We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable 3 star hotel that could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reasonable 3 star hotel that could be improved”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There is no point in repeating the comments in the reviews below which are detailed and accurate. The hotel's main advantage is its location with lovely views over the town and sea and its very kind and helpful staff.It is a little way out of the town but there is a shuttle bus and taxis are cheap.We were on a week's tour and so access both to the east and west of the island and to Nicosia and the south was convenient.

We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the sea but it was very dated. There was no tea or coffee available, the TV was old and only had a few foreign language programmes. The bathroom fittings were worn and the shower was fed from the bath taps with no thermostatic control of the water which suddenly went hot and cold. None of the indoor recreation facilities were available despite the fact that for the first few days we had cold gale force winds. Both the buffet breakfasts and dinners were very poor which is sad because the hotel's restaurant at the port is excellent. A new chef and a higher meal cost from the tour companies could make a big difference to the dining experience. So could modernisation of the rooms. Northern Cyprus is falling behind the standards offered in the South and in other nearby Mediterranean resorts. We stayed in Paphos last year in a three star hotel that had all the facilities that are lacking here.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms have the better view over the sea but the side rooms are sheltered from the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intertravelorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear intertravelerLondon,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you say, we consider our location overlooking Kyrenia to be one of the best in the area and our members of staff take pride in being welcoming and helpful to all guests.

We will certainly take your comments on board regarding the rooms and dining experience when looking for areas where we can improve. Our chef aims to provide varied options including local specialities on the buffet menu.

With regards to the indoor recreation facilities, the weather has been quite warm in Cyprus recently and our guests have not requested use of the indoor pool or Turkish bath. As this was the case, we did not open the facilities so as not to unnecessarily waste energy (we recognise as a hotel our obligation to preserve energy and identify areas where we can reduce our carbon footprint). However, as the weather changed and guests asked to use the indoor pool we immediately activated the facilities, which took about 24 hours to prepare.

Again, thank you for comments and we hope that you can visit us again one day.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    82
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
99
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this three star hotel for 7 nights in October. The hotel is located in the foothills on the outskirts of Kyrenia giving good views of the town and across the sea to the Turkish mainland. The location does mean that visits to the town must be made by either a taxi or the courtesy bus. The hotel staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful.

We had a twin room which for a three star hotel was of a very good size and well furnished including 2 easy chairs. The beds were comfortable and we both slept extremely well. The bathroom was of good size and was stocked with essential toiletries and a hair dryer was provided. There was a mini bar which was reasonably priced. The room had a balcony with 2 chairs, however the downside was that it faced the main Nicosia / Kyrenia road, which though some distance away and out of sight was somewhat noisy - though when the windows were closed this did not cause a problem. Unfortunately the rooms do not have a tea/coffee tray and this we considered to be a problem ... no early morning tea/coffee!

The outside areas of the hotel are very clean and tidy, and clearly maintained to a high standard. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were spotlessly clean. The sun lounger pads have seen better days.

The breakfasts though basic were adequate. We dined out on two evenings and had 4 meals in the restaurant. On two evenings the meals were served buffet style and though there was a very limited selection (2 main courses) the food was appetising, obviously freshly cooked, well presented and generally very enjoyable meals. On the other two nights the food was plated up and on one night was a repeat of the meal two nights previous, the other night's menu was also very similar - clearly this food was re-heated and not freshly prepared and there was no sign of a chef ......

The hotel is a three star, and frankly with very little effort could be higher graded. The cleanliness of the hotel was first rate and it has some facilities available, though not all those advertised. Our only quibbles were the absence of a tea/coffee tray, and the food. We would happily stay here again, but would choose to eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sionnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sionnw,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Onar Village. We certainly appreciate all of your comments and it is good to hear that overall you enjoyed yourself during your stay. Our staff do their utmost to make our guests as comfortable and happy during their stay, and cleanliness is indeed of great importance.

In regards to your other concerns, tea and coffee are available in the hotel restaurant at breakfast and we also provide room service on request. Our sun-loungers have been upgraded in the past year and we take great pride in ensuring that our equipment is of a high standard. Also, you noted that some of the facilities were not available and this is because the indoor leisure facilities are only open in the winter months when the weather outside is cooler.

Your feedback on the food in the restaurant is welcomed as we always look for ways to improve. We do try to provide a varied menu with local specialities and international dishes and all of the meals are prepared fresh daily by our chefs.

Again, we welcome all of your comments and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in Kyrenia.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the very early hours of the morning after a 2 and half hour flight delay to be met by smiling young man with food - the same lad who served breakfast next morning, still cheerful! He also showed us to our rooms and carried my bags (there is no lift but stairs easy and well lit, so no problem). Stayed for 4 nights as part of 2 centre holiday of Cyprus and our group agreed 99% that this was the better hotel out of the 2 (other hotel 4 star in South Cyrus) and that we would rather have stayed on here. Evening meal was excellent, served by very genial chef, all the waiters very easy on the eye! Nice outside pool, with decent sized shallow end for us nervous swimmers who only indulge once a year whilst on holiday. Room spacious, spotlessly clean and quiet. (If you listen very carefully you can hear the Call to Prayer, but it is not intrusive). And they stock Dark Efes beer! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Fiona G,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff take great pride in their work and I will make sure that your comments are delivered to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kyrenia one day!

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I think if you were only staying here for two or three nights, you would find the Onar acceptable, more than that you would find the food boring, repetitive and at times borderline intolerable.

I stayed at the Onar as a base for a tour of North Cyprus for nine days. The hotel offers plenty of facilities, a remarkable number of which are not available.

The positives: Our rooms were spacious with good air-conditioning. We had a side view looking towards the mountains and that was fine. Beds were comfy; big bathroom with bath and overhead shower with plenty of hot water.

The biggest asset of the Onar is its staff. Without exception they were courteous, attentive, kind and obliging. 5 out of 5 for that.

The outdoor pool area was large with comfortable loungers. Pool towels are available. Note the water is cold, very cold.

The negatives: I wanted to use the advertised “Relaxation Center with Massage and therapeutic services by appointment”, but they don’t do that anymore. Note to Onar: If you don’t offer that facility, don’t advertise it. That was a disappointment so you lose for that.

What else:
The indoor pool: Not available
Jacuzzi Not available
Sauna: Not available
Turkish Bath: Not available
Gym: Not available
Solarium: Never found it
Museum: Locked

Location: Great views but not good if you want to walk into town, unless you are happy to cross a very busy dual carriageway, the main road between Kyrenia and Nicosia, with no crossing point. The hotel does run a bus into town – once a day, and comes back - once a day. It is better than nothing, but only just.

Food: Oh dear oh dear oh dear. Disaster zone alert! During our stay they brought in a new manager to improve the overall quality of the food and its presentation, so the management are aware of its low quality. Good luck to him.

Breakfast is Groundhog Day. A very tired selection of second-rate cornflakes, yogurt with a variety of jams, sliced tomato and cucumber. Two types of cheese, one tasteless the other rubber; meat is the same every day comprising a very unappetising liver sausage and that’s it. No ham, or salami or any other type of meat, no croissants, no pastries. The hotplate had two items; always egg of some description and something that looked suspiciously like last night’s leftovers, usually refried potatoes. Bread was OK, although the toaster was on its last legs and the coffee machine broke down on our 3rd day, so coffee was a get-it-yourself instant. As this claims to be an international hotel it does serve alternative breakfasts, like boiled eggs or full English - at an extra charge. I gave in and bought a breakfast one morning at 20TL. This food would be available on the hotplate self-service anywhere else.

Dinner: According to the hotel’s website: “Our chefs prepare a delectable array of traditional Turkish appetizers and local specialties; succulent charcoal-grilled shish kebabs, or the distinctively flavoured tender lamb baked in a Village clay oven.” Crickey, I must have missed that cos I never saw it!

Soup was OK, but there was the same cold mezes every day, and two hot dishes: perm any two from three, meatballs, chicken, or fish. No imagination and not much taste. Cyprus, an island covered in fruit, but not at the Onar dinner table where only melon and watermelon were available. (Stop Press: One night there were slices of orange). Where were the Dolma – the stuffed varieties of meze like vine leaves, peppers, courgette flowers or the Molehiya or Mucver or Chakistes (yes we had olives but not prepared.) Where was the acili ezme (hot pepper paste often with walnuts). Nowhere to be seen. Bland, bland bland is what we had.

You may be asking: “If it is so bad why not go out and eat?” (We did once). Well it will cost you a taxi each way to start with and I paid for half-board no matter how awful.

In summery: That customers are virtual prisoners at the Onar because of its location is no excuse for poor quality food. As I have said, the management have clearly taken this on-board, but they really must do something fast and stop trying to do everything on the cheap.

Would I stay here again? Because of the food and location, no chance.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Otherwise, rooms at the side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ray R,

Thanking you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on the Onar Village.

Firstly, we are glad that you enjoyed your room and that you felt the service was of such a high standard. All of our staff go out of their way to ensure that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay in our hotel. We also appreciate the positive comments about the outdoor pool facilities, the water is not heated as you stated and this can be very refreshing when the weather is so hot outside in Cyprus.

We are sorry that you were not able to use our indoor recreational facilities. The facilities that you referred to in your review are only open in the winter months when the temperature outside is cooler, which is stated on our website (please note that we do not have a Gym and do not advertise one). Winter in Cyprus only starts in November/December with temperatures often exceeding 30 degrees even in October and therefore our guests predominantly prefer to use the outdoor pool area for relaxation. The museum is available on request at Reception and the hotel owner is happy to show guests around if he is available.

We welcome your feedback on the food available on the breakfast and dinner buffet. We aim to provide varied options that appeal to all guests’ tastes while also including local dishes from Cyprus. As stated on our website, we do arrange special buffet evenings on special occasions only with the offerings detailed in your review but unfortunately this did not occur during your stay.

Finally, our hotel is on the outskirts of Kyrenia, in the foothills of the mountains and can therefore provide unobstructed views of the Mediterranean, Kyrenia Mountains and Kyrenia itself. We feel that we can provide the best views in Kyrenia, while the town centre is still easily accessible through our daily shuttle service or a taxi.

Again, we certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope that we can host you in Kyrenia again.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village, Kyrenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a business trip.
The hotel is on the out skirts of Kyrenia just off a busy main road.
You are not able to walk into Kyrenia, taxi needed. (Busy highway to negociate)
My room was spacious and had a pool and seat view with a Balcony.
I stayed on a Saturday night and the music was loud until quite late.
In the room which was spacious were, twin beds, hair dryer. No bathroom amenities. no kettle for tea/ coffee. Room service was available and the food was good.
This hotel is good for a relaxing holiday, but not for a Business stay, no wifi and no access to computers. Library available.

Room Tip: My room 105 had a great view and not near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear AnnieCat60,

Thank you for your review of the Onar Village. Our hotel is situated at the base of the mountains overlooking Kyrenia and the Mediterranean and as you said is perfect for a relaxing holiday. Although we are not primarily a business hotel, we do offer complimentary Wifi in both the guest rooms and all public areas to all of our guests. I am sorry that you were not able to use this service as it should have been available in your room. Sometimes the signal can be a bit weaker in areas of the hotel, depending on the time of day or outdoor conditions and this could have been the case here.

I hope that you can visit us again one day to experience all that we can offer at Onar Village.
Kind regards,

Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Onar Village is a tranquil resort set in the Kyrenian mountains that is perfect if you want to unwind for a week or two. We stayed here for 7 nights and loved every minute. The views of the mountains and sea are stunning and there is a relaxed atmosphere by the pool. The service is second to none and you are made to feel like nothing is too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to come back and fully recommend it to those looking for sunshine and a little piece and quiet to recharge their batteries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would highly recommend Onar village, we had a fantastic holiday!. The village is very welcoming, relaxing and beautifully located with fabulous views. The pool area is gorgeous and never too crowded. We stayed in a villa which was very clean and comfortable. The food was lovely, good quality and varied. The staff and service are first class. We were very well looked after and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable and memorable. I would definitely come back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear CMac89

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you back at the Onar Village!

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,126 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 30 in Kyrenia
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Property: Onar Holiday Village
Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia
Onar Holiday Village Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing