We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic little restaurant a little off the main street” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Elena Fish Restaurant

Santa Elena Fish Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 303 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Travelling Essex man
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant a little off the main street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited Zygi on the off-chance passing through on a weekend motorbiking in Cyprus. Originally we stopped just for a coffee at Santa Elena but the food looked so good that we stayed for a seafood meze for lunch at 21 euros/person. The fish dishes were simple but brilliant - fresh, tasty - and far too much for two people to eat!! We had mussels, shrimp, red mullet, whitebait, octopus, squid, cuttlefish and a steamed fish I couldn't identify along with dips and a huge salad.
The staff were extremely friendly and did everything they could to make our visit special.
It's not on the harbour but none the worse for it. Sit outside in a small courtyard/pedestrian road. It is one of our favourite memories from our visit to Cyprus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great simple fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Santa Elena was recommended to us and we weren't disappointed. Located in Zygi, the restaurant is in the centre of the village opposite the church. The food is just simply prepared fish, and was delicious. The atmosphere very homely. We visited twice. We had simple starter dips, followed by fish. As simple as that. The wine that we were offered was great too. Sit outside or in. Very simple local decor. The one thing we did find was an acquired taste and not one for us, were the olives that we were given. Try one and see for yourself! All in all a very relaxing evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clacton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you are driving between Larnaca and Limassol. It would be great to stop at the sites along the way (Choirokoitia, Lefkara) and also add this lovely restaurant in this cute sea village on your to-see list. It would also break up the day for a relaxing feed. The place is family owned and the staff are very friendly. The food is great and the fish taste so fresh. A must for anyone within the area.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Markabraham_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty Fish Meze, in a pleasant fish Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

It's about a small traditional fish restaurant placed at Zygi a village between Larnaca city and Limmasol. This mean that you need a car to reach the place.
The food quality is very good almost excellent with good portion.
Is best to order the fish meze which has standard price and lot of different plates served.
The prices are reasonable.
Try your fish meze with the Greek spirit Ouzo .
40% alcohol so be careful if you driving.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trek1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“traditional fish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

a small and very clean fish tavern in Zygi Area. in a few words :

a. this fish tavern has reasonable prices ( fish meze )

b. food quality was very good but the quantity comparing it with other fish restaurants we have visited it was a bit short of some meze plates.

c. staff was friendly but didnt pay much attention on the orders and took them some time to bring you what you have asked for.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giannismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santa Elena Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing