We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Cafe 1900

Art Cafe 1900
Ranked #5 of 295 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to the bar downstairs late in the evening,busy but with room for everyone,lively but relaxed atmosphere.The beer menu was impressive and the presentation of the drinks great! Will try the restaurant next time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christouav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    91
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Inside Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been visiting Art cafe 1900 since it fisrt opened, many years ago as a tea and coffee place at the begining. It is a beautiful old house, near Larnaca sea front on a small side road, turned into a restaurant and wine bar. When visiting, is like taking a trip in to art and music. All the walls are full of oil paintings ( a few from the owners), old posters and pictures.The owners are working there and they are allways wellcoming us with a smile. It is a perfect place for a nice glass of wine or one of the many beers available( ask Marios to help you choose). Upstairs Maro is serving tasty fresh homemade food( a selection from Greek cuisine). Try the lamp in the oven with a botle of red wine and enjoy it with the company of jazz music. Unforgetable !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michalis_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to the Art Cafe 1900 recently and it exceeded our expectations. It doesn't open until 6:00 pm but it's worth waiting around for the doors to open. We went upstairs, past the attractive bar to the enchanting dining room. The decor and classic music playing created the perfect mood for relaxed dining. We ordered a number of items from the delicious menu but the Spanakopita won the prize for best flavour. That's not to say everythng else wasn't delicious but the Spanikopita was so wonderful we ended up ordering two. Service was friendly and prices reasonable. Following dinner, we went below and enjoyed the lively bar scene. The music was eclectic and put us in the mood for celebrating our Cyprus weekend get-away. I totally recommend this side-street gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great, fresh food. Great wine. Good atmosphere. Great waitress. Good value. Great surroundings. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry,ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely local restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely local place oozing atmosphere, food was top notch, the service was very friendly, we meet maria the owner who has time to chat to everyone. We both had the lamb fricasse, it was one of the specials that night and it was excellent, very tasty homecooked food, reasonably priced. It is across the road from the post office in larnaca down a little street. This is a very authentic old world restaurant away from the tourist centre and is definitely worth seeking out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tralee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe 1900 also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Art Cafe 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing