We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We had to change rooms because of the smell!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We had to change rooms because of the smell!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we arrived, the staff gave us a small apartment with two rooms.

The apartment was pretty spacy, but the furniture and the carpet were filthy. It looks like the hotel had never been renovated or cleaned professionally (carpets, sofas, armchairs).
We waited for one day with the doors open but in the end it was impossible to sleep there, so the next day we asked to change rooms.

The staff initially stated that they had given us their best room!?!

We insisted and in the end they transfered us to another apartment, that was very big and didn't have that disgusting carpet. The second apartment was nice and clean, and we really liked it.

Nevertheless, I couldn't stop thinking about the other poor family that would have to sleep at our old apartment, because I don't think they intended to clean it.

I wouldn't recomend it, because of the odour.

Room Tip: If you have a smelly room, ask to change immediately, don't wait, because the odour doen't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gal2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
11
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok for this amount of money is quote value !
But, the stuff on the reception are horrible terrible the old women on the reception she was talk too badly to us!
For nothing we did!!!!

There's was no internet on the room by some reason! So we supposed to stay at the lobby to catch a connection!

She was always screaming to as like don't stay here got here ! Don't use this charger use the other one!

The fact not what she was say but the way if her ton !!!!!!


We where to disappointed!!!!
Horrible !!!! Horrible! One more time horrible!

I'm traveling a lot around the world and different counties even at the wars India we had a better serves and much more friendly stuff!!!!!!


This hotel was my most bad feeling experience of staying at the hotel !!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staff is friendly and willing to help, especially manager Criss, who helped us with rooms change.
The rooms are pretty basic but you get what you pay for !
We got a bigger apartment on the ground floor ( Room Nr. 105) after our complaint about awakening every night ( Room Nr.401 pool side) at 3-5 am because of disco club close to the hotel! The new room was noisy too – it was on the loudly main street Arch. Makariou side. There are a lot of pubs/bars/clubs that played extremely loud music until 3am. In room Nr.105 lives cockroaches ! If you wont to sleep at night, do not take this hotel !
The room is very old-styled and clearly needs a consequent refreshment Basic cooking facilities, a fridge, one ring, a toaster and kettle.
No shampoo in the bathroom.
Breakfast ( 3.5 Euro) is very basic und every day the same: 1 egg, juice, thin coffee , 3 slices of cheese and ham , 3 toasts, 2 pieces of marmalade and butter.
Very basic local TV
A bit too far away from the beach – about 20 min.
Wireless internet only in public areas (lobby), but worked perfectly with the password given.

Room Tip: If you wont to sleep at night, do not take this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

just returned from Sunflower. Read lots of reviews and really believe the sunflower is value for money with welcoming staff, free air con and wi-fi and clean everywhere. the complex needs updating in area's but the credit crunch has hit them big time, so sad to see bar and restaurant closed and hotel was half full, however this meant we were the only people using pool( extremely clean) and if we wanted anything ie-coffee at pool, extra towels and to keep room on until our flight home the receptionist didnt hesitate to assist or overcharge. Overall these apartments are in a good location, only 10min walk to beach with shops around the corner, clean and ideal if you want a clean bed in a peacefull location. I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: ask for room with pool view as some rooms face main road, our room was 308 and no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all the price was allmost the cheapest in larnaca. The hotel itself is ok, but the rooms are a little dirty and bad equiped.The TV in the room didnt work, even after someone did come to repair it. On the sites it says that it is very close to the beach, it is a lie, in front of the hotel is the harbour, not the beach. The nearest beach is about 20-25 minutes walk. The restaurant at the hotel is very nice though and the watress also. Would recomend this hotel for the price, if you like something greater, find something more expensive:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virlan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sunflower for the first 6 days of our stay in Larnaca. I cannot say the place resembled an hold hospital.

Some of the rooms have been refurbished our two bed apartment was not to bad the patio doors were new as were the bathroom and kitchen tiles. yes the furniture was a little dated but not dirty.we saw no rust in the kitchen and no dust.We had three good size balconies. the location was great for the larger supermarkets and the Kitieon ruins. The building was clean and shiny all through the corridors and entrance. but we did find the beds extremely hard.

Yes it is on a busy main road which is not pedestrian friendly but we knew the location was close to somewhere we had to visit a couple of times on Makarios ave.

All the staff were friendly helpful with local info the old guy speaks little English but used to get someone that could.

Oscars restaurant downstairs my only complaint was that I ordered pasta-cheese only to find a thick layer of pork at the bottom which I hate they should have said on the menu.

There is a pick up joint of a bar across the main road the girls seem to get annoyed if they see you looking over the balcony.

But on the Sunflower I would not return because of the location it was handy at the time I hate crossing that road. but for the price they it was not that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Budget hotel, not very close from the main city street, but well linked by bus, not only with the centre but with the airport too. We are not very fussy, however from the beginning we had the feeling to be in a building which looks like an old hospital, sensation confirmed when we got into our room. Kitchen facilities very rusty, ruined ceiling and dusty furniture, blanket not very fresh. Furthermore, the main road is really busy and noisy, with a bad smell at night. Just the bathroom was okay, clean and with hot water, though there were not window. Also, when we ask for direction to the airport, it was really funny how the receptionist suggested us to go to a travel agency, not aware that the bus stop was just opposite the hotel. Friendly but a bit inefficient. Swimming pool not very attracting and old furniture stacked up all around before its entrance. Hotel in which is advisable not to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrilondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
1.2 mi away
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
#31 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#24 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Frangiorgio Hotel Apartments
Frangiorgio Hotel Apartments
#23 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#16 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Palmiers Beach Hotel
Les Palmiers Beach Hotel
#14 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Property: Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Address: 69, Makarios Ave | P.O. Box 40164, Larnaka City 6301, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing