We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood platters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ocean basket

ocean basket
Ranked #4 of 289 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: it's a chain
ni
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood platters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great selection of seafood , platters are good value for money , prawns are simply fab.
Could do with more outside seating but that is the only negative .

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boo640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    187
    80
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fish at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent food and excellent service. The basic fish and chips are good value and tasty. Love they way they are served in a frying pan! I can highly recommend the grilled cod served which I had with a village salad. Have eaten in Ocean Basket in Larnaca, Ayia Napa and Paphos and they are all delicious.

Visited October 2012
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank Liz208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant in Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The restaurant was very busy when we went in so it was clear that this was going to be something special. It exceeded all expectations. My wife, whose first choice of food is not seafood, thought she was in food heaven! I loved it too.The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them - not something we are particularly used to in this area of Cyprus! The food was of good value, beautifully presented and just as tasty. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnH887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Seafood on a Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I believe that Ocean Basket is a South African franchise. Certainly the humourous descriptions on the menu indicate a tongue in the cheek approach to food. However, there is nothing funny about the quality of the food.

My wife and I introduced two English friends to Ocean Basket in Larnaca. It proved to be a great way to spend a sunny lunch time.

We opted for the Full Deck Platter; a mixture of Prawns, Line Fish, Muscles and Calamari accompanied by a Boschendal Blanc de Noir.

Our friends were amazed at the speed with which the platter appeared. The quality and quantity of the seafood (A steal at Euro 42).

The Larnaca restaurant is an excellent representative of the brand and if I find myself in Larnaca again I will certainly visit. If you are in Paphos (As I am at the moment) then there is also a branch here which is equally as good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only seafood option in Larnaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was very surprised when visiting Cyprus not to have a plentiful choice of fresh seafood restaurants like in other Mediterranean countries. After a short search we were recommended Ocean Basket. Even though it didn't have a vast choice, it was a very good experience. Service was very attentive and friendly and there was lots of food for very reasonable price. Location was amazing as its right on the promenade in the middle of all the buzz. Doesn't compare to Spanish or Portuguese options but as far as Cyprus goes, its pretty decent!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ocean basket also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to ocean basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing