We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and pleasant hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunflower Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69, Makarios Ave | P.O. Box 40164, Larnaka City 6301, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great and pleasant hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at Sunflower Hotel in Larnaca for one week with a team of 27 architecture students from Paris. We came to study Larnaca and the hotel was very nice and the people extremely warm and kind.
We had a good time and they helped us with everything we needed: information about the city, how to find addresses, where to eat and what to do. The hotel has an amazing pool and is also quite close to the beach. In the area you can easily find shops and restaurants.
They even offered their kitchen and we did some amazing dinners together.
Their wireless internet at the reception works like charm.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny and they have 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burntisland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just arrived back from a two week stay at the sunflower apartments. It was absolutely terrific! The reviews do not do it enough justice. Everything was great and all working. The staff are very helpful and the rooms cleaned thoroughly every day. We cannot fault this lovely place. The location on Makarios Avenue is well placed and very close to all shops, cafes, bars and so on. The best bit is the cost. It is excellent value for money Compare it's prices to any of the big hotels and you will be shocked at the difference. We paid only £400 for a superb apartment with cooker, fridge,toaster, air con. and twin balcony for two weeks in early september.Weather was hot hot and the pool was very pleasant and quiet with ample sunbeds. I know the hotel is a bit old, but it is very clean and the rooms are very spacious. We priced lots of hotels in Larnaca and Dekalia Road areas and nothing comes close to this for value for money. Similar places with the facilities of the Sunflower start at around £1000 for the fortnight! Believe me, we checked. Do not be afraid at the low cost of this place in case you think it is scruffy, because it most certainly is not, it is just a bit dated but clean. We know people that have used this hotel apartments for many years and come back again and again and so will we (god willing) Special thanks go to Kiki on reception for her very helpful and caring attitude. We highly recommend the Sunflower hotel apartments for anyone looking for value for money. There are lots of hotels that are newer and more modern, but twice or three times the cost. Hope this review is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnBurntisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just 1 night before early flight. Hotel is ok for money but fairly old & rundown. The traffic noise is very bad & air con in the bed room did not work. The pool area was ok but seen better times. It was only 5-7min walk to promenade & opposite airport bus stop so some good points.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philadams68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We left London for Larnaca via Munich on a Saturday evening and had to wait ninety minutes to take off. This resulted in us arriving at the hotel at 04.30 tired and exhausted, and thanks to Lufthansa without any luggage. We were met in reception by a creepy looking receptionist who, after taking our passports escorted us to the fourth floor where our apartment was waiting. We arrived and he struggled for 4 minutes fighting to get the door to unlock. Eventually we entered and we were able to gleam that the glossy vistas we saw on the internet were not quite what we were now witness to. Tired, we decided to get some sleep and to assess what we had let ourselves in for at the break of the next day. The bright sunshine of the next morning did nothing more than further enhance our appointment. The kitchen had a dirty looking sink, a toaster which we later discovered did not work, and a kettle and single hotplate. This proved to be great for toasting pitta bread. Cupboards were falling apart and the shower left a great deal to be desired. We also had issues with having to put used toilet paper into the bin provided and not in the toilet, a fact I regularly managed to conveniently forget.
In the light of day the reception turned out to be quite bearable and the wi-fi was fast, so we were able to broadcast our appointment via Skype to our friends and family.There were regular shift changes and one of the ladies proved to be quite helpful when she learned of our mishap with the luggage- which was delivered eventually at 04.00 in the morning of Monday.
We decided to have breakfast in the hotel on the second day, the choice displayed being continental for 3.5 euros and full English for five. We opted for the full english but were told that there was only continental available, which was accompanied by a discussion about how we were going to pay for breakfast as our board was "room only". We settled in cash to avoid further non understanding as the old "waiter" was struggling with his limited command of English. Having received our swimwear we were able to savour the delights of the pool. We were able to sit for most of the day without any disturbance by any of the guests.There was not a beach towel in sight. After some hours in the hot sun I thought i'd try my luck in the bar attached to the restaurant. I found my waiter friend in the kitchen with a shank of lamb hanging out of his mouth. I had obviously uninterrupted his lunch. I ordered 2 cold drinks but unfortunately the bar was not available. I don't recall it being available for the duration of the stay. Ever resourceful, I went to the supermarket next door and managed to lay my hands some cold beers. The hotel is a mile from the beachfront of Larnaca which was very pleasant and modern. We checked out at 11 o'clock on the Saturday morning and managed to arrange fot the hotel to keep our luggage whilst we spent the last day on the beach. They had arranged for a taxi to transfer us to the airport for 15 euros at 11 pm. The early evening shift changed and Mr.Creepy was back. We said our goodbyes when the taxi arrived and just as we were about to depart he came running out demanding the key. I tried to explain that the reason why it was not in it's pigeonhole was because I had told the morning receptionist that the process of unlocking the room door was often in excess of 4 minutes. She had therefore sent it for repair. However the weird one was almost insistent that I produce a key for room 408. I showed him my anger and departed in the taxi with him running round on circles, very confused.
On our travels near the beachfront we came across a restaurant run by Peter from Cockfosters. He had returned to Cyprus some years ago and was now the owner of what proved to be an Oasis. If you like eating local Cypress food, this place is the best. At SANTA FE Restaurant they have different choices every day, and you can eat as much as you want for 8 Euros only. The food was excellent and I would recommend you visit.at least once.
As for the hotel, don't even go there. Its the pits. I would also give Lufthansa a miss.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel nearer the beachfront will certainly be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmuller935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Looked ok from the pictures. When we arrived I requested a non smoking room. We were given a smoking room, it was dirty, the furniture out dated. The carpet was the worst thing ever...filthy. The place seriously needs updating and cleaning. The pictures are VERY DECEIVING! The rooms are dark. No lighting in the corridors leading to the rooms. Unable to sleep due to extremely loud music from neighbouring pubs 8pm-5am. CHECK IT OUT BEFORE U BOOK!

Room Tip: Do not recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junaid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I have been in Sunflower Hotel, Larnaca in July 2011. I was there for a business trip. The hotel is an old one. The staffs are friendly. The room is a bit dirty. The most disgussting happening was that when I was trying to sleep, and while the airconditioning system was working, a cockroch dropped down out of the airconditioning system. I do not recomend this hotel. Rooms are small and halls are dark and warm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awesome_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
9.6 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
Eleonora Hotel Apartments
#15 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#23 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
#30 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#20 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lysithea Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Property: Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Address: 69, Makarios Ave | P.O. Box 40164, Larnaka City 6301, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing