We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good image,bad feel...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good image,bad feel...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel even if it is in a nice region of Larnaca lacks facilities thought to be necessary even for this category.Also a bad smell in the rooms is an issue for this hotel.The breakfast is basic but good...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    50
    30
    39
See reviews for
22
65
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

i have been to cyprus 4 times over past ten years and 4th time i ended up in this pit. i must have been drunk when i booked it. i would not even let my dogs stay there. the staff are as much help as a chocolate teapot. english is terrible the breakfasts were the same old crap every morning i lived on toast all week. my partner fell over and bashed his head due to a dirty wet mopped floor and they didnt give a dam, thats the stage where they pretended to not understand english. the rooms were filthy and the bathrooms were minging and the bath was half the size as a nornal one. infact the toilet was bigger. to anyone going to this hotel god help ya oh and beaware of the 2 thieving [--] opposite hiring out cars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Were not happy with this hotel the staff were unfriendly and anhelpful.We pay bed and breakfast but when we go for breakfast the morning noone came to ask us for breakfast because we late five minutes and when we ask the reception about breakfast they tell us that they can't serv us and the breakfast finish.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
2 Thank maria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Really bad equipped, smelling rooms, awfull breakfasts. What to say more? Keep away.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexSt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed at the Cactus in October 2011, and have nothing positive to say whatsoever...
Note here that the previous reviews are in agreement with my experience and only wish i'd read these prior to booking.The hotel staff were unfriendly, unhelpful and non-welcoming. The room was less than basic, broken headboard, with the skeleton of a radio on it with exposed wires hanging from it. There was only one socket in the whole room.
The hotels gym was closed although their webisite doesn't state this and when i inquired as to why, the response was curt, rude and patrornising.
The wifi access was non existent.
Breakfast was as basic as possible, providing toast, cereal and a few tasteless slices of cold meats.
Complete disappontment for a hotel choice, but this was balanced out by the lovely country itself....

Room Tip: Easy, choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drudruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here as a group of 4 lads from England.
The rooms were very basic and the bathroom was horrible...but it did the job.
had little expectation before going as we got the hotel at a great price..

have to say, Marius (the guy who runs it) is great. bar open till when ever everyone goes to bed....basic food and decent pool. Marius makes the best cocktail called No Homo

the hotel is located near the strip (no more than a 5 min walk) and about the same distance to the beach.

it has many "workers" that use the hotel during the day so the pool area can be a tad crowded....also its not a huge hotel so you get to know everyone.

thanks Marius. top man...when the taxi drivers were on strike.. he made a quick call and got a whole coach to take us to the airport..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedelldays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

2 cockroaches within 24 hours, big fat ones. Very dirty room, and very bad smell (human feces, very strongly). They changed our room, because we can't stay in that smell, but the new room was bad too. The staff was nice, and the breakfast was acceptable (not good, but acceptable), the pool was clean. Some local people were very noisy at night, so they shouting and slamming the doors at 3.am, and the garbage truck came 2.am EVERY NIGHT.

It was very, very bad.
No free wifi, 3 € /hour, but if you lucky you can catch a free hotspot at the lobby (Thom_28016 i think).

Do not go there, it was terrible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZsirapH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#23 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#25 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
#33 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#27 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
#26 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 6-8 Tyrimou Str | PO Box 42318, Larnaka City 6533, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Larnaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing