We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by cheap and nasty food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onar Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Let down by cheap and nasty food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I think if you were only staying here for two or three nights, you would find the Onar acceptable, more than that you would find the food boring, repetitive and at times borderline intolerable.

I stayed at the Onar as a base for a tour of North Cyprus for nine days. The hotel offers plenty of facilities, a remarkable number of which are not available.

The positives: Our rooms were spacious with good air-conditioning. We had a side view looking towards the mountains and that was fine. Beds were comfy; big bathroom with bath and overhead shower with plenty of hot water.

The biggest asset of the Onar is its staff. Without exception they were courteous, attentive, kind and obliging. 5 out of 5 for that.

The outdoor pool area was large with comfortable loungers. Pool towels are available. Note the water is cold, very cold.

The negatives: I wanted to use the advertised “Relaxation Center with Massage and therapeutic services by appointment”, but they don’t do that anymore. Note to Onar: If you don’t offer that facility, don’t advertise it. That was a disappointment so you lose for that.

What else:
The indoor pool: Not available
Jacuzzi Not available
Sauna: Not available
Turkish Bath: Not available
Gym: Not available
Solarium: Never found it
Museum: Locked

Location: Great views but not good if you want to walk into town, unless you are happy to cross a very busy dual carriageway, the main road between Kyrenia and Nicosia, with no crossing point. The hotel does run a bus into town – once a day, and comes back - once a day. It is better than nothing, but only just.

Food: Oh dear oh dear oh dear. Disaster zone alert! During our stay they brought in a new manager to improve the overall quality of the food and its presentation, so the management are aware of its low quality. Good luck to him.

Breakfast is Groundhog Day. A very tired selection of second-rate cornflakes, yogurt with a variety of jams, sliced tomato and cucumber. Two types of cheese, one tasteless the other rubber; meat is the same every day comprising a very unappetising liver sausage and that’s it. No ham, or salami or any other type of meat, no croissants, no pastries. The hotplate had two items; always egg of some description and something that looked suspiciously like last night’s leftovers, usually refried potatoes. Bread was OK, although the toaster was on its last legs and the coffee machine broke down on our 3rd day, so coffee was a get-it-yourself instant. As this claims to be an international hotel it does serve alternative breakfasts, like boiled eggs or full English - at an extra charge. I gave in and bought a breakfast one morning at 20TL. This food would be available on the hotplate self-service anywhere else.

Dinner: According to the hotel’s website: “Our chefs prepare a delectable array of traditional Turkish appetizers and local specialties; succulent charcoal-grilled shish kebabs, or the distinctively flavoured tender lamb baked in a Village clay oven.” Crickey, I must have missed that cos I never saw it!

Soup was OK, but there was the same cold mezes every day, and two hot dishes: perm any two from three, meatballs, chicken, or fish. No imagination and not much taste. Cyprus, an island covered in fruit, but not at the Onar dinner table where only melon and watermelon were available. (Stop Press: One night there were slices of orange). Where were the Dolma – the stuffed varieties of meze like vine leaves, peppers, courgette flowers or the Molehiya or Mucver or Chakistes (yes we had olives but not prepared.) Where was the acili ezme (hot pepper paste often with walnuts). Nowhere to be seen. Bland, bland bland is what we had.

You may be asking: “If it is so bad why not go out and eat?” (We did once). Well it will cost you a taxi each way to start with and I paid for half-board no matter how awful.

In summery: That customers are virtual prisoners at the Onar because of its location is no excuse for poor quality food. As I have said, the management have clearly taken this on-board, but they really must do something fast and stop trying to do everything on the cheap.

Would I stay here again? Because of the food and location, no chance.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Otherwise, rooms at the side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ray R,

Thanking you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on the Onar Village.

Firstly, we are glad that you enjoyed your room and that you felt the service was of such a high standard. All of our staff go out of their way to ensure that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay in our hotel. We also appreciate the positive comments about the outdoor pool facilities, the water is not heated as you stated and this can be very refreshing when the weather is so hot outside in Cyprus.

We are sorry that you were not able to use our indoor recreational facilities. The facilities that you referred to in your review are only open in the winter months when the temperature outside is cooler, which is stated on our website (please note that we do not have a Gym and do not advertise one). Winter in Cyprus only starts in November/December with temperatures often exceeding 30 degrees even in October and therefore our guests predominantly prefer to use the outdoor pool area for relaxation. The museum is available on request at Reception and the hotel owner is happy to show guests around if he is available.

We welcome your feedback on the food available on the breakfast and dinner buffet. We aim to provide varied options that appeal to all guests’ tastes while also including local dishes from Cyprus. As stated on our website, we do arrange special buffet evenings on special occasions only with the offerings detailed in your review but unfortunately this did not occur during your stay.

Finally, our hotel is on the outskirts of Kyrenia, in the foothills of the mountains and can therefore provide unobstructed views of the Mediterranean, Kyrenia Mountains and Kyrenia itself. We feel that we can provide the best views in Kyrenia, while the town centre is still easily accessible through our daily shuttle service or a taxi.

Again, we certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope that we can host you in Kyrenia again.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village, Kyrenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
91
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a business trip.
The hotel is on the out skirts of Kyrenia just off a busy main road.
You are not able to walk into Kyrenia, taxi needed. (Busy highway to negociate)
My room was spacious and had a pool and seat view with a Balcony.
I stayed on a Saturday night and the music was loud until quite late.
In the room which was spacious were, twin beds, hair dryer. No bathroom amenities. no kettle for tea/ coffee. Room service was available and the food was good.
This hotel is good for a relaxing holiday, but not for a Business stay, no wifi and no access to computers. Library available.

Room Tip: My room 105 had a great view and not near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear AnnieCat60,

Thank you for your review of the Onar Village. Our hotel is situated at the base of the mountains overlooking Kyrenia and the Mediterranean and as you said is perfect for a relaxing holiday. Although we are not primarily a business hotel, we do offer complimentary Wifi in both the guest rooms and all public areas to all of our guests. I am sorry that you were not able to use this service as it should have been available in your room. Sometimes the signal can be a bit weaker in areas of the hotel, depending on the time of day or outdoor conditions and this could have been the case here.

I hope that you can visit us again one day to experience all that we can offer at Onar Village.
Kind regards,

Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Onar Village is a tranquil resort set in the Kyrenian mountains that is perfect if you want to unwind for a week or two. We stayed here for 7 nights and loved every minute. The views of the mountains and sea are stunning and there is a relaxed atmosphere by the pool. The service is second to none and you are made to feel like nothing is too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to come back and fully recommend it to those looking for sunshine and a little piece and quiet to recharge their batteries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would highly recommend Onar village, we had a fantastic holiday!. The village is very welcoming, relaxing and beautifully located with fabulous views. The pool area is gorgeous and never too crowded. We stayed in a villa which was very clean and comfortable. The food was lovely, good quality and varied. The staff and service are first class. We were very well looked after and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable and memorable. I would definitely come back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear CMac89

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you back at the Onar Village!

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed in Onar for 7 days with my mum and I can truly recommend it as a place to carefree relax. We had a villa - nice, spacious and clean. The village is situated on the outskirts of the city - views from the terrace, the restaurant and even from the swimming pool are amazing - and it's hardly impossible to go to the center by feet (no pavement or roadside near the main road). Anyway, there is a shuttle service coursing once a day. Evening trips are possible only by taking a taxi. Staff is absolutely helpful, pleasant and sociable, meals are tasty and cats are lovely (say hello to Ginger!).

Can't wait to visit Onar Village again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Paulina,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are very glad that you and your mum had such a relaxing time with us! We will say hi to Ginger for you!!!

Kind regards,

Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Onar Village. A wonderful position and helpful staff especially Sertac & Mustafa. The food at breakfast is poor and the dinners are awful and, therefore, I do not recommend half board!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Onar Village. We welcome your comments regarding the food in the restaurant as we always look for ways we can improve the service we provide to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Kyrenia one day.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This will have been our 27th visit to this beautiful oasis in the Kyrenia mountains and we still keep coming back. The family - the staff especially Mehmet Serjat and Ali look after us like royalty and do we love it. It is just a little haven of beautiful gardens wonderful views and lots of space with a fabulous pool. We have justreturned but have booked again for next year and we cannot wait! It is our second home!

Vicki Shervington

Room Tip: Either the mountain views or the pool views are all lovely and the villas have more space and more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Vicki,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your latest trip to Onar Village and we look forward to welcoming you back next time. You will also be pleased to hear that Ginger the cat is healthy and back on the prowl in the hotel gardens!

Kind regards,

Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#13 of 29 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Property: Onar Holiday Village
Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia
Onar Holiday Village Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing