We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff; great views but isolated by a dual carriageway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There are lots of really good aspects to this resort but also some discrepencies which prevent me from giving it a higher rating.
The staff were really cheerful, friendly and pleasant; the general amenities were very clean and the outside pool was a good size for a small hotel. The chef was so cheerful and friendly and produced really tasty dishes eg stuffed vegetables; stuffed chicken escalopes; interesting mezes. We were half board and were delighted to find that the evening meal was soup, mezes, a choice of 2 or 3 mains (but you could have a little of each) and fresh fruit & a small pastry.
Can you sense the 'but'? One night there were fewer guests staying for the meal and it was so disappointing: soup or halloumi; chicken kebab or kofta; pastry or fruit and the service was really poor! The assistant director was apologetic and offered us complimentary coffee and brandy. The next day the barbecue was included in the rate even though it had been suggested that there were would be an additional charge.
On our arrival we were shown to a room even though we had booked a villa and were told that the villas were fully booked. It was sorted out the next day and an apology made but it did delay our unpacking and wasn't a relaxing start to the holiday. When we settled into the villa we found out that you couldn't take any food and drink into the kitchen area and the information about the hotel amenities was very sparse. For example,there was no information about check-out times, the use of the indoor facilities or about towels for the pool. The villa was in need of renovation - cracked tiles, noisy air conditioning and a plastic bath that wobbled when you showered. It was very spacious, though, and had a lovely terrace with views towards Kyrenia and the sea.
The reception manager told us that on our last day that there was no courtesy room available but there was a shower by the pool. This was a cold shower in public - so fine if you wore your swimming costume!
The hotel is in a lovely position - surrounded by trees with stunning views towards the sea and to the mountains behind. However, although mention is made of a busy main road, we didn't realise that this was a dual carriageway that was impossible to cross safely or walk along side as there was no footpath. This meant that to leave the hotel you had to have a taxi (£3.50 approx to Kyrenia) or have a car. The courtesy bus was only available once a day.
Overall it was a lovely hotel and we were made to feel welcome - a pity that some aspects were disappointing.

Room Tip: The block where we stayed on the first night (room 139) had been recently built and to a higher spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed once before at the Onar Holiday Village in Kyrenia, and loved it the first time. It is even better now. The staff couldn't be friendlier, the food is plentiful and is by and large good, prepared by the most cheerful chef I have ever seen. I'd like to bottle his smile! The rooms are spotless, large, cool and airy. Although I didn't have much of the sea view, the mountains were beautiful. The tours we had around the island, led by our wonderful guide and manager, were fascinating and insightful. I'm tempted to go back again! Thank you to all the management and staff on this holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Returned for the third time to Onar Village to find it improved again...

The staff are always ready to help - Very attentive!

The pool is very clean.

The rooms are clean and cool (with the aid of the air con)

We travelled with our 3 year old and 9 month old who loved it all and will definitely go back another time.

Would recommend going here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTargett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from Onar, having been there each year for the past 10 years. This time we had our 2 little grandchildren with us. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and paid much attention to the little ones. The place is a haven of peace and we are so grateful for it. Thankyou to all at Onar who make us so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ten days in a villa organised by Noble Caledonia. Efficient transit from Larnaca airport.
Rooms are simple, comfortable & spacious, fully equipped kitchen but no crockery & cutlery - just kettle & cups. WiFi everywhere in the complex.
Excellent service from all staff. Breakfast selection improved after having a quiet word!
Great lunches by the pool, and modest dinners (buffet catering for our group of 18 travellers).

Interesting tours to historic sites well organised by Kyrnia Travel.

Nick

Room Tip: Extra for a villa seemed worth it. Use A/C to keep out motorway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick291066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a really good hotel but the main road in front of the hotel means that you cannot walk from it to the town, without risk to life and limb!. However there is a free hotel bus service and taxis are readily available and cheap.The views from the hotel are great . The staff are superb and nothing was too much trouble in our stay. Food is good but the coffee at breakfast ( a sort of instant dusty powder )was dire.... coffee you order from the bar is fine. rooms are lovely. In our stay there were not many other occupants so we had more or less sole use of both the indoor and outdoor pools. Both great.

Room Tip: There is a main road in front of the hotel but with windows closed and air conditioning on, you do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Located just outside Girne, this hotel is a good place to stay. The rooms are fairly spacious with lots of storage space. Nice clean bathroom with abundant hot water. My room had a balcony with sea view but also a view over a dual carriageway which, had I wanted to sit out on the balcony could have been a bit noisy. Efficient air-conditioning. Breakfast is OK - lovely yoghurt!
Wide range of facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, sauna and turkish bath.
The staff are very friendly and keen to help if problems arise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackys014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
4.0 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
451 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kemerli Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $40 - $3,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia
Onar Holiday Village Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing