We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An excellent food, great service, nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portokali Restaurant

Portokali Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 289 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Portokalí restaurant is located on the sea front offering a panoramic view of Larnaca bay and the quaint fishing harbor. A family run restuarant that specializes in quality Mediterranean and Cypriot cuisine including meat meze and fish meze.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“An excellent food, great service, nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We wandered around the city of Larnaca when we stumbled upon this place. A sign saying "climb up, it will be worth it" made us do it. And what a magnificent view it was! The place looks terrific. The food was delicious, we ordered Meze and were very satisfied with it. The owner of the place was very nice and helped us in every way that he could.

The only drawback I can think of is that it is not suitable for people in wheelchair. Other than that, it is a great restaurant, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had lunch here on 31.12.12 & was greeted warmly by Andreas who was attentive at all times but not overbearing.
We had Sword fish steaks, & a carafe of local red wine. The food was cooked to perfection & the wine was superb.
The location takes a lot of beating as it over looks St Lazarus's Church & Square & far excels some of the more canteen type places that Larnaca seems to offer...
A unique experience for an intimate meal with good service & wonderful food.........
highly recommened............

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sea food meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I ate a seafood meal and enjoyed the view of the St Lazarus church.
Great restaurant, clean with a good view of the city center main plaza.
Good food, even though a bit too expensive. I got after for the same price double quantity of sea food at a restaurant next to the sea, Stefanos ( 5 Piale Pasia).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andreea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are only able to visit one restaurant whilst on holiday in Larnaca or just passing through then choose Taratsa Restaurant. My family and I have dined here on several occasions over the last 4 years and have always enjoyed a wonderful dining experience. I have read some of the negative reviews for this restaurant on Tripadvisor and I know that everyone is entitled to their opinion but please don't be put off by the few who say they had a poor experience. Also at least one of the reviews is not correct as the reviewer says that Taratsa used to be called The Black Turtle restaurant. This is not true. Taratsa has always been Taratsa and The Black Turtle restaurant is still located next door, although I'm not sure whether it is currently open for business. Taratsa Restaurant is set in a beautiful location overlooking St Lazarus Church. During the winter months food is served in the dining room where there is a very inviting log fire that adds to the authentic ambience. The menu is varied with a good selection of starters, steak, chicken, fish, salads, pasta and traditional Cypriot dishes. All the food is freshly prepared to order. During busy times there could be a delay but the food is definitely worth waiting for. This is not a fast food eatery, it's a classy, family run restaurant where the emphasis is on exceptional quality and well presented delicious meals. The selection of Cypriot dishes are prepared from recipes handed down from the owners parents so if you want a taste of tradition then choose any of these and you'll not be disappointed. Our personal favourites are Moussaka and Stifado. We also like the Salmon, Sea Bass and Fillet Steak. If you are starving then try the Vegetarian or Meat Meze both of which are very good value for money and you'll probably not feel like eating again for a couple of days!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MumsKitchenLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, shame service and food don't match.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This used to be called The Black Turtle restaurant and is in gorgeous location on a veranda overlooking st Lazarus church. Dont have the house wine, it's ghastly and the surly waiter just shrugged and said "it's the house wine". We then ordered two well known wines which were very nice but there was quite a substantial party and they only had one bottle of each, then we were back onto rubbish wine, that's all they had! Kind of knew the vibe was not good from the start as surly waiter, the type who should consider retiring, looked fed up. He glared at us for simply asking for the wine list. On bringing the food menu he announced "there is no kleftiko, no sea bass, no calimari" . Oh great, the favorites were missing. As we ordered the food he barked at us not to all talk at once. I have never experienced such a bad mannered waiter. Rather than being humble as half the wine and food menu we're not available, he was nasty. The setting deserves so much more. Two in the party who had fillet steak said it was excellent. The rest of us us who had various local dishes thought they were rather mediocre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisvass112, Guest Relations Manager at Portokali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi there thank you for your feedback we are sorry that you were not satisfied. We would just like to point out that Taratsa restaurant was never once called the black turtle. The black turtle is door and always has been. We would appreciate if this part of your review could be altered. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portokali Restaurant also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Portokali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing