We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pia Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pia Bella
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“100% satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and is well worth every single one of its 4 stars. The Rooms are spacious and immaculately clean, grounds/gardens are beautiful and very well kept, swimming pools are clean and cool, sunbeds.... well an extra dozen probably would have made it perfect. The food is a little repetitive and has gone up from last year. Half board has gone up from £8.00 last year to about £12.00 per person this year. There is a small cafe/bar about 3 minute walk from the hotel called Molly's. She is English and her food is ok and very reasonably priced but her menu is small. It's still packed every lunch time and evening meal time.

Hotel prices are well suitable for a 4* hotel. A small beer (somewhere between a half and a pint) is 3 lira, a medium beer (half litre) 4 lira and a large beer (0.7 litres) 5 lira. Well worth it for a 4* hotel. Same prices as cafes, pubs etc outside the hotel.

Hotel clientèle majority were of the 40+ age group but my son and daughter-in-law (27year old) thoroughly enjoyed it and said they would go back tomorrow. During our stay there was no children at all in the hotel which was perfect. (I have a small grandchild of 6 years old whom I love dearly) I don't have a problem with children but the peace and tranquillity was a much needed rest for me and my family. There is nothing actually in the hotel for children.

The staff - every single one of them from the receptionist to the cleaner were as friendly and helpful as possible and will always pass a pleasantry with you when passing. The waiters are plenty and tentative.

There is a Casino directly next to Pia Bella (in fact it's owned by Pia Bella. I did not go in this time but you can eat and drink for free as long as you are gambling. 24 hours a day people are going in and coming out. Interesting when "people watching".

There is a Thai Masseuse in the complex, she sits next to the restaurant. Her prices are very reasonable. You are not hassled or bothered. You go to her, she doesn't go to you.

There is a golf course "Korinium" which is about 20 minute drive by car and it's on the road to Esentepe.

I recommend this hotel to everybody and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    713
    161
    38
    17
See reviews for
309
1,296
65
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We spent the second week of our holiday at the Hotel Pia Bella after a week at the Almond Village, to be fair we did this holiday the wrong way around. Our holiday was booked through Direct Traveller, no problems there except we had to wait 1/2hr at the airport as one couple had gone out of the wrong exit. Direct Traveller transferred us with no problem to Pia Bella where we were met with the most grumpy man on the reception who did not manage to smile the whole week we were there. No problem with the room, nice over looking the pool. The breakfast was not good and we were so pleased we had only booked B&B after the lovely food we had had at the Almond. You can hire a car £20 a day from the hotel do have a practice run before you head very far away, we had to change our car as the fan belt was making a terrible racket as were a few others. Beaches to head for Turtle Beach is lovely and unspoilt, chairs and brollies 10TL for 2 unlike most places who were charging 10TL each and Accopulco Beach charged 40TL!! It is well worth the journey to the Karpas fantastic scenery and Golden Beach is lovely. There are road works for about 10 mile we managed to avoid them by going a very long way round, but glad we did as the journey home through the road works was excessively dusty, we would never be allowed to use roads in England that bad. Enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendshipSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelin5star
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

My cousin and I, both divorcees, enjoy holidaying together. We have been to several countries but none can compare with N.Cyprus, where we we feel completely safe ( as in 2 women unaccompanied) Pia Bella has been our 'Home from Home' for at least 10 years, visiting 2-3 times a year. The service is second to none and the staff (we now class them as friends) cannot do enough. The hotel is outstandingly clean and the food is excellent. That said, we always go B&B as we have so many friends to visit and choose to eat elsewhere so we can enjoy the variety of good restaurants that Girne has to offer, however we always eat in the hotel on Saturdays for barbeque night which is good and includes entertainment.
There are always complaints on this sight about 'nothing to do', we don't look for organised entertainment and just enjoy being in such a historic place. Girne is definately not a place for families who want 'man made fun' but a place where you can make your own as the possibilities are endless. If this is what you are after, then Pia Bella is definately the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelin5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Pia Bella and it is still a great hotel. We first stayed there 6 years ago and the same friendliness, comfort and excellent service is still there. The food is good, the staff very friendly (thanks Moustafa, Ali and Ahmet), the rooms are very comfortable and are kept spotlessly clean by very friendly staff.
Our only small quibble would be on the time that dinner is served, 8 o`clock, a bit late if you like a drink or want to have a walk into town.
For the best rooms I would recommend booking a room overlooking the pool or in the new block as the quietest (1st floor of the new block has a great verandah area).
Hire cars are cheap if booked though the hotel and they are the only way to see around the area,but please note that if you want to go across to the Panhandle, there is a lot of road building taking place and you will end up travelling on unmade roads, with no road signs, for miles.
So all in all a very nice relaxing holiday thanks to Sarah and her excellent staff

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justback15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

we arrived at hotel at 9.30pm , we were welcomed by warm and friendly staff who gave us all a free supper in the resturant, it wasn't to my liking but i thought it was a nice gesture. we were booked in for a superior room over looking mountains, but when we were taken to room we found it to be a standard with no view to speak of over the casino. we told staff and they said no superior room was booked for us so we waited till monday to sort out and we were up graded to the king suite as no superior rooms were available, the room was lovely and i lived like a queen for rest of week. hotel staff were lovely especially airgan the barman, all staff were polite and helpfull through out our stay. Outside of hotel was very quite, and not much to do, the harbour was lovely but very pricey to eat, all in all we had a nice relaxing holiday, but it was just too quiet for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

My partner & I have now stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last twelve months, thats how good it is! The only thing I would like to stress is that there is NOTHING FOR CHILDREN!! We LOVE this hotel for that fact, yet each time we go there seems to be more and more children staying there, this hotel is definately more sutible for adults, if you do have kids, you may prefer ther Acapulco. Pia Bella is an extremely clean, attractive hotel and the staff are fantastic. If you can, go for the deluxe rooms, they are lovely. We have only stayed B&B (breakfast is always nice, with a different daily special each morning) as there are too many fantastic restaurants in Kyrenia and the surrounding area to waste your meal times on a hotel buffet, we would recommend Patinas, Tango to Buddha, Midsummer House, Ambiance, (food and service fantastic in all) to name just a few. In our three trips there is only one place i would say to avoid...Efendi, on our last final night we went there looking forward to a great meal, the food was ok, but what really ruined our night was the surly, rude cockney waitress. Everything was too much trouble! After the outstanding service we are used to receiving from the locals this came as a real shock. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the harbour (15mins), but a taxi back is not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SistasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

The Pia Bella ticks the boxes for a holiday hotel - it's spotlessly clean and well maintained and the staff are friendly. Its two swimming pools are popular but not overcrowded.
As for the food, my wife and I only ate breakfast at the hotel and there was a wide variety of cooked and cold food which could not be faulted (OK, the coffee was a bit bland).
In the reviews I have read of the hotel, there has been a big discrepancy in reports of how long it takes to walk from the hotel to Kyrenia.
You can walk to a roundabout at the top of the town in 15 minutes but it takes at least five minutes more to reach the harbour. The walk is uninspiring and frankly you do get bored of it (and hot when temperatures are well over 30 degrees centigrade). The pavements aren't ideal either.
To be honest, you can cover off Kyrenia in a day (aside from restaurants).
You do need to hire a car and the hotel offered us a resaonable rate of £20 a day, including collision damage waiver.
Tips for outside Kyrenia include the fabulous Deniz Kiki Hotel (check spelling) beach, about six miles away (left out of the hotel, left at the town centre mini roundabout and first at the next roundabout...then keep following the road and look out for the hotel. It's near the more renowned Escape Beach but is much nicer - you pay £3 to go on the beach on a weekday and £5 at weekends.
Out that way you will see signs to a restaurant called Address and it is lovely (good food accompanied by the sound of waves crashing in).
Good restaurants in Kyrenia include Niazi's (see restaurant ratings) for Mezze and Turkish kebabs for £14 a head, a fish restaurant opposite it, Lagoon, and a gem of a place called Number 14 (left out of the hotel, take the 2nd road on the left and follow a sign to what looks an unpromising location - you won't be disappointed).
We steered clear of eating in the harbour as apparently you can be fleeced.
We instead enjoyed thhe harbour by drinking at the rooftop bar of the White Pearl Hotel.
Much further afield Salamis- Roman town- and Famagusta are worth a visit - you can cover off the two in a day and there's a lovely beach two miles from Salamis (turn left on the main road - it's called Silver Beach).
Frankly the Panhandlle disappointed us - it's a long journey and we gave up before reaching the glorious beaches at the end of it.
A word of warning if you are hiring a car - don't be tempted to leave the main roads - the side roads really are poor and we ended up travelling 30kms on an unfinished road.
Would we go to North Cyprus again? No - if we had stayed for longer than a week we would have struggled for things to do. It's also a long trip - you land at Istanbul on both the outward and inward journeys for around an hour and that really makes it drag.
We travelled with Pegasus and the plane was delayed by an hour in both directions (because of earlier delays, supposedly).
I wasn't impressed with them. We booked through Green Island Holidays whose brochure indicated food was included with the flight - it wasn't and it was hideously expensive on board.
Green Island also boasts of running flights at convenient times - we had to get up at 4.45 for our return flight. Depends what you call convenient.
IIt's a relaxing holiday and the Pia Bella is a good base...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
4.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pia Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pia Bella

Property: Hotel Pia Bella
Address: Iskenderun Caddesi No 14 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia 9000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pia Bella 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pia Bella Hotel occupies an enviable location in Kyrenia, not in the town centre but just a brief walk from the historic harbour with its wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. Set on a 15,000 square meter site amid spacious, tranquil gardens, the Pia Bella prides itself on its highly professional staff and exceptional standards of service. All 162 guest rooms are comfortable furnished, with all mod cons. Hotel facilities include two sizeable outdoor swimming pools one with pool bar, Cafe Bella, plus indoor and terrace restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, GoNorthCyprus, HRS, Agoda and cyprus paradise so you can book your Hotel Pia Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pia Bella Hotel
Pia Bella Kyrenia
Hotel Pia Bella Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing