO Box 42318, Larnaka City 6533, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Larnaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing