We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They like you, and make you feel at home”
Review of Rocks Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rocks Hotel Casino
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

“Want Perfection....Just found it!!”
Attention to detail, superb facilities, they create an outstanding experience that makes you feel relaxed, they make you feel important, with care. From the managing director to the room service you are at center stage, you need it, you get it...you were thinking about it...it is already here. What an experience.

All in all I found this to be a very pleasant hotel, friendly, welcoming and as a lone female traveller I felt very safe and looked after.

Will definitely be back and thank you to all the highly professional staff, for making the week a delight.


Note to the Manager:
I dont know what your doing to create such a fantastic Hotel - but "keep doing it" - cos it's working fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vida510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I travelled with my 80 year old mother for a 10 day holiday. Rocks is quite old-fashioned, with courteous service and attention to detail.I love N. Cyprus and have stayed at some other hotels in the area. I chose Rocks because of the location, by the marina and close to the shops. The hotel has a beautiful pool area with the most helpful pool staff I have ever experienced! Our room was well laid out, but the shower needs upgrading and it was a bit dark. Everywhere was beautifully clean. The food was excellent, both at breakfast and dinner, with chefs who were proud of their work. The staff at breakfast were less attentive than the staff at dinner, who could not be faulted. Every afternoon there is music in the lounge area, either a lovely harpist, or a flautist with accompanying guitar. There is a pianist in the evening. This was perfect for our holiday, as it was gentle and relaxing after a day of sightseeing or shopping! A little haven of good manners and good taste.

Room Tip: The rooms which say 'mountain view' actually overlook an alley. The sea view rooms are fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our third visit in three years so we obviously like this hotel very much. Pool area is excellent and a good spot for a very pleasant lunch. Breakfast in the dining room is amazing, probably the best choice we have had anywhere. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the service at breakfast has improved greatly since our first visit in 2010. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. We were with a group of 22 people and everyone enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dempsey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just had a lovely holiday at Rocks Hotel in Kyrenia.Super hotel,best locatin in Kyrenia.Very clean spacious Good choice of food and of good quality.Beautiful swimming pool and plenty of sun lounges.All in all a great hotel,can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen Elizab... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are lots of goods things to say about this hotel: location is perfect, the rooms are rather nice, with huge comfy beds, the pool area is amazing, with soft double sunbeds and big, fancy swimming pool. However, even if it's very tempting, don't waste your money on cocktails, they're incredibly bad. Breakfast is really Huge, probably the biggest I've ever seen, and with rather good quality (stay away from the pastries though, they're awful).

Service is not surprisingly below average, cold and impersonal, and staff has very poor english skills.

However, even if the hotel looks very nice overall, scratching the surface reveals a badly maintained hotel (very approximate paint job on the walls, dust in the bathroom, to name a few details), with rather cheap materials and furniture. At 150€/night i still find this is a rather good value for Kyrenia, but it's nowhere near a 5* hotel as stated on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nordavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a disappointment. Northern Cyprus has the potential to be a fabulous destination but is let down ( like so many other places) by the abundance of rubbish everywhere, the dirty streets, the abundance of derelict or unfinished buildings. Anyhow some good bits.
The Rocks Hotel is a very well presented place to stay with big comfortable bedrooms, large public rooms; very attentive & helpful staff in all departments. The hotel also has a smallish pool area with loungers & umbrellas & a decked area by the deep & clean sea. There are three restaurants ( two @ extra cost with no allowance for your half board booking ) The main buffet had reasonable choice but was very repetitive, the cost of drinks very expensive in the hotel & by the pool ( £8 for a gin & tonic ) The Taxis were cheap & comfortable Mercs, the drivers chirpy & helpful, but all the destinations we visited were run down just like Girne itself. Apart from the abundance of smokey casinos there was nothing else to see or do unless you like looking at shop after shop of fake handbags & watches.
So not the hotels fault perhaps, but not for us.

Room Tip: don't open the windows / curtains, then you won't see the rubbish in the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on the waterfront 5 min walk from the harbour and is well presented. The rooms are pretty average, not quite 5 star but the wifi in rooms and other facilities are as expected. Where this hotel really excels is the pool area and food. The pool area also leads to the sea for swimmin, towels provided and a large enough area to fulfil Oct guest levels, might struggle in peak. Towels are providd which is an added bonus! The service is what I would call 'island service' by that I mean so payed back its horizontal, if you're in a rush this is not the place to come (I found all the restaurants like this tho- it's an island thing!) the food menu is not too extensive but very well priced (i was expecting high prices due to the 5*) actually cheaper than some but better quality. I had the crab claws (13tl) and burrito (20tl) both exceptional. The casino is small and the lower end tables are predictably busy. Slots are Vegas style (bit boring for me!) oh and everything is in US dollars which I wasn't expecting. Overall I think this hotel just about scrapes into the 5* based on the food but rooms could be more special and service a little quicker!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezzapezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
0.1 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,196 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
259 reviews
5.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
323 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocks Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocks Hotel Casino

Address: 102 Kordon Boyu Cad | Girne, Mersin 10, Kyrenia 93000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $155 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocks Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocks Hotel and Casino is an elegant and beautiful 5 Star Hotel right in the heart of Coastal Kyrenia. With its elegantly appointed rooms, warm and attentive staff,Exclusive Casino, spacious grounds and delicious International cusine, this will be a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocks Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocks Hotel Kyrenia
Rocks Hotel Casino Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing